We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average, old hotel... Nice employees”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average, old hotel... Nice employees”
Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed at the hotel for a second time, I would recommend the Westin for the same price in Old Town. The suite concept is nice, but the hotel is old and in need of refurb. No major issues, just an old hotel, clean but not really clean, and the slowest elevators EVER! The employees are very nice.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sonospia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thanks so much for your comments as we respect all guest opinions, but I must respecffully disagree with your review. The hotel just completed replacing all the corridor and guest room carpet in the entire building and the hotel has new furniture and all public space updates completed as late as 2009. Perhaps you were expecting something different as the hotel maintains a more charming classic design verses modernly designed new hotels. The suites are still a great value compared to standard rooms at competing hotels and our staff is as eager to please as they ever have been. Again, thanks for your comments and we hope you will give us another try in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    275
    110
    58
    31
See reviews for
215
125
30
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Overall the staff was friendly at front desk and great service at the lobby bar restaurant however the Club Lounge needs some attention, as a Platinum member I have been to many of the Sheraton Lounge and I was really dissapointed that the lounge was so unattended as it was, no silverware for the afternoon snacks, no plates, I had to eat my hot snack with a coffee straw! Also no option to even buy a glass of wine at the lounge, only beverages are water and sodas from the machine. In the morning it was a little better but still water fridge empty, had to ask for an attendant to provide water bottle. Other than the lounge everything else was great, I liked also te fact that the hotel had a small gift shop to buy snacks, energy drinks etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coquibravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments about our club lounge. I am sorry it was not stocked the way our standards demand. Our club is attended during service times and when we need replenishment our attendant leaves to get the necessary items. We are always glad to offer beverage service through our lounge should you ever need anything and we encourage you to simply let us know. It is our desire for all guests to have the best stay possible where they recieve everything they expect. Again, I am sorry we let you down and hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pendleton, ny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Overall, it was OK...but nothing more and not worth the price tag. Our room was somewhat small (we were tripping over each other - I would have booked 2 rooms if I had realized how small). The complimentary coffee consisted of 2 instant packets/day (1regular, 1 decaf.), had to ask for a fridge, remote controls didn't work (needed to call the front desk 3 times for new remote), parking & internet were extra. But, it was clean, quiet, and had comfortable beds.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thanks very much for your comments I am glad you found our beds comfortable. At first I thought you must have mistaken this hotel for a different one. As you know all of our rooms are suites with a living room area, seperate entrance to the marble tiled bathrooms, and divided by the French Doors leading to the bedroom. Most guests find these suites very spacious and the price is similar to what you can find in the area at most hotels. In fact our rates range from as low as just $99 on weekends. The coffee we provide in the room is not instant but it is Starbucks and all the rooms have refrigerator coolers. I am sorry you did not seem to notice these things. Regardless, we want all of our guests to have the best stay possible where we meet and exceed expectations. Hopefully you will try us again and have a pleasant experience.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Great location to stay while visiting old town Alexandria area, VA near Washington DC.

The suite rooms are very well appointed with a comfortable couch, solid work desk and large flat screen TVs in both the living room and the attached bedroom. The bed and sheets/pillows are nice and comfortable and fluffy. If you need to unwind, there is an indoor heated pool and spa on the premises. Self-service laundry facilities are available, in case you need to get laundry done efficiently.

Nearby walking distance to a few good restaurants and also a very good supermarket. The hotel has a complimentary shuttle service to old town Alexandria and the wharf and shopping / restaurants area. They are on call, so they can come pick you up from anywhere in town, when you are done.

One of the most charming thing (on a cold winter day) is the complementary warm cider in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for their hotel car (driven by a pleasant Pakistan gentlemen, Kareem) if you need to go to Dulle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schia48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thanks so much for your comments. I can tell you enjoyed your visit and had a chance to experience everything in the hotel and the local area. Please do come visit us again and next time we hope to get 5 stars from your rating.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I really enjoyed staying here and the suite with french doors was really nice. Great coffee in room, very clean, quiet and great location. Lobby is nice as well. I really enjoyed my stay here and if I needed to get a hotel in the Old Town area again I would definitely choose this one.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liv101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Staying for a weekend for business and was happily surprised by the spacious, clean accomodations and really comfortable bed. The room was quiet and laid out like a small studio apartment. The hotel is also in a great location, in walking distance from the main shopping area in Old Town, but not right in it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ESH102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thanks for another great review. We are always very appreciative when our customers share positive feedback! This hotel is rated one of the best deals in town and all the rooms are suites for the same price as a hotel room. Not only are we close to the Old Town shopping district but keep in mind we are just 3 blocks from the Potomac River which has a great jogging trail and park like setting. Please do visit us again and we hope it will be often.

Best Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Two room suite with French doors to the bedroom, sleeper couch, wet bar, frige, microwave, TWO flatscreens, closet, two large windows, and great Starbucks coffee with real cream (not that nasty powder stuff), complimentary bottled waters, and nice toiletries not usually expected: shave cream, Q-tips, nail file, mouthwash, wash scrunchie, etc.), bathroom scale, make-up mirror, and more. The bed was VERY comfortable and there were directions on how to purchase the mattress online. There's a pool and hot tub and nice mini gym (with free weights) and locker rooms on floor 2, several convenient computers with free printing in the lobby, and a nice bar and restaurant, though we didn't get a chance to eat there. Only down side is that it was 7 blocks north of the old town active streets. They did give us a complimentary shuttle to the restaurant we were going to and the driver seemed to remember everyone he dropped off. But after 10pm the shuttle stops and either have a nice walk or a short $5 cab ride. Parking is convenient but $20 per night. We had a great time! You will too.

Room Tip: Watch for deals. We got a great rate (under a Franklin) by waiting until the last minute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeisureTimeLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments and thorough review. We are frequently described as a nice surprise because the suites are so spacious and priced at the same or similar rate as a hotel room. Please do come visit often and spread the word!

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Property: Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
Address: 801 N Saint Asaph St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria is an all-suites hotel ideal for family vacations. We're near Washington, D.C., Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Potomac, the Pentagon, Mount Vernon, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Sheraton Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Alexandria Sheraton
Sheraton Suite Old Town Alexandria
Sheraton Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing