We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, restful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 North Saint Asaph Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing, restful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed here as we were checking out wedding vendors (florists, bakers) for a DC wedding. had a restful and relaxing night, even with th wedding downstairs, where they seemed to be having fun singing karoke. The room was a wonderful suite, clean, spacious and quiet. The staff were accomodating. There is free parking on the street (the parking lot next door charges, but plenty of spce on the roads). Short distance to Old Alexandria with nice small bars, restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Wow! Thanks so much for your kind words. The Sheraton Suites is a great venue for small weddings and the quiet location is convenient to DC and charming Old Town. Please do visit us again and tell your friends.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    248
    98
    54
    26
See reviews for
198
105
29
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This hotel is nice and the staff were very friendly, but the hotel is old and needs to be updated. The rooms have great furniture, but the wallpaper was coming off the walls in the corners. A good hotel, but not the standard I would expect from a Sheraton.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonospia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thanks so much for your feedback. I noticed you provided your comments from a stay back in April. Of course we are very sorry that the hotel was not in the condition our standards demand, however I trust you will understand that our rooms are truly in great shape and this may have been an oversight by the maintenance department. Had you mentioned this while you were here we would have corrected it immediately but you can be sure our team has already made this repair.
I am happy to report that the hotel spent considerable dollars on upgrades in 2011 and that we are even replacing all of our guest room carpet in the winter/spring time period. We are fortunate that our capital replacement projects are moving full steam ahead and that the hotel is always preparing for the next project. Again, thanks for your comments and we look forward to having you back so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
321 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Overall, a good experience.
Pros:
- Close to Reagan Airport, 10 min tops, with a free shuttle.
- clean rooms, comfortable beds, and roomy (being suites)
- half hour from the city and not that far from the metro
- comfortable & service was good
- generally nice and more than adequate for business meetings or for a small family
- prices are decent.

Cons:
- definitely not in what one would really consider Old Town Alexandria- a good 10-15 min walk down there. Not bad, but still not 'there'
- no free internet
- mediocre/overpriced breakfast

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thanks very much for your comments. While we are not on King Street we are only 3 blocks from the water and the short walk is very scenic. Only 2 other hotels are closer to the center of Old Town and the others have to deal with train noise which is why many prefer our quiet location. Breakfast is very important to us so we always welcome specific feedback on what we can do to make it better. As for our internet you may find that our charges are similar to most hotels in the area. Again, thanks for your feedback and please do visit us again soon!

Warm Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchville
Level Contributor
164 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed in this hotel over the MLK weekend. The location is great within walking distance to King Street and a short drive to other locations. The hotel is clean and the staff was friendly and accomodating. The size of the room was perfect for 2 people and we enjoyed having the sitting room and second TV. The beds are super comfortable and we slept very well. The indoor pool and hot tub were a nice plus and I enjoyed a soak in the hot tub after a day of shopping and sightseeing.
We enjoyed a meal at the onsite restaraunt on Saturday night where they offered a nice New Year deal of an appetizer or dessert and an entree for $20.12. Our waitress was friendly and even though she was working the restaraunt and delivering room service she gave us great service.
My only complaint would be the charge for internet in the room, I did use the wifi in the lobby but in this day even the lower quality hotels are offering free in room internet. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadtripperColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thanks so much for your feedback about the hotel and the restaurant. We are particularly proud of our restaurant as the value and quality is comparable to many local restaurants. We hope others will see your comments and pay us a visit. I know how many suburban hotels and limited service properties give away in-room internet. We are reviewing this and perhaps in the near future we can offer this same service complimentary. Again, thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again soon!

Cheers!

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel over the MLK weekend.

Not only was I able to book the hotel the day of arrival [using Starpoints] but was also able to extend our stay one extra day at the front desk! Our entire experience was a pleasure -- from arrival to departure.

The location of the hotel is perfect; it's walking distance to King St. There are two restaurants across the street but even though we didn't dine at either, the menus looked good.

We had a room on the 4th floor right by the elevators and it wasn't a problem; we slept like babies. The size of the suite was good for a long wknd stay but if you are staying longer and with more than 2 people, it may be a little cramped (only one shared closet).

We made use of the complimentary wifi in the lobby - desktops are available as well for those who do not travel with laptops. The bartender is very sweet and makes yummy hot toddies that you can bring up to your room.

Finally, the hotel is dog-friendly but upon walking in, one wouldn't know because it is very clean and scent-free.

I would highly recommend staying here and when we return, we'll be sure to book our stay at the Sheraton Suites.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you very very much for your kind words. Old Town is a great place to visit and the Sheraton Suites is always a bargain and good value. Please do come visit us again!

Cheers!

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed Sunday through Wednesday leaving Thursday the week of Thanksgiving this year 11/20-11/24 2011. The hotel shut down the on site bar and restaurant and did not tell us in advance that this would be happening. They said it was a slow week for them. We had been anticipating the availability of being able to get room service 2 or 3 time but this was also not available. had the weather cooperated we would have been less peeved but it rained and at times rained hard the whole time we were there it would have been nice to stay cozy in the room instead of hunting down all our meals in the rain.
also water was shut off for one whole day, I can't blame them for city work that has to get done and they did have flyers posted. I had stayed here once before 2 years ago it just seemed much more friendly then, it was my husbands first visit and I had told him how great it was. The main drag of Old towne is awsome had some great meals and the metro is only a few walking blocks from the hotel. beware though depending on the route you choose to walk it can send you through some scary looking low income projects.
the hotel does run a shuttle to down town restaurants and shopping.
I would not write this hotel off my list but I would have liked them to appoligize for not having any food services the week we were there again I get it was a slow week but just notify us before we check in so we can adjust our plans. also don't be so cheap with the internet and the inroom coffee. i travel a lot for work and it sucks to ahve to beg for a second cup of coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodie24_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thanks so much for your comments, we are truly sorry for not being at our best. During the slow periods over Thanksgiving in the hotel we do close the restaurant for lunch and dinner but you will note that the breakfast was served each morning of your stay. The hotel prepares extensively with back up alternatives for room service delivery and other dining options many of which were a few steps from the hotel front doors. While we do provide coffee in the rooms we can also send additional coffee whenever a guest requests this. As for the water shutoff, this occured one day for just 3 hours during the late morning early afternoon time when most guests are gone for the day. In fact we did not receive any complaints as the work was done without incident. Internet use is free in the lobby as is use of the business center. The fee in the guest rooms may seem high but it simply covers the cost of our support company. I am truly very sorry that you percieved our services not available, however you must not have read our information correctly. In the future we will make sure to communicate more effectively in advance of guest arrivals.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I stayed just for one night with my colleges. The hotel has Wi-fi for a $10 fee with AT&T. The Wi-Fi wasn't working upon my arrival and front desk said - just call this number and they will help you. They didn't say, if you use the hotel phone for 800 number we will still charge you. After 20 minutes on hold with AT&T I was told there is a problem with the service and will be fixed in 30 minutes. It was more like 2 hours. Next morning we used King Suite to have a 5 hour meeting and the WI-Fi was't working again. After another call to AT&T they said it will work in few minutes. The Wi-Fi never worked that day but all of us got charges on our bills, one colleague twice. I would NOT recommend this hotel for business traveler. Just hassle and no responsibility.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivy148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thanks so much for your feedback. I am glad you mentioned your trouble because I did not have any reports of the system being down and I would not have known otherwise. We do ask our customers to call our support line through AT&T because sometimes individual lap tops have trouble getting through different firewalls depending on the settings. I will tell you that our business center did not have any problems and as you know all guests can use this complimentary in our lobby. Regardless, we want all of our guests to have the best stay possible where everything works. You can bet I will be following up with our service to make sure other guests do not have the same problem. Again, thanks for staying with us and I hope you try us again soon and please call me direct should you need any assistance.

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Westin Alexandria
#15 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Property: Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
Address: 801 North Saint Asaph Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria is an all-suites hotel ideal for family vacations. We're near Washington, D.C., Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Potomac, the Pentagon, Mount Vernon, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Starwood and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Sheraton Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Alexandria Sheraton
Sheraton Suite Old Town Alexandria
Sheraton Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing