We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad at All, Took My Pets and had Many Very Helpful Amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Bad at All, Took My Pets and had Many Very Helpful Amenities”
Reviewed April 7, 2010

I was displaced from my home due to a flood and so had to find a place to stay for 11 nights. Although the neighborhood that this hotel is in has traditionally been a little shaky, it is looking up and this Red Roof is getting two new very nice suites hotels as neighbors. The hotel is on a major street but I asked for a room in the back which faced a woodland and 3 million dollar mansions.

My room was quiet, the other guests were friendly as were the hotel staff. The hotel was recently renovated and has clean and nice looking rooms. What was great was the refridgerator, safe, microwave and coin-operated laundry. The laundry-room and ice-vending machine were a little grungy, hopefully this will be fixed.

I needed to bring my two cats with me and this hotel obliged with no extra fee. I put a sign on the door to let the staff know I did not want the door opened without me there and they did not open the doors.

There is limited free internet but no free WiFi. I think that may be changing but I would inquire. Overall, it was a good stay at a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eggmanten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    102
    68
    33
    31
See reviews for
100
69
55
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miramar Fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Recently I stayed in the Red Roof in Alexandria and had a very nice experience, the staff was corteous and very helpful, stayed for 4 nights and had the pleasure of finding a clean and confortable room and staff that helped me in finding my way around, I definitly will be staying with them in my upcoming trips to DC

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tata000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Clean, friendly, basic but nice; close to the Washington DC subway which makes it very easy for the appts. I'll be back!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucarica48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2009

I am a regular guest at this property and one of the reasons that this is the only hotel in which I'll stay when in the area is the warm friendly staff that always greets you with a warm welcoming sincereity that says they're really happy to see you. The room is always very clean and comfortable. I truly find this to be my home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Alexandria, VA Red Roof for two nights in April 2009, and our stay evolved into a nightmare. My wife had about a dozen bites over her body the first day. We couldn't figure it out. It was too early in the year for insects. The next day she had even more.

It was only on our four hour drive home that it occurred to both of us that it must have been bedbugs. We had never experienced bedbugs before.

We stripped in our home entryway and put all clothes in the wash. We sprayed our bags. We thought we were safe, but in late June we realized we had a problem. We called in an exterminator. Bedbugs! If you've ever fought bedbugs, it's an expensive, time consuming and stressful situation.

We emailed Red Roof both locally and nationally. We got no response to either email.

We have stayed at the Alexandria Red Roof at least a dozen times over the last ten years. (It is convenient to the Metro). I have been a Red Roof customer, using them for business accomodations over the last twenty-five years.

However, Red Roof has changed. The chain has been sold a number of times in recent years and it shows. I will never again stay at the Alexandria location (reading other reviews, they often seem to have problems with bugs) and I'll be very careful about which other Red Roof locations I use.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank wjbnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, VA
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2009

From the Outside the hotel looks alright, not horrible, not fancy. The inside of the room is freakin disgusting. Don't Get Me started on The TERMITES just yet. there was some kind of faded stain on one of the sheets, then i went to use the bathroom and barely used any toilet paper and the toilet got stopped up, went downstairs to get the plunger, plunged the damn toilet a zillion times and nothing happened. Then I Moved to another room a couple doors down. This room had TERMITES, all over the desk, by the dresser!!!! IT WAS DISGUSTING. I Killed three of them, then seen two more on the wall by the bathroom and called the front desk. By this time it was late in the evening and i just wanted a refund, guy at the front desk said he was new and didn't know how to do that. [--]!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2009

website claimed that this inn had been remodeled last year, maybe they got new sheets.
mold around bathtub,cramped room, had to pay for Internet service. Fire alarm in the middle of the night. Had to wait for manager to come and turn it off-this took 2 hours. Left shortly after.
I found a Quality Inn about 10 min. away at Mt. Vernen. They let us check in at 8:00a.m.
I could not get over their kindness. The rooms were so much nicer,cleaner,safer.
And a little cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#31 of 54 in Alexandria
220 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
5.8 mi away
Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#22 of 54 in Alexandria
602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
1.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Eisenhower Ave.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Address: 5975 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1804
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one mile from the Metro for easy transportation, and accessible from both I-95 and I-495, Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is 2 miles south of Old Downtown Alexandria and only 5 miles from National Harbor and Crystal City. The White House is a mere 9 miles away. The Pentagon, Arlington Cemetery, downtown Washington DC, Ft. Belvior, and Mt. Vernon are all within 10 miles of this hotel. Located just minutes from restaurants and shopping. The friendly staff and the convenience of being just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC make this location a great place to stay.Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair, in-room safes, coin laundry facility, and more. Mini-Refrigerators and microwaves are available in Superior King and Deluxe Double room types. All rooms offer free WiFi. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Alexandria
Red Roof Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing