We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Recently renovated; Spartan but agreeable accommodations. Close to I-95/495 and to Metro (Huntingdon station). Wood-like laminate floor gives this a European feel. Do
Was clean, everything worked. Would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
Thank rdcuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. Decent is not our goal. We promise to make your next visit "GREAT".

Shirley Jordan General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 376 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014

Of course this is one of the chain hotels, and thus there is not much to say, provided that you are familiar with these places. This one here is very typical, too, it is reasonably clean, room was quite large, furnishing in good state, what more would one need to lay the head. If you’re on the way through, you do not care that distance to DC is quite long (Red Roof Washington thus is somewhat misleading) and that there is nothing around it (there is an Italian across the street which delivers quite promptly), even Alexandria is some distance away and can only be reached by taxi or public transport (which admittedly is quite convenient). Sadly there is no breakfast, coffee only (which was very good though).

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Eberhard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Traveler, what could be better than a good nights sleep and a good cup of coffee? Breakfast, you say?. I am certain we will see you again, and I promise to bring you a muffin to go along with your coffee. Thanks much.

Shirley Jordan General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

First time here; we stayed for 3 days. It was ok, but I was happy when it was time to leave. Floors were dirty with hair all over and bathroom looked like it had not been cleaned. Everything else looked ok but the state of the bathroom makes you wonder what else wasn’t cleaned. Rooms have been remodeled. Beds are comfortable and we had good, quiet sleep all 3 days despite the AC. AC worked very well but was positioned in such a way that the air blows on the face of the people sleeping in the bed farthest back. I was freezing and could only sleep by putting my head under covers which I don’t like to do. Pretty location set in the trees with grocery and restaurants within a few minutes driving. Good location for in and out of DC. There are restaurants and groceries nearby but you will need to drive there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Our goal is to exceed your expectations! we failed and for that I apologize. Your comments truly help us to focus on the areas that need improvement. Thank you for providing us with that information. We really do hope that you will give us another opportunity to GET IT RIGHT.

Shirley Jordan General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and i stayed there the first of the month and it was excellent. Workers gave great service,rooms were clean and no smoke. Got what I asked for. We stayed from monday thru saturday. Great location everything u could want is right there in the area. No trying to find where to eat, u have walmart,target and every drug store chain u could think of is right there.

Room Tip: I prefer 2nd floor not a lot of noise at the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank samuel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

We know your time is valuable, and we really appreciate you spending some of it sharing your experience with us. My team works very hard at providing the best service possible. I will share your comments with them. We look forward to seeing you very soon

Shirley Jordan General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Miss Mill's that checked us in was exceptional. Housekeeping was awful. We left notes for them to leave extra towels and washcloths sever all days to only have to go to the front desk every evening. We left one for and extra pillow, nothing. Went to front desk to find out they don't have extra ones. Things we left on the night stand could not be found in the afternoon. We ask housekeeping to change a light bulb, it never was changed. They never left us a ice bucket liner. Overall housekeeping was TERRIBLE.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Presleyfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Your comments have alerted us to an opportunity for great improvement. We are in the process of retraining our Clean Team. Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again.

Shirley Jordan General Mnager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over the Fourth of July weekend. The Washington D.C. area was packed. This hotel was up to the task. The check-in process was thorough yet quick. The rooms are remodeled. The room cleaners do a great job. To top it all off, Ginny is on top of everything if any issues arise. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Glad to hear we were able to accommodate you on short notice. Ginny is an asset to the team and is always willing to go the extra mile-thanks for noticing.

Shirley Jordan General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We moved to the Red Roof after a few nights in downtown DC and we were so happy we did! Great service from Debie and others, close to Metro stop with parking. The price was much more amenable than the prices downtown and the commute was easy!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hsobek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Debie was very happy to read your comments. It's always good to hear that my team is doing a great job. Thank you very much and we hope to see you very soon.

Shirley Jordan General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#29 of 54 in Alexandria
232 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
2.3 mi away
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#22 of 54 in Alexandria
607 reviews
1.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Eisenhower Ave.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Address: 5975 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $70 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one mile from the Metro for easy transportation, and accessible from both I-95 and I-495, Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is 2 miles south of Old Downtown Alexandria and only 5 miles from National Harbor and Crystal City. The White House is a mere 9 miles away. The Pentagon, Arlington Cemetery, downtown Washington DC, Ft. Belvior, and Mt. Vernon are all within 10 miles of this hotel. Located just minutes from restaurants and shopping. The friendly staff and the convenience of being just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC make this location a great place to stay.Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair, in-room safes, coin laundry facility, and more. Mini-Refrigerators and microwaves are available in Superior King and Deluxe Double room types. All rooms offer free WiFi. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Alexandria
Red Roof Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing