We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“For traveling through OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
518 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“For traveling through OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Of course this is one of the chain hotels, and thus there is not much to say, provided that you are familiar with these places. This one here is very typical, too, it is reasonably clean, room was quite large, furnishing in good state, what more would one need to lay the head. If you’re on the way through, you do not care that distance to DC is quite long (Red Roof Washington thus is somewhat misleading) and that there is nothing around it (there is an Italian across the street which delivers quite promptly), even Alexandria is some distance away and can only be reached by taxi or public transport (which admittedly is quite convenient). Sadly there is no breakfast, coffee only (which was very good though).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eberhard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Traveler, what could be better than a good nights sleep and a good cup of coffee? Breakfast, you say?. I am certain we will see you again, and I promise to bring you a muffin to go along with your coffee. Thanks much.

Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    92
    65
    30
    27
See reviews for
94
67
48
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

First time here; we stayed for 3 days. It was ok, but I was happy when it was time to leave. Floors were dirty with hair all over and bathroom looked like it had not been cleaned. Everything else looked ok but the state of the bathroom makes you wonder what else wasn’t cleaned. Rooms have been remodeled. Beds are comfortable and we had good, quiet sleep all 3 days despite the AC. AC worked very well but was positioned in such a way that the air blows on the face of the people sleeping in the bed farthest back. I was freezing and could only sleep by putting my head under covers which I don’t like to do. Pretty location set in the trees with grocery and restaurants within a few minutes driving. Good location for in and out of DC. There are restaurants and groceries nearby but you will need to drive there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Our goal is to exceed your expectations! we failed and for that I apologize. Your comments truly help us to focus on the areas that need improvement. Thank you for providing us with that information. We really do hope that you will give us another opportunity to GET IT RIGHT.

Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and i stayed there the first of the month and it was excellent. Workers gave great service,rooms were clean and no smoke. Got what I asked for. We stayed from monday thru saturday. Great location everything u could want is right there in the area. No trying to find where to eat, u have walmart,target and every drug store chain u could think of is right there.

Room Tip: I prefer 2nd floor not a lot of noise at the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samuel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
We know your time is valuable, and we really appreciate you spending some of it sharing your experience with us. My team works very hard at providing the best service possible. I will share your comments with them. We look forward to seeing you very soon

Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vansant, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Miss Mill's that checked us in was exceptional. Housekeeping was awful. We left notes for them to leave extra towels and washcloths sever all days to only have to go to the front desk every evening. We left one for and extra pillow, nothing. Went to front desk to find out they don't have extra ones. Things we left on the night stand could not be found in the afternoon. We ask housekeeping to change a light bulb, it never was changed. They never left us a ice bucket liner. Overall housekeeping was TERRIBLE.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Presleyfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Your comments have alerted us to an opportunity for great improvement. We are in the process of retraining our Clean Team. Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again.

Shirley Jordan General Mnager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over the Fourth of July weekend. The Washington D.C. area was packed. This hotel was up to the task. The check-in process was thorough yet quick. The rooms are remodeled. The room cleaners do a great job. To top it all off, Ginny is on top of everything if any issues arise. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Glad to hear we were able to accommodate you on short notice. Ginny is an asset to the team and is always willing to go the extra mile-thanks for noticing.

Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We moved to the Red Roof after a few nights in downtown DC and we were so happy we did! Great service from Debie and others, close to Metro stop with parking. The price was much more amenable than the prices downtown and the commute was easy!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hsobek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Debie was very happy to read your comments. It's always good to hear that my team is doing a great job. Thank you very much and we hope to see you very soon.

Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

My family and I stayed here this past weekend and we had a decent time. The room was decorated nicely, but we soon found a lot of quirks, especially in the bathroom.

However, the one positive thing is Miss Mills who got us through our check in process in a heartbeat. She also gave us extra towels and shampoos. AND THEN she gave us great advice on 4th of July and the best ways to get into the city. GO TO MISS MILLS if you're there. She's funny and gives a great impression of DC hospitality.

Room Tip: Wifi is rocky and intermittent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Miss Mills was able to turn a not so memorable experience into one that left a positive impression. Thank you for your comments and believe me when I say, she has already read them-). She is very good at what she does and is an awesome team member.


Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#27 of 54 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Address: 5975 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1804
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one mile from the Metro for easy transportation, and accessible from both I-95 and I-495, Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is 2 miles south of Old Downtown Alexandria and only 5 miles from National Harbor and Crystal City. The White House is a mere 9 miles away. The Pentagon, Arlington Cemetery, downtown Washington DC, Ft. Belvior, and Mt. Vernon are all within 10 miles of this hotel. Located just minutes from restaurants and shopping. The friendly staff and the convenience of being just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC make this location a great place to stay.Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair, in-room safes, coin laundry facility, and more. Mini-Refrigerators and microwaves are available in Superior King and Deluxe Double room types. All rooms offer free WiFi. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Alexandria
Red Roof Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing