We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel - Pet and Smoke Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Situated in the not-tourist-area of Alexandria this is a value for budget conscious traveller who really will not do anything in the room but shower and sleep. You cannot walk into Old Town from here and be aware of very low budget motels on either side of this property if that matters to you. I was approached by a homeless man on property. But rooms are clean and very basic - bring earplugs - highway noise is constant as in fire sirens at all hours and people talking as they pass outside your door. No coffee maker in room and no fridge but a safe which was good. Walk to lobby for coffee and the staff are all attentive. Only one side here gets a good wireless signal and that is highway side of hotel near laundry. Ice machine and washer were not working on our visit. Bring your own laundry soap and dryer sheets, none sold. We are not smokers nor have pets and were lucky as none of the dogs or smokers had rooms nearby us. But be aware this. It's a 10-15 min drive to get into Old Town Alexandria. There is a Metro fairly close by (Huntington) also a drive. Since we limited time in the room we were a-ok with these budget accommodations but would stay in the Hampton also close by next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ksfvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Your comments are very important to us and right on point. We are a basic no frills, pet friendly and smoke free property. Being exterior does present challenges. Where we stand out from most of our competitors is our ability to make all of our guest feel special.
Thank you,

Shirley Jordan General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
There are newer reviews for Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 373 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

Sarah was very very informative & Knowledgeable of the area and gave excellent advice. Polite and Professional as well. I wished all Hotels had someone like her in them, traveling is tiring at times and people like Sarah who show they really do "care" about you makes all the difference.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlbudro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Thank you for noticing Sarah's awesomeness! She is a natural at what she does, I will be certain to share your comments with her and the rest of my team.

Thank you,
Shirley Jordan General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

I experienced the roof under bad circumstances; canceled connecting flight, hot night, grumpy me. The room hadn't been cleaned, which was kind of creepy (really, former guest, think about your snack food choices), but Isaac at the desk did everything he could to fix the situation. The next morning, Sarah was pleasant and helpful. This is a nice enough place, nicer than you might expect on first sight, but the staff makes the real difference. Well done, Roofers.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear Best, I am so pleased to hear that my team was able to "get It right". Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to do that ! We really do appreciate it.

Shirley Jordan General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My father and I stayed at the Red Roof inn. The staff was amazing, Housekeeping was amazing, Sarah at the front desk was amazing. I wish I has everyones name because it was an awesome experience. The rooms were very clean and everyday they were cleaned as if we were not there. close to the tram station also

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

My Team Members read your comments: they are awesome!!!! thank you for taking the time to complete the review. Providing better than good service is very important to us. It's the one thing we have total control of. Thanks for making Redroof Inn your hotel Choice.

Shirley Jordan General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We needed a place to stay while visiting Washington, D.C. and booked this room. The "wood" flooring drew us to this hotel in addition to the price. On check-in we met Ms. Mills and she was/is Awesome! Ms. Mills assisted with our accommodation as we needed a room with a microwave/refrigeration; very helpful, We had room #223 facing the street and it was actually not noisy from the second floor. We had a great nights' sleep through our stay. Ms. Mills gave us additional advice for touring D.C. Definitely, take the metro & buy a metro card - add what you need as you go! The Huntington-metro parking garage was may be 6 long blocks away/ &4.95 for the day for parking.
Back to the room...Our family appreciated the cleanliness of the double-bedded room; you could smell the bleach which cleared momentarily. The A/C ran cold and the air circulation was comfortable. The sink/bathroom area was a great separation for our family to share. Note: The room towels are set for two, we have a family of four and picked up additional towels as needed. :)

This hotel/room was a great find for a place to rest! We will definitely stay here, again, if we are in the area.

Thank you, Ms. Mills (Guess Service Desk); and Connie A. and the remainder of the housekeeping staff (for the extra towels)!

Room Tip: The rooms in the back (not facing the street) have limited Wi-Fi strength. The middle rooms are clo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

My Team Members read your comments: they are awesome!!!! thank you for taking the time to complete the review. Providing better than good service is very important to us. It's the one thing we have total control of. Thanks for making Redroof Inn your hotel Choice.

Shirley Jordan General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at this property as chaperones to a small high school group. The rooms were very clean, and despite facing the roadway, I was very pleasantly surprised at how quiet the rooms were at night. We would have liked to have somewhere with a continental breakfast, but there were microwaves and fridges in the rooms, which made it easy to pick up something to have a light breakfast in our rooms, so we were happy. It is definitely someplace we would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

" NO FRILLS", actually allows us to be the best value on the block. Thank you very much for choosing RRI, we realize you do have lots of other options. Sounds as if we will see you again when you are in the area. Next time, bring your family pet and leave the kids at home-).

Thank You,
Shirley Jordan General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this property in the past and I must say I love the friendliness of the staff and the newly renovated rooms. It's the consistency that keeps me coming back. The service is always superb and the rooms are always nice and clean. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammygirl117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Your comments let us know that we are on the right path. We are proud of the new product, and it's great to hear that you are pleased. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank You,
Shirley Jordan general manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#31 of 54 in Alexandria
225 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#22 of 54 in Alexandria
603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
1.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Eisenhower Ave.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Address: 5975 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1804
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $71 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one mile from the Metro for easy transportation, and accessible from both I-95 and I-495, Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is 2 miles south of Old Downtown Alexandria and only 5 miles from National Harbor and Crystal City. The White House is a mere 9 miles away. The Pentagon, Arlington Cemetery, downtown Washington DC, Ft. Belvior, and Mt. Vernon are all within 10 miles of this hotel. Located just minutes from restaurants and shopping. The friendly staff and the convenience of being just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC make this location a great place to stay.Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair, in-room safes, coin laundry facility, and more. Mini-Refrigerators and microwaves are available in Superior King and Deluxe Double room types. All rooms offer free WiFi. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Alexandria
Red Roof Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing