We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, New rooms and reasonable price, Friendly Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I'm not sure about the multiple bad reviews written about this property. The front desk staff was very friendly. Arrived on a 100 degree day and the room was ice cold and clean. The hotel is not in a bad neighborhood but a few miles south; leads a lot to be desired. (This location is less than a mile off I-495 Beltway). There are many construction companies staying on the property and I did see a few guys drinking beer early in the evening outside my door. (These guys were not loud and went inside their rooms by 9:00 and didn't disturb me). With this being an Exterior door motel I could see where bugs might get into the room under the door. I did not experience any bug issues in my room. Overall a very satisfying place to stay for Economy segment lodging. This is a Red Roof and certainly not the "Ritz" or "Marriott" hotel segment. Just a note: They were replacing the Elevator when I checked out. Request a lower level room if this is an issue.

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms face woods and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 95traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for the words of motivation...we do get our share of construction crews-but typically the guys are well behaved. We work hard to ensure that all of our guests have a pleasant stay( including the crews)...Please know that we look forward to seeing you again in near future.


Shirley Jordan G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 376 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The only thing positive was the location to get on and off the loop around DC. It was not in the best neighborhoods. People out on the walkway drinking excessively and being loud. The bedspread was sticky. The Elevator was broke , the ice machines broke.
I would not be surprised if they don't have hourly rates.
Keep going down the road.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbhenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectaions! Our goal is to make it right! Knowledge would have given us the power to correct all of your concerns...I hope you give us another opportunity to prove that we are committed to providing awesome customer service and a clean quiet room.


Shirley Jordan G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I had reservations for the entire week and the first 3 nights, things were ok.. The front desk staff is great and as accommodating as possible. Woke the 4th morning and flipped on the light, and a huge roach was crawling across the microwave. There is also someone living there with a big black dog that barked everytime I opened or closed my door. However, if it wasnt for the bug issue, I would have given the room and overall experience average ratings.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Glad to hear that my team was great! Very sorry to hear that you had to deal with a barking dog and bugs. We take pest control very seriously, and get the property treated monthly. We would have placed that room out of service(if we had been notified)..We are pet friendly, -but will take any action necessary to ensure our other guests are not disturbed !!! please accept my apology for your inconvenience during your stay...

Shirley Jordan G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The rooms were clean , the clerk was very friendly. I was there on a business trip and it was good. I was there for 5 days , the restaurants were ok. The rooms are nice and very comfortably, spacious also. Ms.Mills and Sudin were great.RRI 169

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randolphdavis68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you so much for the comments... I will be sure to pass them on to my team. Hope to see you soon!


Shirley JordanG.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Booked through Priceline...(you get what you pay for). I actually booked for two days, but wasn't comfortable there....ended up at another hotel IMMEDIATELY upon inspecting the room. Room was smelly, reeked of smoke (just like the check-in lobby). Mold in bathroom/bathtub/shower curtain. Wood floor was unswept. Hole under the front door of the room (perhaps dirt from floor was blown in) Sheets on the bed had mildew on them. Elevator wasn't operational (although not affected b/c I was on lower level). Front desk lady was very friendly. I was disgusted.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markeeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

I really do appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your concerns. This is really important to all of my team members. Please know that we are in the process of retraining our clean team, in order to prevent this from happening in the future.Again, thank you!

Shirley Jordan G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The rooms were clean. Sarah was fantastic at checkout. The person who checked us in was also very friendly and helpful.
We arrived early morning but were able to check in to our room.
The metro is a one mile walk.
Restaurants are limited if you are without a vehicle as we were.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 777Jefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Taking a survey , takes time- we thank you for your positive feedback and will continue to provide the best service possible.


Thank you
Shirley Jordan G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My room was quite lovely and everything worked perfectly. As a fem, traveling solo, I had no safety concerns whatsoever The staff members were all helpful, friendly and quick to respond to the ice maker that decided it was a slots machine...spitting out ice everywhere LOLOL. Keep up the great work guys!!! And to the young lady who took care of me at check out: If more establishments had people like you working for them, they would be extremely lucky...you are a valuable asset, I assure you.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaBearCharlesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

My team and I thank you very much for taking the time to respond to the survey! I will pass your comments on to Sarah, she really is an asset to the team.


Shirley Jordan G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#29 of 54 in Alexandria
232 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
2.3 mi away
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#22 of 54 in Alexandria
607 reviews
1.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Eisenhower Ave.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Address: 5975 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1804
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $69 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one mile from the Metro for easy transportation, and accessible from both I-95 and I-495, Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is 2 miles south of Old Downtown Alexandria and only 5 miles from National Harbor and Crystal City. The White House is a mere 9 miles away. The Pentagon, Arlington Cemetery, downtown Washington DC, Ft. Belvior, and Mt. Vernon are all within 10 miles of this hotel. Located just minutes from restaurants and shopping. The friendly staff and the convenience of being just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC make this location a great place to stay.Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair, in-room safes, coin laundry facility, and more. Mini-Refrigerators and microwaves are available in Superior King and Deluxe Double room types. All rooms offer free WiFi. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Red Roof Inn, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Alexandria
Red Roof Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing