We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“run don't walk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Manchester Township, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“run don't walk”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Horrible and seedy. Would never stay here again. Room smelled. Many long term guests living there. I did not feel safe here. Would have left but after driving all day and was travelling with my dog so no other option.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback...I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. It is always our goal to provide a safe/clean environment for all of our guests.Please, if you do decide to stay with RRI in the future, just notify the desk, I am certain they will be more than happy to make it right.

Shirley Jordan G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    101
    67
    32
    30
See reviews for
99
69
53
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My sister and I traveled to the DC area while she was in Va for a visit! I booked our room on Priceline, easy enough.Wanted to stay outside of the metro DC area. So location was perfect! We arrived on Monday evening as planned check in was quick and smooth. The clerk even requested I put my sisters name on the top of the check in so if she was locked out they could issue her a room key. I was very grateful!
We pretty much dropped our belongings and left for the remainder of the evening.
Tuesday was a busy get up and go day, showered and left. I opted for housekeeping to just come in make our beds, change out our towels, and empty trash. However I did leave a note on my pillow so I knew housekeeping would see it requesting she leave 2 extra towels. **Note here:** ** I had to use the customer in room servery card as there was no pen or paper in the room that you would normally find.**

Note read: Could you please leave 2 extra towels. Thank you and have a wonderful day!!

We returned around 11PM beds had been made note was flipped over and put back on on the desk area...no extra towels where left. The actual condition of the room was not noted fully until the morning of check out. As I said we dropped our things and where off and running! There was urine and "body hair" around the base of the toilet. While warming up left overs from the night before my sister found a dirty plate in the microwave that had been left there from a previous guest. We had not use the microwave up to this point. Luckly we checked out directly after this! However I did snap a few pics with my phone to show the front desk.

Again the clerk was WONDERFUL (different clerk then at check in). She completely understood how unhappy I was and did issue me a partial credit towards the room after seeing the pics. She assured me that management would be informed of our room conditions.

Yes the rooms where nice, they appeared to of been recently updated. No complaints there...it was just the housekeeping.

Room Tip: Check your room as soon as you get there. DO NOT DROP AND RUN!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Your concerns are very important to us...please note we have taken corrective action concerning your comments. Customer feedback helps us to improve our service.
Thank you
Shirley Jordan G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

...because everything else was wonderful! We walked into our room and gasped!!! Beautiful clean hardwood floors; beautiful designs/colors on the bed covers; and sleek TV and desk....and a raised and charming country sink!!!! The look and the reality were Clean! NO grungy smelly old stained carpeting or chairs. We wanted to put a few things into the safe which was low on batteries and within 5 minutes a really friendly and funny hotel engineer arrived and did it. We liked everyone we met there...employees and guests!!! This is a true review! No stake in writing this except our feeing brilliant for finding it!! If you doubt it, book Room 106 and see for yourself! Thank you Red Roof Alexandria. We shall return!! MC Barton

Room Tip: Try R pom 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Your review made my day...Thank you so much, and thanks for being so forgiving about the coffee-)see again real soon.

Thank You
Shirley Jordan G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel room was clean. The parking lot and communal areas were also clean. The picture shown is very similar to what our room looked like. We had King sized bed, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and full bath. There was a flat screen tv which worked fine. Our room was quiet and our bed was comfortable. Our room was facing the hi-way but this didn't keep us awake. Wi-Fi is FREE with the room. It worked well enough that I was able to watch videos on my IPad. There were only a few negatives. Housekeeping during your stay consists of leaving clean towels on your bed every day. Apparently cleaning the sink, tub and making the bed is your own responsibility. If you do not have a car the walk from the Metro is about a mile. Not a problem except you have to cross Richmond Highway which is very busy. Also there is no sidewalk on the side the hotel is located on. It is also a hike to the nearest restaurants. There are always cabs at the Metro stop. In all fairness there is ample free parking. If you want just a basic room without paying for amenities you do not use this may be the place for you.

Room Tip: If the sound of cars bothers you be sure to ask for a room on the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for the review of our renovated rooms....sorry to hear that the cleanliness of your room did not meet your expectations...We are in the process of retraining our clean team(in this area)....please make it a point to visit us again real soon.

Shirley Jordan G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here while in Washington DC for a weekend of Washington Nationals ballgames. The hotel was less than 10 minutes from the stadium and not hard to get to. Just past the hotel further in was a Target and Walmart along with many restaurants and gas stations.
Our room on the third floor was basic and clean enough. The air conditioner had not been running prior to our check-in so the room was VERY WARM. We had to turn the unit on and leave for a while so it could cool off. They do allow pets at this motel so it is good for pet owners.
The office staff was very nice and helpful about giving us directions and ideas.
It was okay for just staying overnight but if I had to stay longer, I'd try the Holiday Inn Express just up the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolah69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
thank you for your comments...It is always a pleasure to get feedback from our guests.Please accept my apologies concerning the heat in the room-we have informed our clean team on the importance of making sure the heat is in the off position. We hope to see you again.


Shirley Jordan G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
204 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting Washington, DC, a beautiful place to be in the Spring. The rooms were advertised as newly renovated, but our room, although clean, was still quite basic and small. It did have a fridge which was convenient, but no coffee maker. Our room was at the back of the hotel which was much quieter than the front (which faces a busy road), if you have the option ask for the back.

Although the hotel was billed as being "close" to transportation to DC the train station was actually almost a mile away down several busy roads. We walked since the weather was good, but in the rain your only options would either to drive and park at the station ($6 per day I believe) or take a cab. If you have small children and/or want to be truly within walking distance of the train to DC there are lots of other options in the area.

There is no breakfast available, so bring some bagels and fruit to get a quick start to the day. We were told there would be coffee in the lobby but there was actually only hot water for tea on our visit, thankfully we had brought some packs of Via instant coffee so were able to joe up before walking out the door.

Overall a clean and inexpensive place to stay, if you temper your expectations accordingly it's a good option.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Your concerns are very important to us...In order to be able to offer clean/safe affordable accomodations, we have to cut out the frills. With the renovations we were able to upgrade our superior kings,they do have coffee pots, a large work station, irons. and blow dryers in each room-Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you-we look forward to seeing you again! And invite you to try the superior king room.

Thank you
Shirley Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I booked the room on Priceline. I have been booking hotels with Priceline for 2 yrs.I accidentally selected the wrong star hotel. I usually selected 3 stars or more. This is one of the worst ones. I was excited because it was renovated. Room was not clean and had food particles on the carpet. Bathroom toliet and tub was leaking. This hotel was in an unsafe area, there were weird characters were lurking around. There was a piece of hair on the bathroom floor. Just a bad experience. The staff upfront was friendly but does compensate for the bad experience. I would not stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you book a hotel on priceline, make sure you choose a 3 star or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everetta2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Sorry to hear that your stay was not a good one-we really do try to exceed our guests expectations , clearly we dropped the ball -please accept my apology. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to impress you.
Thank you
Shirley Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#28 of 54 in Alexandria
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
2.3 mi away
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#19 of 54 in Alexandria
593 reviews
1.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Eisenhower Ave.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Address: 5975 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1804
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one mile from the Metro for easy transportation, and accessible from both I-95 and I-495, Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is 2 miles south of Old Downtown Alexandria and only 5 miles from National Harbor and Crystal City. The White House is a mere 9 miles away. The Pentagon, Arlington Cemetery, downtown Washington DC, Ft. Belvior, and Mt. Vernon are all within 10 miles of this hotel. Located just minutes from restaurants and shopping. The friendly staff and the convenience of being just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC make this location a great place to stay.Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair, in-room safes, coin laundry facility, and more. Mini-Refrigerators and microwaves are available in Superior King and Deluxe Double room types. All rooms offer free WiFi. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Alexandria
Red Roof Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing