We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Okay for a one night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Okay for a one night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here while in Washington DC for a weekend of Washington Nationals ballgames. The hotel was less than 10 minutes from the stadium and not hard to get to. Just past the hotel further in was a Target and Walmart along with many restaurants and gas stations.
Our room on the third floor was basic and clean enough. The air conditioner had not been running prior to our check-in so the room was VERY WARM. We had to turn the unit on and leave for a while so it could cool off. They do allow pets at this motel so it is good for pet owners.
The office staff was very nice and helpful about giving us directions and ideas.
It was okay for just staying overnight but if I had to stay longer, I'd try the Holiday Inn Express just up the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolah69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
thank you for your comments...It is always a pleasure to get feedback from our guests.Please accept my apologies concerning the heat in the room-we have informed our clean team on the importance of making sure the heat is in the off position. We hope to see you again.


Shirley Jordan G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    90
    61
    29
    26
See reviews for
91
65
47
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
171 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting Washington, DC, a beautiful place to be in the Spring. The rooms were advertised as newly renovated, but our room, although clean, was still quite basic and small. It did have a fridge which was convenient, but no coffee maker. Our room was at the back of the hotel which was much quieter than the front (which faces a busy road), if you have the option ask for the back.

Although the hotel was billed as being "close" to transportation to DC the train station was actually almost a mile away down several busy roads. We walked since the weather was good, but in the rain your only options would either to drive and park at the station ($6 per day I believe) or take a cab. If you have small children and/or want to be truly within walking distance of the train to DC there are lots of other options in the area.

There is no breakfast available, so bring some bagels and fruit to get a quick start to the day. We were told there would be coffee in the lobby but there was actually only hot water for tea on our visit, thankfully we had brought some packs of Via instant coffee so were able to joe up before walking out the door.

Overall a clean and inexpensive place to stay, if you temper your expectations accordingly it's a good option.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Your concerns are very important to us...In order to be able to offer clean/safe affordable accomodations, we have to cut out the frills. With the renovations we were able to upgrade our superior kings,they do have coffee pots, a large work station, irons. and blow dryers in each room-Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you-we look forward to seeing you again! And invite you to try the superior king room.

Thank you
Shirley Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I booked the room on Priceline. I have been booking hotels with Priceline for 2 yrs.I accidentally selected the wrong star hotel. I usually selected 3 stars or more. This is one of the worst ones. I was excited because it was renovated. Room was not clean and had food particles on the carpet. Bathroom toliet and tub was leaking. This hotel was in an unsafe area, there were weird characters were lurking around. There was a piece of hair on the bathroom floor. Just a bad experience. The staff upfront was friendly but does compensate for the bad experience. I would not stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you book a hotel on priceline, make sure you choose a 3 star or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank everetta2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Sorry to hear that your stay was not a good one-we really do try to exceed our guests expectations , clearly we dropped the ball -please accept my apology. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to impress you.
Thank you
Shirley Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnsburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Rooms were advertised as being "new rooms". Well, the walls were painted, and looked nice. We were in a king oversized room, which was supposed to be the best deal. The desk space was definitely large, and there were lots of electrical outlets for computers, but the basic room was not any bigger, therefore not having a comfortable chair or sofa upon which to sit and watch TV. There was mold on the bathrub grout. The refrigerator was very small and had no freezer compartment so it wasn't possible to refreeze ice packs. Since we stayed for 4 nights, we needed more refrigerator space. We had to take out a shelf to even hold the milk, which we had to go to WalMart and buy along with cereal and bananas and bowls, because I found out after we got there that they did not provide any kind of breakfast. I have never been in a motel where no continental breakfast of any kind was offered!! The coffee maker only made one cup at a time. When the maids cleaned the room, they did a terrible job of making the bed and didn't replenish the coffee supplies or cups. When my husband went down to the front desk (from the third floor), to get some coffee supplies, the front desk person had trouble finding any. The bed and pillows were very hard and my back was sore every night. I woke up every hour and a half to change position and the pillows would have given you a stiff neck because they didn't give at all!!! Fortunately we had our own pillows. I was nervous whenever I got on the elevator because it made some wierd noises, and there was no posted notice that it had been recently inspected. I realize that motels are expensive in the DC area, but I really expected more for $100/night!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments/concers, we really do appreciate them. Without your feedback it would be a lot more difficult to determine what our guests expect. RRI is constantly looking for ways to improve our product...again, thank you!

Shirley JordanG.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

new furniture in a tiny room/ outdoor entrances/ highway noise/ ac unit chugging away. no breakfast or coffee in the room.. bed was comfortable/ bathroom tub leaked/ toilet was running.. and saw a clump of hair on the floor.. just needed a place to sleep..checkin and check out staff were both very friendly.. and red roof did it's job..

Room Tip: try to get a room not facing the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LewisOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Sorry to hear we did not exceed your expectations, but your comments and concerns help us to make improvements on our product. Our engineer is working on making that room guest ready. Thanks for choosing Redroof .

Shirley Jordan G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

For what the Red Roof charge a night you get nothing....you can stay at the Relax Inn right next door for $65 and get a king size bed with fridge and microwave.....and it's clean. With money you save you can order in from some nice restaurants and site see.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swtbowleggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Our goal is to be a good value in comparison to our competition. We often have Red Hot deals on our web site. For your next visit please book on Redroof.com

Thank You

Shirley Jordan G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We rented a car at Washington Dulles Airport and drove to Old Alexandria for this hotel which was like 1/4$ of DC hotels. Office Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Coffee and tea is available 24 hours in the reception area and in your room. The floor is wood and very clean. We drove the mile to the metro station to get into DC which is quicker, pleasant and cheaper. There is a parking building at the metro if you don't want to walk. After staying 8 nights, Red Roof mailed me a coupon for a free night. Thank you, Red Roof. I LOVE free. I'll be back.

Room Tip: We were upper floor in the rear off the highway and it was comfortable and room had darkening shades...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrannybabyFSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Great to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again, very soon...free is always good, Right?

Shirley Jordan G. M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#28 of 53 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Address: 5975 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one mile from the Metro for easy transportation, and accessible from both I-95 and I-495, Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is 2 miles south of Old Downtown Alexandria and only 5 miles from National Harbor and Crystal City. The White House is a mere 9 miles away. The Pentagon, Arlington Cemetery, downtown Washington DC, Ft. Belvior, and Mt. Vernon are all within 10 miles of this hotel. Located just minutes from restaurants and shopping. The friendly staff and the convenience of being just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC make this location a great place to stay.Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair, in-room safes, coin laundry facility, and more. Mini-Refrigerators and microwaves are available in Superior King and Deluxe Double room types. All rooms offer free WiFi. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Alexandria
Red Roof Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing