We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Traveling to the Washington DC and New York areas with and without students for the past 30 years has afforded me the opportunity to observe the inner workings of many hotels in the area, and it is easy to say that Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South has a staff that provides a service and setting that is second to none. Every member of the staff works easily and cooperatively with every other member while providing efficient and kind service to every patron. No problem is ever too big and certainly no problem is too small. They are professionals of the highest order who have not only been trained very well, but they present themselves as people who enjoy their work. -- I will continue to use this hotel whenever I am in the area because the helpful staff creates a comfortable and friendly environment in which to rest and relax. Guests are made to feel welcome, important, and valued. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Budd S- Thank you for so many kind words from your recent visit to the hotel. I am very pleased that we exceeded your expectations and will happily share your comments with the entire team. We definitely look forward to seeing on your next trip to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    108
    61
    28
    20
See reviews for
111
54
25
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
worcester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

My sister and I stayed here for 5 nights over Memorial Day weekend. I can't say enough about how welcoming and helpful the staff were, especially Stephanie and Reeza. The van drivers were all great. We never had to wait more than 15-20 minutes at the Pentagon City metro station for the van, The breakfasts were great and the bed was extremely comfortable. This is a great place to stay and I highly recommend it.

Green Features: The guests are given the option to re-use bath towels.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank san_luis_rey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
san_luis_rey - Thank you very much for such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us. I’m very pleased that our staff was able to meet your expectations and that your stay worked out perfectly on memorial day weekend. I will happily share your comments with the entire staff. We look forward on seeing you on your next visit to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is a great property with a great staff. There is very little turnover in staff and they always remember you from the last visit, Stephanie is very kind and professional and always works to make my stay a good one. The pool is very clean and they keep it at around 85 degrees and great place to relax. I often dine in the bistro and watch tv in one of the booths. The food is always fresh and made to order. As a frequent traveler I would recommend this property for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: upper floor rooms overlooking DC
See more room tips
Green Features: they recycle and encourage guest to do so also. I have my linen changed every other day
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Ed G -Thank you for such a wonderful review. I will be happy to share your comments with Stephanie and the rest of the team. I am glad that we were able to create such a memorable stay for you and that we as a team met your expectations. We definitely look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I'm not usually one to make lists like this, but this particular stay screamed for it.

Let's see... Check in went okay at first but I was literally switched to a different agent midway through to hear about their lack of complimentary breakfast (which I knew). The previous agent just walked away to help someone else. Perhaps it was my letting them know that the person I was traveling with - from the same company, mind you - was not able to make it and if they hadn't been contacted they could go ahead and free up the reserved room. Well, apparently they take issue with that. They explained that the person (who didn't even make their own reservation) would need to call them directly. When I said my coworker had encountered an emergency, which is why they couldn't make the trip, they basically said "tough, we need a call or we're billing the full rate".

So on to the room: The tub dripped non-stop; the bed was all springs and very uncomfortable; the red walls had chipped paint; and forget that the TV on-screen guide says you can watch Showtime - that channel reverts to Bio. The icing on the cake had to do with the bathroom amenities. I've unwrapped better bars of soap at $30/night motels. Like plastic. That, and they only provided little bottles of conditioner. No shampoo. I called down and was told someone would be right up. Guess again. I called again 20 minutes later and they acted I'd never called before. No big deal - I can be late to that meeting.

Anything good, you ask? The little diner counter they have downstairs was staffed by two very nice gentlemen. The food, being light bar food, was only so-so but the service was great. So there.

Room Tip: If you stay on the side facing the highway, know that you need to run the fan on high to drown out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
SteveG13 - Thank you for your review and I apologize that your stay was not what you have come to expect from a Marriott. We strive to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay and we did not meet your expectation and our own. I will be sure to address your concerns with my staff immediately in order for it not to happen again. We will certainly utilize your comments to make an improvement in the areas you have mentioned. Thank you again for your review and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spinnerstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here a week ago with a group that had 28 rooms. The staff was very nice and helpful, rooms were blocked perfectly, and the breakfast each morning was wonderful. The pool was large and nicely laid out, great place to relax and swim. Would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a nice place to stay near Washington D.C. Perfect in every way.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggypauline505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
peggypauline505 - Thank you very much for such a great review of your recent stay with us. I’m very pleased that our staff was able to meet your expectations and that our room blocking and morning breakfast worked out perfectly for your group. I will happily share your comments with the entire staff. We look forward on seeing you on your next trip to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I do alot of work related travel, and stay in alot of Hotels. This Hotel is outstanding from the moment you walk in the door to check in to the moment you walk out after check out. The
staff has the highest quality of guest service I have ever seen. You feel more like Family then guests. The Manager Keith is always seen and available. I want to give a special thank you to Stephanie for her skills and help, to Edna for her patience, to Greg for his directional skills.
Thank you all for making my work travel a little less work and a little more fun.

Room Tip: I like the lay out of rooms ending in 03 (203, 303,40, etc), they are at the end of the halls near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Carla H - Wow, thank you for such a wonderful review. I will happily share your comments with Stephanie, Edna, Greg and the rest of the team. I am glad that we were able to create such a memorable stay for you and made your work enjoyable. We definitely look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
287 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We have been at this Courtyard for a week while touring DC and Alexandria, The front staff is fantastic and they are always ready and willing to help. I would like to thank Keith, Stephanie and Edna for all that they do! They should write a book on customer service!!! They have a great breakfast and the best pool in the DC area! Thanks Courtyard for making our stay fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonHalazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
DonHalazon - Thank you for so many kind words from your recent visit to the hotel. I love the heading of “Fantastic-The Best Place To Stay!” I will be sure to share your comments with the entire team at our upcoming staff meeting. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
0.4 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South

Property: Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South
Address: 4641 Kenmore Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22304 (Formerly Sheraton Pentagon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South is located in Alexandria, VA. Equipped with state-of-the-art technology equipment, indoor pool, and fitness center, versatile for business or leisure travel. The Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South hotel also offers a free hotel shuttle service to and from Reagan National Airport, BRAC-133 (the Mark Center) and the Pentagon City Metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing