We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South for 3 nights. We were very unfamiliar with the area and was treated so very nice. Stephanie helped us when we arrived with a quick trip to New York City. She got us connected with our travel and hotel in New York. She went out of her way to help us. She treated us so special. Also, Beza helped us so much with our tour and arrangements in Washington. She went out of her way to do everything that she could do to make our trip so perfect. The hotel was so clean and all the staff were very friendly and made our trip so enjoyable. We were on a 2 week vacation and this hotel was the nicest and had the best staff of any hotel we stayed in. The rate of the hotel was also the best we found. I can't say enough about this place and are so thankful for Stephanie and Beza being there for us. Marriott should be very proud of this hotel and all the staff. Thank you Beza and Stephanie for taking such good care of us. I don't know what we would have done without you two!
The Whitlow's

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor and we were very pleased. There is a washer & dryer on the 2nd floor t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for an excellent review. I am very happy that we were able to accommodate you during your vacation. I am very pleased to hear that Stephanie and Beza were able to assist you as they did. I will happily share your comments with them and the rest of the staff. I know that will appreciate such wonderful comments about them. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to the DC area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 440 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

While visiting alexandria,my fiance' and i stayed here nine nights and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. We would like to thank front receptionist,Bezen for being very helpful and friendly! We really enjoyed out stay and look forward to staying here again!!!!

Room Tip: Remember if you want breakfast you must specify
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortofinoGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure having you both with us for such an extended stay. I will make sure to share your comments with Bezen, she will be happy to hear how she impacted your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I just want to thank Betsy Starr and Estaban for making our stay such a special and memorable experience. Our family hosted a family reunion in the month of July, and the service was extraordinary. Ms Starr made herself available every step of the way, and I greatly appreciate that.

The rooms and common area was very clean, colorful and warm. If you are looking for a nice and friendly place to stay, please check them out. They won't disappoint you.

Dolly

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dolly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us. I will gladly share your comments with Betsy and Estaban, I know they will enjoy hearing your comments. It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Wanted to Thank Betsy Starr and the Management at the Courtyard Alexandria for a wonderful "experience" during our recent stay in July. We traveled with multiple teams to DC for a Nationals competition and the accommodation's where perfect. From the planning stage through arrival Betsy managed every detail for our group and went above and beyond to ensure every detail was covered.
The General Manager and Staff checked in with us throughout the five day stay and made sure everyone was comfortable and needs were met for the smallest of details. We look forward to returning next year "our third year" to another warm welcome and "Thank the staff "for all you do.

This Courtyard is tops in our books!!!!

Room Tip: All are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsoucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I greatly appreciate your feedback and will certainly share your comments with Betsy. It was a pleasure having you with us during your visit to the DC area and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

court yard by Marriott is one of the best hotels in this area. They provide excellent rooms for a decent price. The hotel clerk freweyni is an extremely friendly and professional person to deal with, she provides the customer service I desire. For those trying to find a nice clean friendly hotel, look no farther. That is the best hotel in the town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fikre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I appreciate your positive comments and I will be happy to share your comments with Freweini. She will be happy to hear how much she was able to impact your stay. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit to the DC area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a fabulous experience with the service at this hotel. Everyone was not only helpful and attentive, but also truly pleasant. The breakfast was good, the banquet food was great, and Domingo was wonderfully helpful in accommodating our group's specific dietary needs.

Common areas and conference rooms were great, as were the common area bathrooms. Beds and pillows were comfortable, and no complaints about the bathrooms. Everything was perfect!

The hotel is in walking distance to a 7-11 and a pizza place, but not too much else is walkable. In and out by car from the hotel is easy, and major shopping center is just 1 mile away.

We received exceptional service from Beza (front desk) and Domingo (catering).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sure that the staff mentioned will be pleased to hear how you enjoyed your stay and their service. I am very happy to read that your perception of the hotel staff was "helpful and attentive, but also truly pleasant". Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We are here on a family reunion. I hesitate to review this, as our experience is so different from all the other reviews I can see.
First the shuttle, after we called them took about 1 1/2 hours to pick us up from DCA . Check in was normal, but not friendly or unfriendly, just business like. The room was very dirty, with splatters on the wall, dirty carpets, etc. The cleaning staff did clean the wall the next morning, not that it clear the old splatters, but at least it was clean. The bathtub was stopped up and they fixed that, and the broken toilet seat. That was all good.
For our reunion we purchased an extra room, the keys have been nulled and needed new ones at least 4 times, yes, they did provide them nicely, but why would that be needed in the last 24 hours?
The pool doesn't open until 5 pm on weekdays, what's that about? As you can see this is not particularly a business hotel, but family hotel. There is no lifeguard, etc., why can't the pool open normal hours? Last night at 10:05 pm when we returned from dinner (it is a $20 cab ride to anywhere except a Quiznos and low end pizza place across the street for eating -- except the "Bistro" which has one or two employees and when we arrived a couple of LARGE groups were there-- possibly 25 people to serve and a long line to the lobby) anyway, when we returned from dinner, a family with a small daughter had just been kicked out of the pool and were standing outside the LOCKED pool door, the little girl looked like "what did I do to get booted from the pool?" What's that about? The pool open only 5 pm to 10 pm Monday - Friday for a family centered hotel?
The "bistro" and bar closes daily from 10 a.m weekdays and 11 a.m. weekends until 5 pm.. remember this place caters to groups, families, etc. Staff only recommended one restaurant to us that is about 3 miles away, need a taxi to get there.
Breakfast buffet is $10.95 plus tax and had eggs, make it yourself waffles, the type usual free fare at most hotels. Nothing special there. The Bistro Menu is limited (as are the hours) and the flyer here in the room doesn't even list the prices...... hmmmmm. There is Starbuck coffee for sale. That's nice for limited hours, at least it's open in the morning!
There is a "Market" which is like a tiny convenience store with the only microwave around, none in the rooms, nor refrigerators. There is a single serving coffee maker in the room. There is ice water in the lobby, nice, but no water in the rooms, coffee for two single servings from a single serving maker. There is an ice machine that works on this floor. No vending.
My wifi didn't hook up this morning so after a frustrating call to the front desk, I was connected to someone in Nevada to help me, it was resolved, but he said it could have been handled at the front desk, like when the key cards don't work, I guess.
The beds are comfortable! Sheets clean, etc. Nice pillows.
This is NOT a location convenient to any where, unless you have a car (parking is $14/daily according to the Guest Information Guide). They will take you to DCA or the local metro, but we were told last night, it would be about a 1 1/2 hour wait for them to take us to the metro(we thought to go to the Metro, then get to a restaurant), since there is one standard van and driver only.
All in all, transportation costs and food costs added to the standard quoted rate of $159/daily would have put us in Old Town, Alexandria where there is more to do than wait for the pool to open, you could just walk out the door and be in a wonderful destination(and lots of restaurants, and activities! Or to go to a hotel near the metro to get to D.C. easily.
The manager is friendly, staff is normal friendly. A.C. works, trying hard here to find something special.... I guess it would be the nice bedding.
Checking out a day early to follow my own advice! Keep looking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColibriSMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for review from your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that we did deliver services and products that were what you were expecting and were promised by the hotel. I appreciate your honest feedback and I will certainly use your review as a tool for training all aspects of the hotel staff. Reading your review we obviously have plenty of room for improvement. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South

Address: 4641 Kenmore Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22304 (Formerly Sheraton Pentagon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $87 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South is a comfortable and convenient hotel in Alexandria, Virginia. Equipped with state-of-the-art technology equipment, indoor pool, and fitness center, versatile for business or leisure travel, our hotel also offers a free hotel shuttle service to and from Reagan National Airport, BRAC-133 (the Mark Center) and the Pentagon City Metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing