We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Exceeded Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had the great pleasure of residing at this hotel for an extended period earlier this year. The room are very clean and anytime an issue arose, they were very prompt in there response.

But what really stood out for me is the professionalism and 5 star customer service given by every level of this establishment.from the front desk, restaurant, engineering, shuttle service and housekeeping; they provide top notch customer service that rivals any 5-star hotel.
Mr. Keith Moses and his staff all truly exemplify the Marriott quality that I have come to expect as a loyal Marriott customer.

Respectfully,

Elaine K.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frasgurl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words in such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you with us and I am pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations. I will share your comments with each department personally so that they can hear how their hard work can make such a positive impact on a guests stay. We hope to have you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    94
    53
    25
    18
See reviews for
98
52
24
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Although the hotel is located somewhat outside traditional Alexandria "hotels ring" - closer to Pentagon City Metro station, regardless of your intentions or destination, you will be happy. Modern design and layout, the friendliest staff, spacious and VERY clean rooms, Paul Mitchell (!!!) toiletries, restaurant-style breakfast... - you will run out of breath describing the details that make this place one of the best on the area. I am planning of sending them "Reviewed on Tripadvisor" window sticker, as they totally deserve that! One advice - while booking, choose the package offer (the one with free breakfast for two and free parking). Rates are very good anyway, but the package helps to save an extra 30-40. Oh, and breakfast: bacon, waffles, omelet, bread, bananas, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea, bottled milk, oatmeal (with the toppings!). It could be better to have a complimentary coffee/tea in a lobby 24/7, though, like at other Marriott properties - I am very picky when it comes to the room coffeemakers. It will really bring a nice touch, being almost a common practice even in the worse hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blendedbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent stay. I am happy that we made you feel right at home. I greatly appreciate your feedback about the staff, rooms, breakfast service and about the coffee. These are great comments and they will all certainly be shared with the staff. Hope to have you with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for nearly 3 weeks on business. It is very nice, but one can find fancier places. But the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They seem to know all guest by name on sight. The bistro in the lobby is inexpensive and the food is good. The fitness center is not large but it's impeccably clean and has great equipment compared to most places I've seen. The pool is very good and the lifeguards are good with kids. The extended stay rates are far better than the normal government rates most places offer. WiFi was great. Laundry facility is small, but only $1 per load and includes detergent. Every time I walked into the lobby, the staff greeted me by name and with a smile. I would DEFINITELY choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your extended visit to the DC area. It was a pleasure having you with us and we are pleased to see that your enjoyed your stay. I will certainly share your comments with the entire staff. We hope to have you with us again should your travel needs bring you to the DC the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Four of us enjoyed cherry blossom weekend in a suite at the Pentagon South hotel. We had a marvelous time. The rooms were clean, quiet, and beautifully furnished. The staff could not have been nicer, and were always on hand to provide transportation as needed. There is a bar and food available in the lobby any time we wanted, even serving Starbucks coffees! From our room we could see the Washington Monument. The hotel is located with easy access to the Washington sites, as well as being near Old Town Alexandria, and the boats down the Patomic. I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjdawson52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences in your review. I am happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you with our shuttle services. I will also be happy to share your comments with our food and beverage team, they all will be happy to know they have served another satisfied customer. We hope to be your choice on your next trip to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slingerlands, New York
Level Contributor
512 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

After a while, all of these places start to look the same. Once you have the basics in the facilities, what distinguishes a hotel is convenience and service. The hotel is standard Courtyard, clean and comfortable. I did not try the restaurant or any of the facilities.

It is located about a 15 min. drive from DCA. Note that you need to CALL the shuttle, they do not just come around as someone at the airport told me. It came quickly.

The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. I love "above and beyond" stories. When the shuttle got back to the hotel to take me to the airport, the driver told the manager that there was a huge accident causing delays. Before I knew it, another employee who knew another route was in the driver's seat, and we were there in record time.

Don't hesitate if you need a good, clean, friendly hotel near the airport!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhapsodyinblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. I will certainly share your shuttle experience with the drivers as well as with the entire staff, this is a great example of how we all worked together to overcome an obstacle to assist a guest in need. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to be your first choice on your next visit to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
255 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I love this hotel! This hotel has everything you need for any type of trip! The location is excellent and only a few minutes to DC. The WiFi is free!The Manager and front staff are not only helpful but they could write a book on customer service. Customer service is the number one thing for all of the staff. The people who run the breakfast are the best I have ever seen and the food is fantastic!The shuttle drivers are full of helpful information and they always welcome you with a smile! The pool is the best in the DC area and it is indoors so you can swim all year. If you want to have a great time this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonHalazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and experiences in your review. It was a pleasure having you with us during your visit to the DC area. I will happily share your positive comments with our food and beverage staff, front desk staff and shuttle drivers. We hope to have you with us during your next visit to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This location works for a business meeting IF your participants are okay with being dependent on the hotel shuttle or a cab. There is nothing walk-able. Nothing. However, the hotel shuttle provides outstanding service to and from the airport, and Pentagon City where you can catch the Metro.

Room Tip: 10th floor even numbers will give you a view of the Capitol and the Washington Monument.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jan7colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to read that the shuttle service was helpful for you during your visit to DC. The shuttle drivers will be happy to hear that their efforts were so appreciated by a guest. Hopefully we will be your location of choice on your next visit to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
0.4 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Alexandria
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South

Property: Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South
Address: 4641 Kenmore Ave, Alexandria, VA 22304-1304 (Formerly Sheraton Pentagon)
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South is located in Alexandria, VA. Equipped with state-of-the-art technology equipment, indoor pool, and fitness center, versatile for business or leisure travel. The Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South hotel also offers a free hotel shuttle service to and from Reagan National Airport, BRAC-133 (the Mark Center) and the Pentagon City Metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing