We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, comfortable, staff goes out of their way to help”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

After a while, all of these places start to look the same. Once you have the basics in the facilities, what distinguishes a hotel is convenience and service. The hotel is standard Courtyard, clean and comfortable. I did not try the restaurant or any of the facilities.

It is located about a 15 min. drive from DCA. Note that you need to CALL the shuttle, they do not just come around as someone at the airport told me. It came quickly.

The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. I love "above and beyond" stories. When the shuttle got back to the hotel to take me to the airport, the driver told the manager that there was a huge accident causing delays. Before I knew it, another employee who knew another route was in the driver's seat, and we were there in record time.

Don't hesitate if you need a good, clean, friendly hotel near the airport!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhapsodyinblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. I will certainly share your shuttle experience with the drivers as well as with the entire staff, this is a great example of how we all worked together to overcome an obstacle to assist a guest in need. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to be your first choice on your next visit to the DC area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 439 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

I love this hotel! This hotel has everything you need for any type of trip! The location is excellent and only a few minutes to DC. The WiFi is free!The Manager and front staff are not only helpful but they could write a book on customer service. Customer service is the number one thing for all of the staff. The people who run the breakfast are the best I have ever seen and the food is fantastic!The shuttle drivers are full of helpful information and they always welcome you with a smile! The pool is the best in the DC area and it is indoors so you can swim all year. If you want to have a great time this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonHalazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments and experiences in your review. It was a pleasure having you with us during your visit to the DC area. I will happily share your positive comments with our food and beverage staff, front desk staff and shuttle drivers. We hope to have you with us during your next visit to the DC area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This location works for a business meeting IF your participants are okay with being dependent on the hotel shuttle or a cab. There is nothing walk-able. Nothing. However, the hotel shuttle provides outstanding service to and from the airport, and Pentagon City where you can catch the Metro.

Room Tip: 10th floor even numbers will give you a view of the Capitol and the Washington Monument.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan7colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to read that the shuttle service was helpful for you during your visit to DC. The shuttle drivers will be happy to hear that their efforts were so appreciated by a guest. Hopefully we will be your location of choice on your next visit to the DC area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Property has recently been renovared, Staff is great, breakfast pretty good, room renovated but sort of outdated, bed comfortable, clean. Bottom line good reasonaly priced location for DC travel - Metro shuttle is great. Just not a shiny new facility as so many properties are today.

Room Tip: Be on time for shuttle we missed one by 2 minutes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadrunner04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for your review from your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments about the overall condition of the hotel; we rely on this type of guest feedback to help us find opportunities to improve on our product. Thank you for the kind words about the staff and the shuttle, they will be delighted to hear your comments. We hope to have you with us again if your travels should every bring you back to the DC area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our typical Hilton in the area was sold out for a week, so my co-workers and I were forced to spend a week at this Courtyard. While I still prefer the Hilton, this was not a bad alternative. My co-workers had some issues with cleanliness and an actual roof leak during a torrential downpour, but my stay was perfectly acceptable. The colleague with the leak ended up changing rooms and getting free breakfast, which was only mediocre. Other than some breakfast to go, we did not eat at the Courtyard. My room was perfectly clean and spacious, and I enjoyed having a desk and couch in the room. My biggest issue was being able to hear the highway in the morning and evening. Also, my bill was not complete upon checkout, and I had to go online to get the finalized copy. Though a minor inconvenience, most places I have stayed have the bill ready the morning of checkout.

Room Tip: All three of us could hear the highway from our rooms. Also, avoid the top floor if there are rains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your feedback about room blocking, final bill and structural issues, these observations will help us improve the areas where we fell short. I will be sure to share your positive comments about your room cleanliness with our housekeeping team. Your feedback is vital for us to continue to improve and create a better guest experience, thank you for your honesty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have had many opportunities to stay at this hotel. Each experience has been wonderful.
Rooms are clean, very comfortable beds,quiet rooms, and great parking. Staff is very courteous and friendly. Shuttle drivers are very helpful and always on time.

"Mrs. Z."

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1955SAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for a great review of our hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. I will be sure to share your remarks with our staff and specifically the housekeeping staff and the shuttle drivers. They will be happy to hear that their hard work is noticed by our guests. We hope to have you with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times. Every time the experience has been great. The front desk staff go out of their way to accommodate your preferences and make sure that you are satisfied with your stay. The hotel is quiet, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and parking is abundant and secure, not to mention the convience of the location and the amenities. This hotel is truly a home away from home.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review and for your loyalty to our hotel. We are happy to hear that you feel that we are your home away from home. I will make sure to share your comments with the staff so they hear your kind remarks. We hope to have you with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South

Address: 4641 Kenmore Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22304 (Formerly Sheraton Pentagon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $87 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South is a comfortable and convenient hotel in Alexandria, Virginia. Equipped with state-of-the-art technology equipment, indoor pool, and fitness center, versatile for business or leisure travel, our hotel also offers a free hotel shuttle service to and from Reagan National Airport, BRAC-133 (the Mark Center) and the Pentagon City Metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Alexandria Pentagon South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing