We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Almost finished with RENOVATIONS!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Hudson Valley
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Almost finished with RENOVATIONS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for years. I usally go at holidays since it is close to my family and stay 2-4 nights. The hotel has been going through a renovation the past 4 or so months. It needed to be freshened up and what has been done so far looks great. The manager, John, and his staff has always bent over backwards to accomodate me and my spouse no matter what our needs. The bedding is very comfortable and rooms always clean. We get a suite and it has a nice living/kitchenette area as well as a dressing area with vanity and seperate bathroom. The internet always works well. The location is close to DC, right off RT 395 and close to I95. The hotel runs a shuttle to the airport, DCA. Parking is in a separate building and is a daily fee. There is complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby.Food is good at the small restaurant in the hotel and there are other restaurants just minutes away. I would recommend this hotel to individuals on business trips or to families on a DC vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have nice views of the DC skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deelveetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about the hotel and the enjoyment you had during your stay. . The rooms are newly updated and beautiful to go along with our lobby and new Bistro restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and hopefully continue to exceed your expectations and be your hotelof choice in the Washington D.C metro area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    103
    58
    27
    20
See reviews for
108
53
25
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Our hockey team stayed at the SHS for a travel weekend. It was clean and the staff was very friendly. They even provided us an empty conference room where the boys could hang out without disturbing other guests. They helped us with restaurant recommendations and delivery services in the area and even let us eat together as a group in the lobby. Only down side was no free breakfast...otherwise a very good experience!

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review about your stay at the Courtyard Pentagon South-Alexandria. Our goal is to have each guest that stays here leave satisfied and I am glad we have reached our goal during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the future.

Keith Moses

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revere, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

my family and i went to washington for a weekend vacation. the staff was very friendly and helpful. the lobby was beautiful and fancy the people were very friendly and very helpful. we saw a lot of sites because the staff informed us of what we should do bacause we had such a short time. the food at the hotel was very good would highly recommend it to other guest thank you for such a wonderful experience

Room Tip: higher floor excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laureta41785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. I couldn’t agree more with your assessment of our staff as they truly do go above and beyond for our guests, and it’s inspiring when a guest lets us know how happy they are.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

I reviewed this hotel last year before the renovation began. The lobby is now finished and beautifully modern. There is a nice bistro for light food and a work area with computers. They have a fabulous large screen, interactive video display in the lobby where you can get traffic, weather, news and other relevant information. The fitness room has been enlarged and completely redone. Nice equipment, large TV, and a very adequate place to work out - an important asset for many who spend a lot of time at the hotel. The hotel has completed the top floors of totally renovated guest rooms. They are terrific and comfortable. Much improved. The staff continues to be the hotel's biggest asset. They are wonderful and helpful. There is a shuttle to National Airport and Pentagon City for the metro, travel, and other facilities such as a big mall. The shopping center across the way provides a few small restaurants and a grocery store. The one caveat about the hotel is that it is not in the District for easy access to sights and restaurants, but the shuttle does provide access to the metro. Accordingly, the prices are more cost effective than in the District.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sirmax03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during your trips to the DC area. I agree, the recent upgrades that have been completed to the lobby, meeting space, fitness center and guestrooms are amazing.

We appreciate your business and kind words regarding the team members. Your comments will be posted for all the team members to see, which I am sure will make them smile.

See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
240 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Visiting Mt Vernon and Old Town so wanted to stay overnight in Alexandria. This hotel is not that close to those attractions but turned out to be a good choice for us. Rooms are standard, clean and comfortable. Lobby is big and beautiful with a very spacious seating area including round booths with private TVs! As you can imagine this was a hit with the kids, as was the large indoor pool. Unfortunately the pool is only open evenings weekdays and the hot tub was not hot, but we still had a good swim. A small plaza is directly across the street so we walked over for a quick and tasty dinner at the pizzeria.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MN_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and the location was ideal for you. I do apologize for the temperature of the hot tub, but are pleased you were able to enjoy our indoor swimming pool. It is truly as great place to relax and enjoy time with family and friends.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

I represent the local governement of Alexandria for a very contentious project, and am responsible for making all arrangements for a citizens advisory group created by our City Council. We have been holding monthly meetings for the past three years or so, and they are usually in library or public school meeting rooms. The Courtyard Marriott - Alexandria South Pentaon contacted us to offer their meeting space to host our most recent meeting. I worked with their Director of Sales over the past few weeks to see fi this could work and what accommmodations they could provide. Ultimately they provided space for over 100 people, completely set up with tables, chairs, sound system and refreshments... as well as parking on site, and all for free! They even had staff greeting attendees at eh front lobby entrance to guide them to teh meeting.

I usually personally have to set up the entire room for these meetings and know how much effort it takes. The hotel staff handled virtually everything to perfection and was even there throughout the meeting to handle anything that might come up. The staff did everything possible to make our meeting productive and successful. I heard nothing but compliments about the place and we really appreciated the willingness of the Courtyard Marriott to make this contribution to the community, and commend them for stepping forward to become involved. I can assure you this would be a great venue for any type of meeting or conference.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbgrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and and hope to see you are your gruop return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

The hotel is close to D.C. and Regan Airport. I have been a Marriott member since 1991. In order for me to actually write a Review you must be " Exceptional " as to Cleanliness and Customer Satisfaction. This Location is moderate an quaint and newly renovated. The people whom work there take pride in their work and the Managers are wonderful at making you feel comfortable an appreciated. One in particular who stands out, J.B. whom always has a smile on his face and remembers your name and your likes and dislikes. My family and I will continue to stay here because they " Make me Happy !"

Room Tip: AAA has great rates especially weekend from Thursday to Monday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. We enjoy seeing you every month and John was excited to read your review. We enjoy seeing you and your grand children create such fond memories. It is an honor to serve you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest
0.4 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
3.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#17 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South

Property: Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South
Address: 4641 Kenmore Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22304 (Formerly Sheraton Pentagon)
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South is located in Alexandria, VA. Equipped with state-of-the-art technology equipment, indoor pool, and fitness center, versatile for business or leisure travel. The Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South hotel also offers a free hotel shuttle service to and from Reagan National Airport, BRAC-133 (the Mark Center) and the Pentagon City Metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing