We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place was nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Bethel, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The place was nice”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were in town for a wedding, the location was great, not far from king st and they had a shuttle that ran every hour. You could walk down to the water and enjoy a great trail where there was plent of people out walking and running and enjoying the day. We made it down to torpedo factory where they had plenty of activity.

The room was adequate, however we ended up with 2 twins and it was just my wife and I staying in the room. I went back down and asked for a single bed room since we didnt have a need to sleep in separate beds, but was informed that the hotel was sold out that night and they didnt have it available.

They dont have breakfast included with the stay, but there was a great little diner across the street, but I didnt mind this, we were in town for the wedding and not for business so I didnt need to eat quickly in the morning.

Parking was $20 a day, not sure why that wasnt just included in the room charge, seemed a little unnecessary for a paying hotel guest.

The internet was also an extra charge, I thought that stop about 5 years ago as the hotels I have been staying in lately usually include it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terbor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear terbor1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am very delighted to know that our location was in perfect proximity to your destination and that the cleanliness of our facility is at par with your standards. However, it is a regret that you were not fully satisfied with your room accommodation. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

And as for the cost of parking and internet services, we strive to provide a competitive rate in the area. It is not our intent to inconvenient our guests instead provide rate options that make sense. Nevertheless, I have taken note of all your comments and shared them with our hotel management for review and consideration.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    245
    176
    78
    41
See reviews for
112
181
48
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have stayed at this establishment when it was the Radisson. Anytime I had to be at a meeting in Washington D.C. I would stay at this hotel, within 15min from D.C. I was going to D.C. every Month and received a discount rate/ comp breakfast and the room rate was well worth the price.

The food at their resturant was also worth the price and the food was great. The staff for the hotel and the resturant were always friendly and they made your out of town stay a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We spent a night there just after we landed at Ronald Reagan airport. Overall, the hotel is a bit outdated and overpriced. We had almost no service, even when we asked the front desk clerk to call a cab. I don't think it is the best option for an hotel around the airport.

The hotel is within walk distance of Old Town Alexandria which is a nice town to see, but not a most in Washington, DC area.

If you plan a trip to Washington, DC, you should directly go there for your first night and spend your entire trip in a downtown hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the Potomac River
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexGagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear AlexGagne,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I am pleased that you found our property's location convenient.

I am sorry if the interior design did not completely suit your standards. We will consider your comments for upgrades needed.

Again, thank you and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Marina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night in May 2014.
We loved the hotel, although the wifi is slow.
It is a bit far out of Washington, but is a super little town, full of eating places and nice small shops.
The hotel staff were excellent, and tended to all our needs. The rooms are comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnfris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Johnfris,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are glad you found the rooms to be comfortable, our staff pleasant and caring. We are glad you chose us, and we’re happy to know you would return, we look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location, can walk to shopping, dinning and entertainment. My only flaw with this Hotel, not kid friendly. Meaning it had nothing for kids to do, so if you taking kids you may want to rethink taking them unless you are just resting your heads. Parking is $20 a night and there is street parking some have meters. Nice view of the Potomac,and you can take walks to the water. No free Wifi!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doris915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Doris915,

We appreciate your comments, your positive recognition of our staff, services and feedback on our hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We are happy to hear that we were conveniently located to your travel plans in the DC/Alexandria area. There are things for the family in the area such as the Torpedo Factory Art Center, with the Alexandria Archaeology Museum's hands-on activities or at the National Inventors Hall of Fame and Museum or set out on a Colonial Tours' Kids' Scavenger Hunt. Ask us for more things to do. We are glad you chose us, and anticipating your return to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We spent three nights in the hotel. For the most part it was a good experience. However, the plug ins for the lamps did not work, the coffee pot was under the tv, and the hair dryer had matted hair in the filter with no way to remove it. The sheets on the bed did not fit the king size bed so kept coming off. Hate it when they charge for parking. Can't park on the street because it is restricted.

Room Tip: The higher up you get the better view of DC and the Potomac you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmo426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Elmo426,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very happy to hear from our guest. Receiving your constructive comment helps to show us where we can work harder to serve our guest better. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We regret we did not obtain that goal in your instance. We apologize you had issues with our parking lot pricing and the servicing of your room that took away from you having an exceptional stay. In the future if you are not pleased with anything please let us know, we would love for you to give us the chance to make things right before you depart. We look forward to you returning to allow us to exceed in our ability to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel while on a coach tour its in a nice out of town location but they provide a free shuttle sevice to King street in Alexandria and back the room was comfortable and the buffet breakfast was excellent I enjoyed my stay and would be quite happy to stay here again

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Volpetervo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Volpetervo,

We appreciate your comments, your positive recognition of our staff, services and feedback on our hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your room and view. We are glad you chose us for your stay in the DC/Alexandria area, and anticipating your return to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#20 of 54 in Alexandria
593 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Address: 901 N Fairfax St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1501 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing