We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Holiday Inn and that's no compliment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It's a Holiday Inn and that's no compliment”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

I just checked in for a four night stay and am ready to leave. The non smoking room smells of smoke. The bed is horribly uncomfortable. It feels very hard and I can feel the springs as I lie down. The restaurant is fair. The whole place feels like it is in desperate need of renovation. I won't make the mistake of staying here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mujd96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Mujd96,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We regret we did not obtain that goal in your instance. We apologize you had issues that took away from you having an exceptional stay. We are very disappointed we failed in extending to you our best in accommodations and services. Please in the future we hope you return and if there is anything during your stay you are not pleased with, please bring it to our attention we would love to make your experience with us a great one. Thanks again for you comment and we hope that you would reconsider to allow us the opportunity to serve your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    245
    176
    78
    41
See reviews for
112
181
48
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I've stayed at several hotels in the Crowne Plaza group and this one didn't measure up. The man at reception during check-in was most obliging and helpful, from then on service was "ordinary". One day my room wasn't cleaned till I chased up the woman on duty. Even though I asked, no one would exchange a couple of U$9.95 breakfasts in lieu of an extra night's stay which I wasn't going to use, but for which I'd paid.

The convention group was not supplied with sufficient boiling water for all attendees who wanted a cup of morning tea rather than coffee. When an additional urn came, the hotel charged for it. (The number in the group wanting tea was fewer than thirty!) How mean not supply sufficient in the first place!

If you want free wifi you have to join the hotel chain's "club" or pay an hourly or daily rate. These days even small motels offer their customers free wifi. It's time the bigger hotels offered it as well.

You could say I was less than satisfied with Crowne Plaza, Alexandria, Virginia.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Missy T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very happy to hear from our guest. Receiving constructive comments help to show us where we can work harder to serve our guest better. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience.We regret we did not obtain that goal in your instance. We apologize you had issues with your group service and the servicing of you room that took away from you having an exceptional stay. Please in the future we hope you return and if there is anything during your stay you are not pleased with, please bring it to our attention we would love to make your experience with us a great one. We hope that you would reconsider returning and allow us the opportunity to serve your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Crown Plaza in Old Town Alexandria is the best hotel in old town The customer service experience I have is excellent. I cannot say enough about the staff Especially (Peter) at the For desk very professional and friendly thank you so much for all your help,.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibrahem w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Ibrahen W,

Thank you for your recognition of our hotel and staff. We look forward to responses from our guest. It is our pleasure to have served you. We love knowing we achieved our goal in providing you with an overall experience that was exceptional. Thank you for choosing us, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Belgium
Level Contributor
198 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Older property, showing its age in places.
Very slow check-in - no special line / desk for premium IHG members (platinum). Only person on duty coped admirably, but was over-stretched.
Rooms ok, but that's about as far as it goes.
Breakfast a bit pedestrian, part buffet, part service at the table, all a bit confusing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Nossi,

Thank you for you feedback and comments on your experience at our hotel. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We regret we did not obtain that goal in your instance. We apologize you had issues that took away from you having an exceptional stay. From the long line to check in, your room not being as comfortable as you would have desired, to your experience in the restaurant being somewhat confusing. We should have exceeded you expectations. We apologize that we were sub par or just ok in serving you. We will forward your very important and constructive comments to our department managers to use to bring about improvements. Thank you for choosing us, we hope you will return and give us an opportunity to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We booked this hotel through a discount website which reveals the name only upon booking but the pricing was attractive for 3.5 star hotel, so I went ahead and booked it. We had Washington DC on our trip itinerary but DC hotels being pricey, we chose this one which was just 10-12 minutes drive to where we parked our car in DC. Our room was not on the upper floors or even facing the river side(which is what we expected given the discount we got) but the room was nice and clean. House keeping was done everyday. An incidental expense of $50 was put on hold on our credit card which was later released on getting the room back with no damage. Parking is pricey within the hotel but free street parking was available right outside the hotel and we could even see our car from the room. There is a children's park near the hotel and a Mediterranean take-away/eat-in right at the corner of the street. I didn't try it but its an option if you are leaving early and wish to avoid going 4 blocks away to the main market area. Shuttle service is available till Alexandria town downtown/metro station.
The microwave switch goes in the lamp placed next to it on the table. Do not look for additional sockets/extensions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sapna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Sapna J,

Thank you for your valued comments. We look forward to hearing what our guest think of us and have experienced. We utilize your comments to better assist and serve our guest. We are happy you found your accommodations to be comfortable for you and your family. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel. We happy to know our location and surrounding area was conducive to your plans. We hope that you visit us once again to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We are so happy we found the Crowne Plaza. Our room was very quiet (aside from slamming doors), the service was fine, and the location a nice walk from the harbor. We enjoyed walking to the Torpedo Factory along the water and through some of the quiet historic streets. The price was good given the time of year. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swim49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Swim49,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about your recent stay. We look forward to responses from our guest. It is our pleasure to have served you. We're happy our location was the optimum in convenience for your enjoyment. We are very glad to hear you will return we look forward to it. We'll see you the next time your in Alexandria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I got a really good deal on this hotel via hot-wire, so for the price I paid I have no real complaints. For the sticker price, there are a few pros & cons: There was no mini-fridge which I come to expect from this type of hotel and was disappointed. The bathroom had the light and fan together so you couldn't turn on any light in the bathroom without the fan which was loud. That is annoying for doing things like hair/make-up, I really wish there was a way to do light-only even if you had to do an extra step or something. THe hair dryer they provided was better than most though and the water pressure was good. The bed was really comfortable, perhaps one of the best I've had in any hotel lately. The hotel was also very quiet (I was on the 9th floor) so I got great sleep while there which is always important. No pool and breakfast was ok, so I wouldn't say the hotel has a lot of amenities but I didn't need those. The internet was pretty slow, to the point where I ended up not using it as much as I planned to because it was frustrating. It was free so not that big a deal but if I had to pay the $9.95 (if you aren't a rewards member) then I would have been pissed. Close to the water in alexandria is a very nice spot, great walking trail near by and not that far into old town for restaurants. Parking was $20 a night but was very easy in and out, there were 3 main elevators which were easy to use with minimal wait (although I do not think the hotel was super full). Overall good hotel but I would like to see them add mini-fridges and improve the internet quality (and just make it free -the whole rewards thing is annoying and you kind of wonder if you're going to get charged anyway)

Room Tip: Higher rooms will provide a decent view in either direction and will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megs2219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#19 of 54 in Alexandria
593 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Address: 901 N Fairfax St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1501 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing