We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Customer Service Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Customer Service Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

The customer service experience I have encountered at the Crown Plaza in Old Town Alexandria has always been excellent. I cannot say enough about the staff at the Crown Plaza. For starters, Venita is always willing to reserve a room for me. She is quick with her email responses and I can truly say that in all the places that I have stayed, I have never experience such excellent customer service in this manner. Secondly, the front desk staff are professional, knowledgeable and friendly. I can always depend on a pleasant greeting from Roland and Peter. And lastly, the restaurant staff are wonderful and the food is good. One of the other pluses besides the great customer service is that the hotel offers a shuttle down to old town and to the airport.

Charlene Motley

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Charlene M,

We thank you for your compliments and positive name recognition of our staffs' service and feedback on our hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. Your comments will be shared with our staff to encourage continued efforts of generous hospitality. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We appreciate the favorable comments on our accommodations, our services and location. We glad you also enjoyed your stay and we're anticipating your return to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    234
    167
    74
    41
See reviews for
109
164
46
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have been staying at the Crowne Plaza for bi-monthy business trips over the past 2 years. I have always been greeted with a smile and a high level of professionalism during each stay. Roland and Peter have provided excellent customer service during check-in. Even late night arrivals have been met with excellent service and a smooth check-in process. I am actually disappointned when the hotel is booked and I have to find an alternate property. I highly recommend the Crowne Plaza as it has become my only hotel when traveling in the Alexandria-DC area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Angela C,

We appreciate your comments, your positive name recognition of our staff, services and feedback on our hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. Your comments will be shared with our staff to encourage continued efforts of generous hospitality. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us, and already planning to return, we look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

The rooms are large and clean. We had a wonderful view of the river from our room. A 7 block easy walk to King Street with numerous restaurants and shopping. The staff was friendly and the in house eateries were also very good. Shuttle service to Reagan National makes heading into Washington DC very easy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KikoKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear KikoKat,

We appreciate your comments, your positive recognition of our services and feedback on our hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food in our restaurant and that we were conveniently located to your travel plans in the DC Metro area. We glad you also enjoyed your stay and anticipating your return to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

I needed one night in Washington, D.C. and was horrified to learn that everything in the city was between $200-300/night. I was trying to visit the capital on a budget, and after doing a lot of research, found that Old Town Alexandria is quiet, quaint, and a 20 minute metro ride into the city.

I couldn't have gotten a better deal on the Crowne Plaza Hotel. The staff was friendly, the room was large and clean, and we could see the river from our room. It was about a 5-10 minute walk to King St with shopping and great restaurants. Check out Red Rocks Pizza if you're looking for some good gourmet pizza. The metro was about a 15 minute walk from the hotel, so not for you if you have mobility issues. Taxis are comparably less expensive in the region and the hotel offers a free shuttle to and from Reagan National Airport, as well as an 'as needed' shuttle to King St.

The staff stored our suitcase behind the counter for the day after we checked out so we could go into the city without lugging it around. All-in-all, I would definitely stay there again, and if I'm visiting D.C., definitely stay in this part of Alexandria.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyRightSide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear JennyRightSide,

Thank you for your valuable comments and feedback. It is our goal to consistently provide superior services and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We're happy that you were more than pleased with our staff, the clean and comfortable accommodations and that we were conveniently located to your travel plans in the area. We're elated that you chose us and good to know you would recommend us and would return, we look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was nice and the restaurant in House served up some interesting food and the bartender made the perfect white russian. The rooms had comfy beds along with a fridge and microwave. A big plus is that they had a shuttle to and from the airport which helps.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kg8367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear kg8367,

Thank you for your valued comments. We look forward to hearing what our guest think of us and have experienced. We are happy you found your accommodations to be comfortable, and the restaurant menu appealing. It is our utmost pleasure to have served you. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing us, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REPUBLIC
Level Contributor
152 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Missed my flight and landed here at the last minute. Solid hotel, excellent front desk staff who helped out with complimentary toiletries to use, since my luggage went without me. The room was fine for the negotiated airline rate of $89, but would've been disappointed if I'd had to pay more because it was a very fitful night's sleep due to the roaring of the heater every time it kicked on and ran. Additionally, the bathroom fan was so loud, it was almost uncomfortable to have it run while using the bathroom (would've had to turn off the light in order to not use the fan). Bedding was nice and heavy; a nice change from a single, thin blanket and cover often characteristic of other hotels. Age of the property also showed around the edges: dented, chipped door frame and furniture.

Not as bad as some other reviews imply, but would think twice about returning if the nightly rate is more than $100.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank J9Koffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear J9Koffel,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We look forward to hearing what our guest think of us and have experienced. We utilize your comments to better assist and serve our guest. We apologize you were not be completely comfortable in your room. Please in the future let us know when something in not quite right, we would love the opportunity to make you more comfortable. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We regret we did not obtain that goal in your instance. We apologize you had issues that took away from you having an exceptional stay. We hope that you would reconsider returning and allow us the opportunity to serve your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are nice enough, they were spacious and comfortable. This seemed like a pretty good place for a conference. The front desk staff wasn't very nice but everyone else was. For the money there is probably a better place to stay. Good for a conference, wouldn't be ideal for leisure. Not close to the metro, but the complimentary shuttle can help you get around.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MATHEW B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Mathew B,

Thank you for your valued comments, we look forward to hearing from our guests on how we can make improvements. It is our goal to make sure all of our guest have an absolutely fantastic stay. We regret that in your experience with us we did not accomplish that goal. I will forward this valuable information to my managers for subsequent improvements. As for things to do, we are the place to be. We are conveniently close to fascinating places. When you return you may explore the area by trying out our bicycles that are free to our guests. You may use them and explore Old Town or ride the 23 mile waterfront bike trail that is both scenic and exhilarating. There are lots of places here, if you like art, The Torpedo factory's Art Gallery, Mount Vernon is nearby historical site great for the family, or you could Water taxi on the Potomac. Next time you come ask us for more information. We look forward to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#18 of 54 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Kimpton Morrison House
#14 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Address: 901 N Fairfax St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1501 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing