We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok Stay, Good location to airport and D.C. (Free Parking) *TIPS included”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
539 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
“Ok Stay, Good location to airport and D.C. (Free Parking) *TIPS included”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Ok Stay! Average hotel with not too many amenities. Does have a shuttle bus to DCA (Reagan airport) and the MTA (subway system). Good location to airport and D.C., quick drive to Washington Monument and the entire mall area, maybe 10 mins tops. Right down the street from old town alexandria, and from the riverboat tours of the Potomac. Restaurant on second level is alright, food a little overpriced for what you get and kind of slow service at peak hours. I tried the salmon and it was tasty, but a little on the cold side. Rooms are nice though, good linens and plenty of room to move about. Not much within a few blocks radius of the hotel, nothing really within walking distance. TIP: Get a room with a river view.

Room Tip: Get a river view room on the north side! See the beautiful Potomac!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Bruce P,

Thank you for the comments and feedback. Your feedback is very important to us, it provides us the insight to our guests expectation. Our managers and staff use these comments as a tool to improve in areas necessary. We are happy to hear that our location suited your itinerary for DC sight seeing using our complimentary shuttle service to the airport to hop on the metro. We do have great things to do locally as well, maybe we could help you with that the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    242
    175
    77
    41
See reviews for
112
175
47
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Pros :
- Room is big, comfortable and clean. The beds are double beds and enough for four of us to sleep in.
- Free internet is plus for us.
- Breakfast is standard for American 3.5 stars hotel similar like Holiday Inn or Marriott.
- Free shuttle bus to airport really help us a lot to take early morning flight without a hassle and also to take metro to DC.

Cons :
- The neighborhood area is quite difficult to find good place for eat especially Asian food. There is one Thai restaurant but it's expensive. Luckily there is delivery service for Chinese food.
- The toiletries is very standard and few. This what makes the difference between Crowne Plaza Hotels in USA compared to in Asia which much more luxurious.
- Once again I didn't get the upgrade as Platinum member even though the hotel looked not very full.

Overall we're still happy staying at this hotel because we have no problem reaching out Reagan airport very early in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ucartech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear ucartech,

Thank you for your valued comments and feedback. Your taking the time to do so, is very much appreciated. We are happy that you were please with your accommodations and service. It is our goal that each guest would have a great overall experience while staying with us. We apologize that you felt your Platinum status seemed benign, we would have gladly upgraded you had it been available. We hope you return in the near future to once again experience the comfortable accommodations and convenience of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Downright poor food and downright bad service in this restaurant. This was very basic food at an unreasonable cost. Steak was tough and the pork chop was dry. Choice of sides very limited. Waitress who served us was SOUR and unobliging. We wanted to sit by the window but, the only table had been cleared but not reset. We were told we could not sit there but must move to an inner table. It would have seemed OK to move the setting from the other table to the one we preferred. It took a long time for our order to come and then it was not a very tasty meal. We asked for our check and this also took a long time. Then it took ages and no one had come to retrieve our card to make payment so we went to the bar to pay. We were told we would have to wait for the waitress to come. She proceeded to deliver meals and we were left standing at the bar. Eventually the barman attended to our account. This whole affair left us late for an appointment. Not happy and did not return to the restaurant for the rest of our 6 day stay. There is also no free wi-fi in the rooms. There is in the lobby but, as international travellers who use Skype calling to contact family, it is a little hard to talk to them in the lobby. All hotels should (and most do) provide free wi-fi as this is the 21st century and most people use internet on a daily basis. Phones are provided and most times not used.
Some services are good e.g. the hotel shuttle to Regan Airport and Metro and to Old Town Alexandria. There is a good place for breakfast just across the street. Breakfast in the hotel is provided by the same restaurant (different area and name same people) as for dinner.

Room Tip: On lower floors internet can be accessed from rooms using foyer log in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Sue P,

Thank you for your very valuable comments and feedback. Our goal is that our guest overall experience is a great one. We regret and apologize that we fell short of that goal, and your expectations as well, which we strive to exceed. We will share your comments with our Managers as a tool to improve in the areas you have clearly mentioned. As I said before your feedback is vital to our ability to improving, and continued training of our staff to give our guest the quality of service your deserve. Please allow us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeastern U.S
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Could not believe we only had to use 5000 points per night for this great hotel. It is an older hotel but very clean. They offered free hotel shuttle to Reagan airport where we caught metro to D C. We also used hotel to take us to old town Alexandria for dinner and shopping. Wonderful experience

Room Tip: Higher floor great view of Potomac
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southerntraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear southerntraveler2,

Thank you for your positive comments. We value your comments and appreciate you taking your time to leave such nice comments about your wonderful experience. We hope that when your back in the area, we will be your choice again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herkimer
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I had a handicap accessible room on the eight floor. with a decent view of the Potomac River.
Obout 10:30 at night I turned on the water in the bathroom.When I tried to turn off the water the handle brock off in my hand. I cal the desk and the sent up a man who looked at the sink, then I believe he tried to tell me he could not fix it because he did not have the parts. He spoke such bad English that I am not sure what he said. He then turned off the water feed valve, braking the knob of in the process. At 10:00 the next morning I called the desk to see when the water would be fixed. They moved me to another room on the third floor with a view of the parking lot. This had a walk in handicap shower stall. When I used the shower it flooded the entire bathroom floor which used up all of the towels to mop up To say I was not happy with the rooms in this hotel would be an under statement.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear George B,

Thank you for your valued comments and feedback. It is our goal that all of guest would have and great overall experience, and to hear that during your stay we did not meet those goals it's disconcerting. We appreciate and value your comments to show us where we need improvements. I am sorry that you had an issue with our staff's lingual skills and our plumbing. We are constantly training our staff to make sure our guests are satisfied. We do hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again with a better outcome. Your comments will be shared with our Department Heads to increase our level of services to guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
883 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and got a 12:00pm early checkin. We took the free shuttle from Regan National to the hotel. We received free in room Internet as I am a priority club member. We had a king bed which was comfortable. The hotel is close to the Potomac with nice views. The staff are pleasant. The hotel is across the street from extra perks which is a great place for breakfast and 2 blocks from a Giant grocery store. The free shuttle is a nice feature.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haileythegolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi haileythegolden,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments on your stay with us. We value your comments and take pride in know that your stay was overall, a great experience. We hope that you will be traveling this way again soon. It would be our pleasure to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A clean, good value hotel with very helpful front-desk staff. We enjoyed our selves here, and had the shuttle bus take us around into Olde Town. Once there the free trolley whisked us up and down King Street.

Room Tip: Sweet views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hnter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Hnter64,

Thank your for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay with us. It is our pleasure to serve you. We value all comments our guest share. We do hope to see you again. You could try our bikes free to our guest, and see the scenic views of the Potomac.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#19 of 54 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Address: 901 N Fairfax St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1501 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing