We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Nearby Hotels
$213
$197
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
$149
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$162
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$221
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$206
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$153
$149
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Old Colony Inn Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$119
$101
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$275
$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (749)
Filter reviews
749 results
Traveler rating
172
260
192
79
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
260
192
79
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspotomac riverking streetold towngastro pubextra perksflight pathreagan airportfree shuttlebraddock roadfront desk staffseveral blocksshuttle serviceblock walkhotel shuttlehotel restaurantparking feerestaurants and shops
Filter
Updating list...
447 - 452 of 749 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Could not believe we only had to use 5000 points per night for this great hotel. It is an older hotel but very clean. They offered free hotel shuttle to Reagan airport where we caught metro to D C. We also used hotel to take us to old town Alexandria for dinner and shopping. Wonderful experience

Room Tip: Higher floor great view of Potomac
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southerntraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear southerntraveler2,

Thank you for your positive comments. We value your comments and appreciate you taking your time to leave such nice comments about your wonderful experience. We hope that when your back in the area, we will be your choice again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I had a handicap accessible room on the eight floor. with a decent view of the Potomac River.
Obout 10:30 at night I turned on the water in the bathroom.When I tried to turn off the water the handle brock off in my hand. I cal the desk and the sent up a man who looked at the sink, then I believe he tried to tell me he could not fix it because he did not have the parts. He spoke such bad English that I am not sure what he said. He then turned off the water feed valve, braking the knob of in the process. At 10:00 the next morning I called the desk to see when the water would be fixed. They moved me to another room on the third floor with a view of the parking lot. This had a walk in handicap shower stall. When I used the shower it flooded the entire bathroom floor which used up all of the towels to mop up To say I was not happy with the rooms in this hotel would be an under statement.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear George B,

Thank you for your valued comments and feedback. It is our goal that all of guest would have and great overall experience, and to hear that during your stay we did not meet those goals it's disconcerting. We appreciate and value your comments to show us where we need improvements. I am sorry that you had an issue with our staff's lingual skills and our plumbing. We are constantly training our staff to make sure our guests are satisfied. We do hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again with a better outcome. Your comments will be shared with our Department Heads to increase our level of services to guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and got a 12:00pm early checkin. We took the free shuttle from Regan National to the hotel. We received free in room Internet as I am a priority club member. We had a king bed which was comfortable. The hotel is close to the Potomac with nice views. The staff are pleasant. The hotel is across the street from extra perks which is a great place for breakfast and 2 blocks from a Giant grocery store. The free shuttle is a nice feature.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haileythegolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hi haileythegolden,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments on your stay with us. We value your comments and take pride in know that your stay was overall, a great experience. We hope that you will be traveling this way again soon. It would be our pleasure to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A clean, good value hotel with very helpful front-desk staff. We enjoyed our selves here, and had the shuttle bus take us around into Olde Town. Once there the free trolley whisked us up and down King Street.

Room Tip: Sweet views
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hnter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Hnter64,

Thank your for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay with us. It is our pleasure to serve you. We value all comments our guest share. We do hope to see you again. You could try our bikes free to our guest, and see the scenic views of the Potomac.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

There is nothing wrong with this hotel but it could be so much better.
The rooms are clean, the showers are great but the air conditioning units are old and very noisy. One really noticeable omission is no room safe. Also robes would be nice.
The gastropub staff are rude and disinterested. When we arrived we were ignored for a time then told to "sit anywhere".The waitress didn't seem to understand what gluten free meant and didn't seem to care. We left without eating there.
The reception staff were polite (just) but disinterested and made one feel you were a bit of a nuisance.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear DuncanH,

Thank you so much for your comments, we always look forward to hearing from our guest on how we can improve. Your comments are vital to our ability to make improvements where needed. It is our goal to make sure every one of guest has absolutely fantastic stay. We are constantly training our staff and empowering our people to make sure our guests are satisfied. We are sorry that you felt that we did not live up to that goal. We really would like another opportunity to show you we value you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews