We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Herkimer
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Over rated hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I had a handicap accessible room on the eight floor. with a decent view of the Potomac River.
Obout 10:30 at night I turned on the water in the bathroom.When I tried to turn off the water the handle brock off in my hand. I cal the desk and the sent up a man who looked at the sink, then I believe he tried to tell me he could not fix it because he did not have the parts. He spoke such bad English that I am not sure what he said. He then turned off the water feed valve, braking the knob of in the process. At 10:00 the next morning I called the desk to see when the water would be fixed. They moved me to another room on the third floor with a view of the parking lot. This had a walk in handicap shower stall. When I used the shower it flooded the entire bathroom floor which used up all of the towels to mop up To say I was not happy with the rooms in this hotel would be an under statement.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear George B,

Thank you for your valued comments and feedback. It is our goal that all of guest would have and great overall experience, and to hear that during your stay we did not meet those goals it's disconcerting. We appreciate and value your comments to show us where we need improvements. I am sorry that you had an issue with our staff's lingual skills and our plumbing. We are constantly training our staff to make sure our guests are satisfied. We do hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again with a better outcome. Your comments will be shared with our Department Heads to increase our level of services to guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    223
    154
    69
    40
See reviews for
106
149
43
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
596 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and got a 12:00pm early checkin. We took the free shuttle from Regan National to the hotel. We received free in room Internet as I am a priority club member. We had a king bed which was comfortable. The hotel is close to the Potomac with nice views. The staff are pleasant. The hotel is across the street from extra perks which is a great place for breakfast and 2 blocks from a Giant grocery store. The free shuttle is a nice feature.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haileythegolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi haileythegolden,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments on your stay with us. We value your comments and take pride in know that your stay was overall, a great experience. We hope that you will be traveling this way again soon. It would be our pleasure to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A clean, good value hotel with very helpful front-desk staff. We enjoyed our selves here, and had the shuttle bus take us around into Olde Town. Once there the free trolley whisked us up and down King Street.

Room Tip: Sweet views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hnter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Hnter64,

Thank your for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay with us. It is our pleasure to serve you. We value all comments our guest share. We do hope to see you again. You could try our bikes free to our guest, and see the scenic views of the Potomac.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

There is nothing wrong with this hotel but it could be so much better.
The rooms are clean, the showers are great but the air conditioning units are old and very noisy. One really noticeable omission is no room safe. Also robes would be nice.
The gastropub staff are rude and disinterested. When we arrived we were ignored for a time then told to "sit anywhere".The waitress didn't seem to understand what gluten free meant and didn't seem to care. We left without eating there.
The reception staff were polite (just) but disinterested and made one feel you were a bit of a nuisance.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear DuncanH,

Thank you so much for your comments, we always look forward to hearing from our guest on how we can improve. Your comments are vital to our ability to make improvements where needed. It is our goal to make sure every one of guest has absolutely fantastic stay. We are constantly training our staff and empowering our people to make sure our guests are satisfied. We are sorry that you felt that we did not live up to that goal. We really would like another opportunity to show you we value you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Clean, quiet, roomy and centrally located. If you are from out of town - check in with the visitors center for a parking pass. Will save you $20 a day for parking. You have to park street side but this is not a rough area and your car is as safe on the street as anywhere. Eat breakfast at the Deli across the street. It's fantastic and cheap!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Rufus1959,

Thank your for your wonderful comments and feedback on your stay with us. It is really nice to hear that the bicycles are a great perk to your visit here in Old Town Alexandria. We had hoped that utilization of the the bikes would be a exciting plus to our guests' stay with us. We look forward to seeing again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A clean, efficient, good value hotel with helpful front-desk staff, but sometimes the advice given on local amenities was incorrect. They try to help but their local knowledge could be better. There should be room safes. There isn't even secure storage at Reception as an alternative - just an offer to put valuables in the "back room". I wouldn’t select it for a conference because of this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poplarcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear poplarcottage,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments and feedback. We believe every guests' experience expressed to us is valuable. We will share your feedback with our staff. We want our guest to experience a stay that is not only comfortable but also convenient. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Clean and nice. I would have a meeting there anytime. The meal and meeting staff bends over backwards to meet your needs. A mile from the metro makes you shuttle dependent but they are pretty good about getting you there. A nice walk along the river to downtown Alexandria.

I suspect the front-desk computer needs better software. And the IT department must be off on the weekend since no wireless was to be had on Saturday - down and stayed down.

Join the perks club - it gets you free wifi (when It works) and reduced parking. So no waiting for pie in the sky....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank williebugdubuque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Williebugdubuque,

Thank you very much for you taking time to give us your comments on your recent stay with us. We are always happy to here that our guest have received great service during their stay. We will share your great comments with our staff. We do apologize for any inconvenience with the internet service may have caused. We certainly look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#19 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing