We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is an average hotel.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This is an average hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

There is nothing wrong with this hotel but it could be so much better.
The rooms are clean, the showers are great but the air conditioning units are old and very noisy. One really noticeable omission is no room safe. Also robes would be nice.
The gastropub staff are rude and disinterested. When we arrived we were ignored for a time then told to "sit anywhere".The waitress didn't seem to understand what gluten free meant and didn't seem to care. We left without eating there.
The reception staff were polite (just) but disinterested and made one feel you were a bit of a nuisance.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear DuncanH,

Thank you so much for your comments, we always look forward to hearing from our guest on how we can improve. Your comments are vital to our ability to make improvements where needed. It is our goal to make sure every one of guest has absolutely fantastic stay. We are constantly training our staff and empowering our people to make sure our guests are satisfied. We are sorry that you felt that we did not live up to that goal. We really would like another opportunity to show you we value you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    237
    172
    75
    41
See reviews for
110
169
46
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Clean, quiet, roomy and centrally located. If you are from out of town - check in with the visitors center for a parking pass. Will save you $20 a day for parking. You have to park street side but this is not a rough area and your car is as safe on the street as anywhere. Eat breakfast at the Deli across the street. It's fantastic and cheap!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Rufus1959,

Thank your for your wonderful comments and feedback on your stay with us. It is really nice to hear that the bicycles are a great perk to your visit here in Old Town Alexandria. We had hoped that utilization of the the bikes would be a exciting plus to our guests' stay with us. We look forward to seeing again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

A clean, efficient, good value hotel with helpful front-desk staff, but sometimes the advice given on local amenities was incorrect. They try to help but their local knowledge could be better. There should be room safes. There isn't even secure storage at Reception as an alternative - just an offer to put valuables in the "back room". I wouldn’t select it for a conference because of this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poplarcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear poplarcottage,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments and feedback. We believe every guests' experience expressed to us is valuable. We will share your feedback with our staff. We want our guest to experience a stay that is not only comfortable but also convenient. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Clean and nice. I would have a meeting there anytime. The meal and meeting staff bends over backwards to meet your needs. A mile from the metro makes you shuttle dependent but they are pretty good about getting you there. A nice walk along the river to downtown Alexandria.

I suspect the front-desk computer needs better software. And the IT department must be off on the weekend since no wireless was to be had on Saturday - down and stayed down.

Join the perks club - it gets you free wifi (when It works) and reduced parking. So no waiting for pie in the sky....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank williebugdubuque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Williebugdubuque,

Thank you very much for you taking time to give us your comments on your recent stay with us. We are always happy to here that our guest have received great service during their stay. We will share your great comments with our staff. We do apologize for any inconvenience with the internet service may have caused. We certainly look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I'm a Platinum level with IHG and don't expect too awful much - heck, most of my IHG stays are at Holiday Inn Express - but when booking a Crowne Plaza, I expect at least some minimal effort at check-in to recognize my status and at least try to provide some of the benefits I've supposedly earned by staying over 50 nights at various IHG properties.

Unfortunately, check-in at this Crowne Plaza in Old Town Alexandria felt like I was checking into an alternate universe. The clerk was completely clueless about my reservation and status, and while he literally stared at his computer screen for two minutes, hoping something would magically appear, two other staff members carried on a conversation about who was dating whom three feet away. When I asked about a possible upgrade (one of the few valuable perks of being a Plat at a full-service IHG hotel), the clerk said "We do those first come first served" - no recognition of the fact that my reservation had been made two weeks prior. I wasn't checked in so much as processed.

I did receive an "amenity" at check-in, provided as an afterthought after finally receiving my key some 15 minutes after check-in was started: A bottle of water, an apple, and a bag of regular potato chips. I estimate this "amenity" cost the hotel 60 cents to provide.

It was all kind of pointless from there - the standard room I received was clean but dated; there are no HDTV channels on the TV system; bathrooms are small and dated. Nothing ever rose past the level of average.

I reported my experience through IHG's guest satisfaction system and received a voice mail from a bored manager; when I returned the call I had to go through a "press 1, press 2... press 9" system that ended in an incoherent recorded request to leave a message, which I did. There has been no further response from this hotel. No doubt there will be a boilerplate response left here in the same bored, inept manner as the staff has demonstrated so far.

Hotels are all about service and experience - the one-on-one interactions with the guest. This hotel simply doesn't get that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your valuable comments and feedback. We are always appreciative of our guest comments. You comments are exactly what is needed for us to continue to always be aware of how important our guest experiences are. We do apologize that your experience was not at the level of your expectations, which is our goal to meet expectations of every one of our loyal guest. We will address this with our staff as a learning tool of how to give our guest sincere thoughtful intentions and attentiveness to the needs of our guest that are the threads to great customer service. We do hope you give us another opportunity to exercise the great quality of service that is definitely our goal for all of our loyal guest as yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I attended a conference at this hotel. I had initially planned to stay at the Crowne Plaza, but was put off by several things. I am glad that I stayed at another hotel. The reservation staff at the Crowne Plaza was not very helpful when I called about making a reservation. The hotel was pricey even with the conference discount. Since the hotel charges $20 per day for parking, I asked whether there were other parking options in the area. The staff member said that there probably were but was unable to give me information about other parking.

I stayed at a nearby hotel. The room cost was 60% less. On top of that, the other hotel had free parking, free breakfast and helpful staff.

The Crowne Plaza did a poor job of planning the conference rooms. The doors and walls let sound through so that we had a contend with a lot of background noise. A group of Christian Chiropractors had their conference in an area next to a room where I attended about half of my conference events. We were only separated from the Chiropractor group by one of those thin flexible room dividers. The Chiropractor group frequently sang loud hymns, not always on key or exactly in unison. We spoke to the hotel staff and to the chiropractor group but nothing could be done about the sound situation or the frequent loud hymn singing. I would think that if the hotel sells space to more than one group, they would consider sound issues and at least put the loud group in a separate room with real walls. (I attended a conference at a different location last year and we shared the location with a national bagpipe convention. However the location that hosted did a great job arranging things so that the sound was not a problem-we actually enjoyed the bagpipers and were invited to a bagpipe recital.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank divermom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Divermom3,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable comments and feedback. We take your comments very serious. They are useful for our improvement to better serve you. I apologize that the attendance of your conference was not up to your expectations. Thank you again for the feedback, we are going to address those concerns to better accommodate meetings in the future. Our intention at the Crowne Plaza is that your experience, whether it be in your accommodations or in a conference setting, it is always a great experience. We would hope that you'll give us another opportunity to fulfill your expectations of an excellent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

If I could give 3 1/2 stars, would do so. Room 1011 had a nice view past the parking lot to the water over the bridge to DC. The room was on the large side, lots of mirrors, good air conditioning, satisfactory bathroom (really hot water), king bed, ergonomic desk chair, well soundproofed. Conference facilities fine, public bathrooms clean. Food catered by hotel was mediocre - tasteless bagels that wouldn't brown in their toasters, for ex. Coffee a B+. The 'restaurant' food was limited - very small menu. Service sweet but verrrry slow - a half hour to make a sandwich when restaurant was almost deserted.

The front desk staff was seriously lacking in information, even about whether all the shuttles stopped at the subway. They also had no idea whether the water was hard (my stomach doesn't like hard water). However, when a huge deluge made it prohibitive to walk 3 blocks to a restaurant where we had dinner reservations, one employee, Dave, volunteered to drive us in his van! And the manager responded to my email request for a down pillow. A pool, he said, can be used at the Holiday Inn down the road.

So many plusses, a few minuses -

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badbacktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Badbacktraveler,

Thank you for your valued comments, we look forward to hearing from our guest on how we can make improvements. It is our goal to make sure every all of guest has absolutely fantastic stay. I will forward this valuable information to my Department Heads for subsequent improvements. We are constantly training our staff to ensure our guests are satisfaction. We are apologize that your experience reflects that we did not live up to that goal. We will also pass on to our staff that you have given them name recognition of the services. We hope we to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#16 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Address: 901 N Fairfax St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1501 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing