We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great stay, beautiful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Newport News
1 review
“Great stay, beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a one night getaway. Have stayed in another crowne in Richmond, this one was much nicer. Beautiful views of the Potomac. Room was really clean, bed was super soft and comfortable. The tv wasn't too great, kept going in and out, fuzzy, or randomly turned on, scaring the day lights out of us. Bathroom was decent, could use an update. But we did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We appreciate your comments and feedback. We are always wanting to know what could make our guest stay their best stay. When we consider updates we look to the comments and consensus of what our guest have mentioned would make their stay more comfortable. We welcome your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    229
    160
    74
    40
See reviews for
109
157
44
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel is very nice and comfortable. Great place to stay for visit of Washingthon DC. View from the room is beatriful. Special tanks to excelent Font desk peopele - Nasra is outstanding and very helpful person ! We will defenetly come back :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gala0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your pleasantly pleased comments and feedback. We desire that each of our guest has an absolutely impeccable stay. We are so elated to know your stay was such an experience. We are also happy to know that our facility and staff were able to give you the memorable service and accommodations. Thank you once again for you comments we look forward to you visiting us again and hope to exceed, and succeed in making your stay a fantastic stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for many, many years from when it was a Ramada. The present owners have updated the facility and it is now a VERY comfortable place to stay for a visit to DC. View from the room was beautiful. Bed was very comfortable. Thick walls so you don't hear your neighbor. Railroad pub in the hotel was very good and better than the pub we tried in downtown Alexandria the following night. We wished we went back to the hotel pub. The staff aimed to please and they did. It's nice to be wanted. It's a 10 minute drive to DC and an 8 block drive to the main street of Alexandria. We prefer this to staying in downtown DC. We will return, quickly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dedede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for all the great comments we love the positive feedback. It is truly our pleasure to service our guests. I am glad to hear that are location worked out so well for you. Next time you stay with us try out the bicycles that we have available that our free to our guest to enjoy the area. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Hi. The room was as its star rating said it would be. It's right on the river and ten minutes to airport or metro rail to city. They have an airport shuttle on the hour and the half hour so if you won't ot go to the city, you don't have to take a taxi. I was in a hurry and couldn't wait so the metro was only a six dollar taxi ride. Parking is $20.00 per night so watch that. There are meters on the street a five minute walk but not sure how much or if you have to keep feeding the meter. Enjoy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drew0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for the recognition and feedback on your stay with us. It pleases us to know that we were able to accommodate and give the service you expected. It is our goal to make sure every one of guest has absolutely fantastic stay. Next time you stay with us and aren't in a hurry try out the bicycles that we have available that our free to our guest to enjoy the area. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I think this is an older hotel, but the rooms are up to date with great furnishing and an excellent bed. My only complaint about the room was a noisy and erratic heater/air conditioner. If I stayed more than one night I might have changed rooms.

As an IHG Priority Club member you get a goody bag, free internet and a free breakfast. That's a good thing, but I wonder why they don't offer free parking in their spacious garage area? They want to charge you $20 a day, $15 if you're a member. I can appreciate that the hotels on King St charge for parking, but the Crowne Plaza is several blocks away. Free parking would be a great incentive to stay there.

Overall, it's the room that counts, and this room was spacious, comfortable and worth the price when compared to others in the area.

Room Tip: See how much noise the air conditioner makes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boxster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was recently there on a conference meeting for the Autism Society. The check in with Ashiya was excellent.I had arrived fairly early and luckly she had a room for me. This room had a very beautiful view of the river and had a microwave and refidgerator for my medication. Later that evening my colleagues where arriving in off the shuttle to check in and I was greated by Ashiya again with her family. My colleageues informed me that they had been chatting with her daughger during the ride over to hear that they where going on Vacation to Disney for the first time and she was so excited. As they approched the lobby to check in, it was very crowded with people. Ashiya took her coat off and made her family have a seat and went behind the counter and jumped in to help right away. With her assistance my colleagues and I was able to make it for dinner in which she reserved and recommended. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCarter1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your affirming comments about our staff and hotel. We are extremely happy to hear that a member of our staff exemplifies the hotel's desire for a great guest service experience, and at such a personal level. Great job Ashiya! We hope that when you're back in the area, that you return here to be greeted with more of the same great experiences we desire every guest to encounter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently on business, have a very favorable opinion of this hotel! This hotel offers all of the trappings of a luxury hotel, just minus the price and the pretension. This property offers access to DC and the Old Town district. I enjoyed the guestroom; it was clean, comfortable and large enough to spread out. If you ever find yourself in need of somewhere clean and comfy, look these guys up. By the way, the breakfast is an awesome way to get your day going.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOE1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for the very nice comments and positive recognition. We are happy that you found your stay with us to be a great stay. We look forward to your returning to visit us on a vacation in the future, you know the saying all work and no play. So when your ready to play we hope you come and play here and enjoy yourself and experience the area with that intent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#18 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Address: 901 N Fairfax St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1501 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing