We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be known as 'my usual' hotel when in D.C./Alexandria area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Morrison House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton Morrison House
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Will be known as 'my usual' hotel when in D.C./Alexandria area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

Everything about our stay here was superb! We checked in 9/17/10, after convenient hotel shuttle pick-up from DCA, and were greeted enthusiastically by the staff, along with "we've complimentary upgraded you to a king suite for your stay". This was our first experience at any Kimpton Hotel - I had just joined their "Kimpton InTouch" membership a couple of days prior to our trip. We had booked a queen suite for 6 nights @ Alexandria's convention/tourism website for an AWESOME internet rate. We felt like we were paying $600/ night with the treatment we received. I ate breakfast each morning at The Grille- it was both delicious and reasonable and the service was extremely attentive. The bed was very comfy, my husband and I slept very well our entire stay. You cannot beat the location- convenient to Old Town restaurants, shops, waterfront on one end of King St, the metro rail station the other end. My husband and I walked all over and it was quite safe and pleasurable. There is also the King St Trolley running 1130am-10pm from metro station to waterfront with many stops along the way= for those who need a break from putting in a lot of walking already. This is a five star, world class hotel. I had also looked at the Monaco and Lorien, other Kimpton hotels in the area, but I believe we were in the BEST location. The Monaco would be my 2nd pick if the Morrison House is booked. I wish I knew all the staffs' names to THANK THEM ALL for their kindness- this place KNOWS and exemplifies service. For all my return trips to the DC area, guess where I'll be sure to stay? Thank you Morrison House team for making our vacation so wonderful! You will see us again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Kimpton Morrison House, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Dear GATravler007,

I’m glad that you had a great experience at our Hotel during your recent six day stay with us. It was a smart move from you to sign up for our loyalty program Kimpton in Touch as it gives great perks to all travelers such as: Complementary Internet access, a $10 coupon for the honor bar and most importantly the personal touch. We are trying to personalize the experience of all of our Kimpton In Touch members based on the preferences they shared with us. This might include room location, pillow types, likes and dislikes as well as special occasions. In your case it even resulted in a complementary upgrade to one of our suites. I truly hope to get the opportunity to welcome your back in the near future. Please contact me directly the next time you are planning to be in the area. I would like to thank you personally for the great review and the nice picture you posted.

Yours,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    125
    37
    18
    11
See reviews for
85
319
60
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
198 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

This was our first stay at the Morrison House. The room was comfortable, clean, and well stocked. A/C worked well. Maid service was excellent. All staff members were wonderful. Very helpful and friendly. Right in the heart of Old Town. Midway between the Metro and the river. Very safe area. Had breakfast at The Grille. Was OK. Very pricey for eggs and bacon. Recommend very highly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjcvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

We are happy to chime in along with all of the other great reviews of the Morrison House hotel in Alexandria. Customer service from all staff members was top notch. Our room was a smaller queen room but was still plenty spacious with an awesome bathroom with his-and-hers sinks. We had cookies on our bed upon arrival and turn-down service each night. The hotel is simply gorgeous, inside and out. It's hard to say anything that hasn't been said already (yes, they love to call you by your name) but if there's one thing we would recommend experiencing at this hotel is the piano bar. We walked in late on a Tuesday night and were simply blown away by the "sing-a-long" going on in the bar. Well-dressed people from their 20's to 80's were crammed into the bar taking turns at the mic to sing the classic piano songs of yore. It was a fantastic experience. The hotel's location is ideal, just off of Old Town King Street. We walked to breakfast in the morning and dinner at night. The Metro station is 10 blocks away so it's a bit of a hike but there is a free trolley that runs the length of King Street that helped make that trek easier. If you are going to stay in Alexandria, stay here. We found a great deal on Expedia and actually overheard some other people on the street, in front of another Kimpton property, say, "We should have stayed at the Morrison House."

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misha22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

Location is great since it's steps from my company's Alexandria office but maybe a little bit distance from the main Alexandria restaurants ...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FBernal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

I hosted my small September wedding at the Morrison House and stayed at the beautiful hotel for three days. The experience was perfect, from top to bottom.

I was a little stressed prior to checking in late on a Friday evening and phoned the hotel to request they hold my reservation. They immediately recognized my name and provided me with a warm greeting and assurance that they would not release my room. My experience with the Morrison House was wonderful before I even arrived!

Check-in was seamless, despite a very large and loud cocktail party happening in the lobby simultaneously! The bell and valet service at the hotel were consistantly excellent throughout my stay. My family and I were always greeted warmly and by name. Service was not only top-notch, but also sincere. The public areas truly reflect the historic nature of the hotel, but also have a funky twist in keeping with the Kimpton brand. Also, the hotel smells amazing... I'm not sure what they are doing, but it is working!

I selected a one-bedroom suite for my stay. All rooms have King or Queen sized four-poster beds, which are really in keeping with the decor of the hotel. The "living room" was also a good size with two couches and a large flat screen television. There was ample room for moving around, which worked well for my bridal party while getting dressed. The bathroom was on the smaller/older side, but it was perfectly acceptable. The only drawback was the older, nailed-to-the-wall hair dryer. I expected something a bit more powerful and modern from a luxury hotel. Regardless, it didn't affect my experience.

The actual wedding went off without a hitch - the Catering team at the hotel were outstanding. We had our ceremony in front of the building and they did a great job of taking guests on a detour through the side entrance. The food and beverage was wonderful in taste and presentation. We received so many compliments. Service was prompt, but unobtrusive.

There is a piano bar in the restaurant ("The Grille", I believe?) where are guests convened post-wedding. It was so lively and again the service was lovely. We were in celebration mode and the bar-tenders totally appreciated that and were able to keep up with our drink orders.

I honestly can't say how much I love the Morrison House. I was excited, but very nervous for my big day. I work in events, so I know how much goes into keeping a bride happy and making sure any mistakes (which inevitabley happen) go unnoticed by guests. The Morrison House did a perfect job. I actually got to experience and enjoy my wedding because I was not at all worried about anything going wrong. I would highly recommend this hotel for a special event or accommodations. Six stars!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityGirl610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
binghamton ny
Level Contributor
136 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

Stayed at the Morrison House for 3 nights[9/2-9/5]. It is a fantastic hotel. Staff go out of there way to serve you. Hotel is conveniently located near King St; about half way to Metro and the waterfront. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank creagh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Kimpton Morrison House, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Dear creagh5,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. My team and I are very excited that you enjoyed your recent experience with us and we hope to welcome you back soon. Please do not hesitate ton contact me directly if there is anything I can assist you with in the future.

Respectfully,

Tobias Arff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, AL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

Morrison house is pretty much everything you look for: comfortable, friendly, well-appointed, unique. And it's in a great location...steps from King Street in Old Town Alexandria. The people who run this hotel are from the old school. They have attention to detail. They are focused on the guest. The whole experience is very personalized. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. I highly recommended it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grasshopper74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Morrison House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Morrison House

Property: Kimpton Morrison House
Address: 116 S Alfred St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3002 (Formerly Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#23 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Morrison House 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, Kimpton Morrison House is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named Kimpton Morrison House one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation's capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. On-site restaurant, Ashlar, named as a nod to Alexandria's rich Masonic history, is a warm and timeless spot with polished, engaging hospitality and a well-appointed bar room. Under the helm of Chef Bobby Surdam the kitchen offers tavern classics rooted in the bounty of the Mid-Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Morrison House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing