We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real keys!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Morrison House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Morrison House
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Southern Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Real keys!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We booked an hour before on a Saturday night and got half price. Beautiful hotel! Within walking distance of the famous King Street area of Old Town. Quick walk to Murphy's Irish Pub! My only dislike of the hotel was our room on the ground floor - half a window looking out on car tires. This is not a property you'd book for the view anyway. The keys were actual old, heavy, metal keys! Very nice!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFlurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Kimpton Morrison House, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
SFlurry,

Real keys - it's true! We like them too, easier to find in our pockets after a late night at Murphy's! We'll be here, keys in hand, next time you are ready to cross the river for another staycation.

Take care,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    119
    35
    17
    11
See reviews for
81
312
60
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I purchased a two night stay in a king sized room and I called ahead and informed the staff that I was staying for the evenings of my rehearsal dinner and wedding night.

The photos of the room on-line led me to believe that not only would I have ample space to prepare myself and put on my dress, but I was hoping to get some photographs in what I was expecting to be a fancy hotel room.

The room I received (405) was so cramped that I did not feel comfortable even putting on my wedding dress in the tiny amount of space.

The "icing on the cake" was that I later discovered that a guest to my wedding was upgraded free of charge to a larger room in the hotel without her even asking. I do not know what the circumstances were surrounding that decision, but if that was something that could have been done...isn't that the type of service one would expect for the BRIDE & GROOM?

All in all, I spent more money than I had originally budgeted for so that I could have a beautiful room (and not a cookie cutter space) to get ready in and spend my wedding night in, and I was highly disappointed with what was provided.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erina42us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Kimpton Morrison House, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Erina42us,

I'm so sorry to hear that we missed our chance to be a great part of this special occasion. I'd greatly appreciate the opportunity to try and make it up to you. Please contact me directly at the hotel so I can help.

Best,

Kate
kellis@morrisonhouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

This was an unexpected surprise. I have stayed at Kimpton hotels before, so I had positive expectation prior to our arrival. However, the Morrison house far exceeded our expectations. We arrived very late at night and the Valet was right there to greet us. With three young kids we were kind of "scattered" with our luggage and kid's toys and baby bags. This was not a problem, they gathered us up and we checked in and found our stuff waiting for us in our room. The room was very unique, almost had a "period" feel to it. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was updated and spacious. Breakfast was delicious, and they were attentive to our children while we waited for our food. Check in/out was very quick and easy.

There is always something to take note on, ours was the entrance to the hotel. It was almost midnight so it was very dark on the street. The entrance was hard to see and it is very small, a simple alleyway. Not a complaint, just something to keep in kind when you are arriving. We had a great stay and look forward to staying again anytime we go
To DC.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MNVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Kimpton Morrison House, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thanks for the review, MNVB!

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us! Thanks for being loyal Kimpton guests. We hope to see you again on a repeat visit to DC!

Best,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is well-located in Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Walking distance to everything. The hotel is a historic home. Very charming public spaces, which include a living room and study. Great spaces to enjoy the evening happy hour and morning coffee/tea. Our room was on the lower level and so wasn't fabulous, but it was well-appointed and comfortable, and it was large enough. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeraN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Kimpton Morrison House, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear VeraN,

Thanks for chosing to stay with us! We're glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the public spaces and our great location in Old Town. We do have 44 other wonderful rooms too for you to try, please dont hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of help finding the right one for you!

Best,

Kate
kellis@morrisonhouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't be happier with our choice. We had walked from the Metro on a very hot day and while checking in, the thoughtful desk clerk gave us bottles of water, saying that we must be hot and thirsty. We were very happy with our room which was on the 3rd floor. Some reviews say not to get a basement level room. The bed linens were so soft and comfortable and there were some nice touches like an umbrella and yoga mat in the closet. The traditional decor was lovely. We really appreciated the wine and appy offered between 5 and 6 each day and morning coffee. The turn down service and chocolates each night were nice too. This hotel is in a great location. We spent one day exploring Alexandria and everything we wanted to see was in walking distance. Loved this area and loved this hotel. Great staff. Felt like we were coming home each night.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Kimpton Morrison House, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Dale,

It's so great to hear that you enjoyed all of these wonderful aspects of your stay! Our team works tirelessly to make sure that each of these pieces come together to make a fantastic experience for all of our guests, and I am so glad to hear that is has paid off! We can wait to have you "Come home" to us again!

Best,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We could not be more pleased by our stay at the Morrison House. It's a beautiful spot in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly; they went out of their way to make sure that we had everything we needed and that our stay was stress free. The room was lovely and clean, though a bit smaller than a newer hotel. (It's to be expected with an older hotel, however). Very charming decor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazzam71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Kimpton Morrison House, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear kazzam71,

Thanks for chosing Morrison House for your Old Town staycation! We'll be glad to have you back anytime you find yourself with a free weekend, just remember where we are, right in the heart of it all.

Best,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This mansion-like hotel manages to achieve a sense of intimacy foreign to most luxury hotels. The ground floor features a number of well-appointed sitting rooms, with coffee and newspapers available all day, as well as a bar and restaurant (which we didn't try). Our room was comfortable if not overly spacious; what we saw of our friends' suite was impressive. Location, in Old Town, couldn't be better, and you'll have a plethora of dining and drinking choices.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Kimpton Morrison House, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Gerald,

We are so thankful for your gracious review! I am so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the common areas of the hotel. Please do return to join us for dinner and to meet our wonderful bartenders. We all look forward to welcoming you back!

Best,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Morrison House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Morrison House

Property: Kimpton Morrison House
Address: 116 S Alfred St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3002 (Formerly Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#23 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Morrison House 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, Kimpton Morrison House is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named Kimpton Morrison House one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation's capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. On-site restaurant, Ashlar, named as a nod to Alexandria's rich Masonic history, is a warm and timeless spot with polished, engaging hospitality and a well-appointed bar room. Under the helm of Chef Bobby Surdam the kitchen offers tavern classics rooted in the bounty of the Mid-Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Morrison House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing