We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location with superior customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morrison House, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Morrison House, Autograph Collection
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location with superior customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I stayed at the Morrison House for a short trip to DC and was pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms given some of the feedback listed in reviews. I stayed in a King DLX room which was extremely clean. The bathroom showed some signs of wear (cracked toilet seat/outdated tub) although was updated and also of a decent size. The room service was excellent and the restaurant staff did a wonderful job explaining the virtues of the various entrees on the menu.

I also wanted to commend Rachelle in guest services who was extremely helpful and provided wonderful service.

If my travels take me to this part of VA again, I would certainly stay at the Morrison House again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEF818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Sarah F,

Thank you so much for your review and great comments about our staff. I agree that they are a special part of our success! We'd be happy to have you again any time you are back in VA!

Cheers,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    129
    42
    19
    14
See reviews for
87
327
60
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

If you're used to staying in Kimpton hotels don't expect this to be as funky. It's a very nice hotel with beautiful communal areas but the rooms in basement are a little worn around the edges. There was a chunk missing from the door frame in the bathroom and the lid of toilet cistern was cracked. Having said that though, it's still a lovely hotel and you can't fault the staff who are extremely helpful. The complimentary wine hour and coffee in the morning are a nice touch. It's in a great location and is very nice with a more traditional feel than the usual Kimpton experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cp-k-v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear cp-k-v,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel and staff. You're right that we're not as funky as some other Kimpton Hotels you may know, but we still offer the same wine services, coffee and attention that you appreciate. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you at another Kimpton Hotel (maybe even ours!) again very soon.

Cheers,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

I've always wanted to try this hotel. I frequently stay at the Lorien but the Morrison House had more favorable rates this time. I was not disappointed this is a great property. Polar opposite from the modern trendy feel of the Lorien, Morrison House is a walk back in time with very traditional furnishings embracing its rich history... Right down to the huge metal keys. My four post bed was amazing. The location is superb. King Street is steps away. The staff is friendly and accommodating. If I had one complaint and I would not call it a complaint really just a personal preference... I was placed on the first floor which is actually one floor down from the main lobby and it's essentially garden level. I had a half window and could see people's feet in the main garden out front. Would have liked to have been on a higher floor. All in all I was pleased and would recommend this property to anyone looking for a great Alexandria hotel.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sombrero26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Sombrero26,

Thank you so much for taking the oportunity to try and experience Morrison Hosue! We are glad to hear that you noticed and appreciated the differences between our Kimpton Hotels, and are glad that we can offer something for everyone. We do allow reservatiosn to guarantee rooms on our upper floors, and if I can ever be of assistance in booking a future stay, please do not hesiate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Best,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3,237 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,876 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I spent our first two nights as a married couple here, and we thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations! Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating, the room was large and beautiful, and we felt very pampered during our stay. It's centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, so take advantage of all there is to do and see while you're here! I can definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuickWhitTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear WhitO,

Congratulations! We were so excited to be a part of such a special occasion. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and please let me know if you can make it back to celebrate next year!

Cheers,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

When trying to find words to describe our stay at the Morrison House I can't find the perfect word.
Outstanding, Perfect, Unbelievable, Memorable are all words failing to pinpoint just how great our visit was.
From the moment we walked in the door we were greeted by Kate and her entire staff assembled to wish us a happy anniversary. The entire stay remained at that level of person service and attention.
Chef Gary was able to provide me with my personal favorite meal. Behind the bar, Grant took pride in his skills. We could name each staff member individually, everyone of them deserves kudos.
Our room was clean and comfortable and well maintained daily, no complaints at all.
Kate and her staff suggested dining spots that were excellent choices.
The one hesitation that we had prior to our visit was location since our trip was designed around touring D.C.. That was quickly answered by the free King Street trolley and the Metro system into the city. The trolley has limited, but reasonable, hours yet the walk to the Metro station was an easy 10 minutes.
Without a doubt, the next visit we make to that area, the Morrison House in Old Town will be the only choice of hotels.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a 5th floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHOPPERCAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Choppercam,

It was an absolute pleasure celebrating your anniversary with both of you. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we sincerely hope that we will see you again soon!

Best,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

My husband and I visit Alexandria, VA, Old Town, several times a year to see our daughter and son-in-law. We usually stay at the Monaco but decided to stay at the Morrison House, another Kimpton Hotel, during our last visit. The Morrison House, which is well-located, is supposed to be a four-stay hotel but we didn't think so. We upgraded to a suite, which was spacious but lacked a full-length mirror. We asked for a mirror and were brought a wall mirror, not a full-length one, which they leaned against the wall. Apparently there wasn't a full-length mirror available, which made dressing difficult. The suite lacked natural light even though the weather was sunny and beautiful for the most part. In the bedroom, there was a nail sticking out of the wall, with nothing hanging on it, a real eyesore. The elevator could use sprucing up (major scratches on the walls). There was no wine reception on Saturday night because of a wedding.

We really like Kimpton hotels, for the most part, and were very disappointed with this one. Next time we'll go back to the Monaco.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LNG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear LNG7,

We were all so sorry to hear that we werent able to make your stay as exceptional as you have come to expect. We do hope that you will come back to visit any of the Kimpton Hotels in the area in the future and allow us to give you the best experience.

Best,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

I am going to echo some of the past reviews and highly recommend that when booking with this hotel, avoid the basement rooms. For $229, having a basement room is so not worth the money. When I reviewed this hotel last year, I had such a wonderful experience, but I was also on the upper floors. Due to my great experience, I was so excited to book this hotel for a couple vacation. This time around however, I too had a corner basement room and my fiance' and I were not totally happy when we discovered that our room was in the basement, but decided to give it a chance. On a Friday night, around 2AM, we awoke to moving chairs and loud noises from above. I complained to the front desk on Saturday morning and they assured me that the noise would not happen again. At around midnight on Saturday, we awoke to the same noise. Finally, I asked for another room, and they were accommodating and gave us a 5th floor room on our last night. For the amount of complaints the hotel has received regarding the basement rooms, I don't understand why the staff keeps on booking these rooms, especially when they know the room is right under the lounge/bar area. Overall, the rest of the staff is wonderful and the hotel is in a great location, just make sure you don't get stuck in the basement!

Room Tip: Don't book the basement rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Dawn R,

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay. While we do have some rooms that are below the lobby level, our staff always does everything possible to honor requests made on reservations. I encourage anyone booking a reservation to consider the deluxe rooms which gurantee rooms on the top floors of the hotel. If you are in the area again, please feel free to give us a call and we would be happy to help with future reservations.

Best,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrison House, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, Autograph Collection

Property: Morrison House, Autograph Collection
Address: 116 S Alfred St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3002 (Formerly Morrison House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#23 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, Morrison House, Autograph Collection is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named Morrison House, Autograph Collection one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation's capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. On-site restaurant, Ashlar, named as a nod to Alexandria's rich Masonic history, is a warm and timeless spot with polished, engaging hospitality and a well-appointed bar room. Under the helm of Chef Bobby Surdam the kitchen offers tavern classics rooted in the bounty of the Mid-Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Morrison House, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing