We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$102
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$129
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$106
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$121
$112
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of $190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$113
$107
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$131
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Alexandria Old Town(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$134
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (791)
Filter reviews
791 results
Traveler rating
544
152
53
22
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
544
152
53
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold town alexandriaking streetboutique hotelsmall hotelcorner roommini barfavorite hotelthe entire staffvalet parkingstreet parkingroom was clean and comfortableshops and restaurantsdc areahappy hourfree trolleykimptonturndown
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 791 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I spent our first two nights as a married couple here, and we thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations! Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating, the room was large and beautiful, and we felt very pampered during our stay. It's centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, so take advantage of all there is to do and see while you're here! I can definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QuickWhitTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear WhitO,

Congratulations! We were so excited to be a part of such a special occasion. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and please let me know if you can make it back to celebrate next year!

Cheers,

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

When trying to find words to describe our stay at the Morrison House I can't find the perfect word.
Outstanding, Perfect, Unbelievable, Memorable are all words failing to pinpoint just how great our visit was.
From the moment we walked in the door we were greeted by Kate and her entire staff assembled to wish us a happy anniversary. The entire stay remained at that level of person service and attention.
Chef Gary was able to provide me with my personal favorite meal. Behind the bar, Grant took pride in his skills. We could name each staff member individually, everyone of them deserves kudos.
Our room was clean and comfortable and well maintained daily, no complaints at all.
Kate and her staff suggested dining spots that were excellent choices.
The one hesitation that we had prior to our visit was location since our trip was designed around touring D.C.. That was quickly answered by the free King Street trolley and the Metro system into the city. The trolley has limited, but reasonable, hours yet the walk to the Metro station was an easy 10 minutes.
Without a doubt, the next visit we make to that area, the Morrison House in Old Town will be the only choice of hotels.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a 5th floor room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHOPPERCAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Choppercam,

It was an absolute pleasure celebrating your anniversary with both of you. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we sincerely hope that we will see you again soon!

Best,

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

My husband and I visit Alexandria, VA, Old Town, several times a year to see our daughter and son-in-law. We usually stay at the Monaco but decided to stay at the Morrison House, another Kimpton Hotel, during our last visit. The Morrison House, which is well-located, is supposed to be a four-stay hotel but we didn't think so. We upgraded to a suite, which was spacious but lacked a full-length mirror. We asked for a mirror and were brought a wall mirror, not a full-length one, which they leaned against the wall. Apparently there wasn't a full-length mirror available, which made dressing difficult. The suite lacked natural light even though the weather was sunny and beautiful for the most part. In the bedroom, there was a nail sticking out of the wall, with nothing hanging on it, a real eyesore. The elevator could use sprucing up (major scratches on the walls). There was no wine reception on Saturday night because of a wedding.

We really like Kimpton hotels, for the most part, and were very disappointed with this one. Next time we'll go back to the Monaco.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LNG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear LNG7,

We were all so sorry to hear that we werent able to make your stay as exceptional as you have come to expect. We do hope that you will come back to visit any of the Kimpton Hotels in the area in the future and allow us to give you the best experience.

Best,

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I am going to echo some of the past reviews and highly recommend that when booking with this hotel, avoid the basement rooms. For $229, having a basement room is so not worth the money. When I reviewed this hotel last year, I had such a wonderful experience, but I was also on the upper floors. Due to my great experience, I was so excited to book this hotel for a couple vacation. This time around however, I too had a corner basement room and my fiance' and I were not totally happy when we discovered that our room was in the basement, but decided to give it a chance. On a Friday night, around 2AM, we awoke to moving chairs and loud noises from above. I complained to the front desk on Saturday morning and they assured me that the noise would not happen again. At around midnight on Saturday, we awoke to the same noise. Finally, I asked for another room, and they were accommodating and gave us a 5th floor room on our last night. For the amount of complaints the hotel has received regarding the basement rooms, I don't understand why the staff keeps on booking these rooms, especially when they know the room is right under the lounge/bar area. Overall, the rest of the staff is wonderful and the hotel is in a great location, just make sure you don't get stuck in the basement!

Room Tip: Don't book the basement rooms!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Dawn R,

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay. While we do have some rooms that are below the lobby level, our staff always does everything possible to honor requests made on reservations. I encourage anyone booking a reservation to consider the deluxe rooms which gurantee rooms on the top floors of the hotel. If you are in the area again, please feel free to give us a call and we would be happy to help with future reservations.

Best,

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had stayed here in August of 2013 and couldn't wait to stay again. We even got our same room as requested. Staff & amenities are top notch. Very convenient to everything. The bar does close rather early and on Saturday there was no wine reception as everything was closed due to a wedding. Other than that it was a wonderful stay and we look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Get the top floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7springstrinityfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear 7springstrinityfla,

Thank you so much for the repeat visit and review! We are always so happy to welcome back our loyal guests and help make great memories for special occasions. We would love to have you back for anniversaries, birthdays, Saturdays... all days!

Hope to see you again soon,

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews