We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel in Alexandria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Morrison House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Morrison House
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Northern New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem of a hotel in Alexandria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It has the feel of a home, and the staff work extra hard to make your stay comfortable. The wine reception features French wine and pastry. Very relaxed and friendly crowd mingle at the reception. A nice way to enjoy Alexandria. We shall definitely go back/

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth_D_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Kimpton Morrison House, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Elizabeth_D_L ,

Thank you for choosing the Morrison House and for your kind words. I’m thrilled that our hard work paid off and that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us.

Hope to see you soon,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    117
    34
    16
    11
See reviews for
80
308
60
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My stay at this hotel was limited to just one night but from what I experienced I would recommend Morrison House. First, it is located right in Old Town Alexandria, just steps from King Street and a short walk to the waterfront. My room was on the third floor located in the corner. The style of the room fit into the colonial era and was large enough to accommodate two people comfortably. The bathroom was good-sized, clean and updated. The staff was very accommodating when we requested to store our luggage on the day of our check out while we explored the city. The one con is that if you have a car you must use the valet as parking is limited. Join the Kimpton Hotel membership, which is free, to obtain discounts; I received a 20% discount on this room for my "birthday month".

Room Tip: There are no special views as the hotel is only about four stories high and located in the heart of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MEV61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Kimpton Morrison House, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear MEV61,

I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and for writing this kind review.
It is great to read that you were pleased with our central location in the heart of Old Town Alexandria and that our staff was very accommodating.
Thank you for being a loyal Kimpton In Touch member.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

As a former Alexandria, VA, resident, I never had reason to stay in Old Town. But on a recent visit for my friends' wedding, I chose to stay at The Morrison House and really enjoyed my time there. I was pleasantly surprised with an upgraded room, which was filled with beautiful mahogany furniture and perfectly comfortable. The furniture throughout the hotel reflected a classic elegance, and I enjoyed spending time in the library and living room. The wine hour was an added benefit, as was the welcoming cookie and note upon arrival in my room. The hotel is well situated for exploring Old Town and walking to the waterfront. Overall, it was a wonderful stay, and I would definitely stay there again should the opportunity arise.

Room Tip: I recommend rooms on higher floors, as there's no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOE1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Kimpton Morrison House, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hello MOE1229,

Welcome home to the beautiful Old Town Alexandria. I’m excited and thankful that you picked us for your recent stay. I’m glad that we were able to upgrade your room and that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Please come back soon,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and everything was pretty close to perfect. We paid $220+tax, which I thought was a fair price for the product they offer. Staff was good at anticipating needs and friendly and helpful (they weren't pretentious or fake-acting, a pet-peeve of mine). Very customer-service oriented. Best continental breakfast I've ever had (free). Room was relatively small, bathroom was a little worn, but clean and very quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidavouq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Kimpton Morrison House, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Sidavouq,

Thank you for choosing the Morrison House and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. I’m glad that you overall had a great experience with us and that everything was close to perfect. I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back for a perfect stay next time around.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is in the middle of Old Towne which is a wonderful little town. This is our second stay there. It is a small hotel, very intimate . When you arrive in your room, there is a handwritten note from the hotel along with fresh baked cookies. If you forget toiletries, they have an extensive list of toiletries they will provide you. Terrific rooms, a little small, but more than adequate. At night they turn the bed down and bring ice for your bucket. They have wine free between 5-6 for guests. This is a hidden gem, we love it there, and Old Towne is wonderful, and great proximity to DC. Also, they have a doorman who opens the door for you when you come in and out of the hotel. Classy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LongIslandGiirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Kimpton Morrison House, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear LongIslandGiirl,

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review and for staying with us.
I appreciate that you noticed the little touches such the personalized welcome note and the freshly baked cookies with our turn down service. The entire team cannot wait to open the doors for you again when you return for the third time.

Sincerely,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plainfield
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We totally enjoyed our stay here at the Morrison!! The staff was great as always at the Kimpton Properties. It was in a quiet area of old town but was convenient to everything. We had a staff that was very informative and welcoming. This hotel really isn't setup for Children but it is a historical gem to stay. I would recommend this hotel to all for a get-a-way weekend as we spent this past.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Kimpton Morrison House, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear John F,

Thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent experience at the Morrison House and I’m thankful for your loyalty to Kimpton. Please come back and see us again soon!

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here in late Sept and used it as a base to visit Wash DC. We appreciated the shuttle from Reagan National and were greeted warmly by the staff. It was late Sat PM when we got in and we got one of the basement rooms, felt like a cave. No view as you are partially below ground level. We requested to change rooms that night but they were booked solid. The desk clerk made note of our request and called about 9:30 AM the next day and told us we had a room now on the 3rd floor. Huge improvement and a great room on the corner. Comfy bed and nice amenities, including turndown service. Old Town Alexandria is right there with wonderful restaurants and shops. We took a boat ride to Georgetown the first day. Next 3 days we walked about ten minutes to take the Metro to into DC. It was nice at the end of the day to return to the hotel and be greeted by the staff, like being in a B&B. We felt this was a great choice and like a bonus to our DC trip by seeing Old Town. Don't miss Murphy's Irish Pub or Theisman's by the metro station. We got a wonderful rate for the hotel thru AAA.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PK49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Kimpton Morrison House, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear PK49,

Thank you for choosing the Morrison House and thank you for your review.
It is good to see that you took advantage of our complementary shuttle service from and to Reagan National airport and that our driver started your experience of with a warm welcome.
I’m glad that we were able to upgrade you to one of our deluxe rooms on a higher floor and that you overall enjoyed your experience with us.

Please come back to see us again soon,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#8 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Morrison House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Morrison House

Property: Kimpton Morrison House
Address: 116 S Alfred St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3002 (Formerly Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#23 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Morrison House 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, Kimpton Morrison House is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named Kimpton Morrison House one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation's capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. On-site restaurant, Ashlar, named as a nod to Alexandria's rich Masonic history, is a warm and timeless spot with polished, engaging hospitality and a well-appointed bar room. Under the helm of Chef Bobby Surdam the kitchen offers tavern classics rooted in the bounty of the Mid-Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Morrison House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing