We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Morrison House, Autograph Collection
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$168
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$188
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$110
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$171
$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$204
$169
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$198
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Alexandria Old Town(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$197
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$227
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Old Colony Inn Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$149
$127
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
771 results
Traveler rating
535
148
50
21
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
148
50
21
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold town alexandriaking streetboutique hotelkimpton hotelssmall hotelhandwritten notewine receptioncorner roommini barthe entire staffvalet parkingfavorite hotelwine hourwonderful hotelking roomstreet parkingshops and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 771 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

From the friendly welcome by the valet at our arrival to the friendly greeting at breakfast, Morrison House exemplifies the best in personal service. Every staff member from reception to housekeeping made us feel special---they seemed to like their jobs and their visitors---how refreshing! Our room was lovely with an oh-so-comfortable four poster bed, soft bathrobes and a well-stocked mini-bar. Everything shone with cleanliness. The location in Old Town is perfect, close enough to enjoy all the restaurants and shops, but not on a busy street. In the evening, we discovered the hotel's hidden jewel of a piano bar with open-mike performers who rivaled their Broadway counterparts. We'll definitely return.

Room Tip: We were on a higher floor which was excellent and the elevator was quick!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Julianne G,

Thank you for choosing the Morrison House and thank you for taking the time to write this review.
I’m thrilled that you had such an awesome experience with us. Our team genuinely cares about the comfort of each and every guest and we are looking forward to welcome you back.

Yours,

Tobias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Morrison House was amazing—wonderful room, lovely amenities, and pleasant, helpful staff. Great location right off the main street in Old Town Alexandria. Fabulous stay. Hope we can do it again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Coolcopygirl,

I’m excited that you had such a great time at the Morrison House.
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words! We hope to see you again very soon.

Yours,

Tobias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Greeted by friendly staff and attractive public rooms, the Morrison House is a great aspiration all hotel that provides comfortable accommodations. The Carlyle it is not, but for the price and location, is is very civilized. A smallish hotel / largish bed & breakfast with a private home feel. Thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Hello Jim S,

I’m thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience.

Sincerely,

Tobias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Love, Love, Love the Morrison House and it's Location! As you arrive you feel like you are a house guest of this beautiful colonial home. A friendly doorman greets you and you don't need to lift a finger. All staff is very eager to assist you. Not your typical downtown hotel. The Morrison House is tucked away but, the location is perfect for experiencing Old Town on foot. Close to shops, restaurants and beautiful sites. Coffee in the morning and a glass of wine in the afternoon doesn't get better than that. The rooms are lovely, comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Sharon M,

You love the Morrison House and we love having you as our guest!
Thank you for the glowing review!

Please come back to see us again soon,

Tobias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a lovely boutique hotel with a terrific location that has all of the charm of a colonial home and wonderful service, as befitting a Kimpton property. It is much nicer in every way than the much busier factory that they own down the street in the Hotel Monaco. The furnishings are nice, the bedding is very comfortable (with the exception of very hard pillows), the room is very clean and quiet, and the little restaurant & bar is lovely. The only downsides are: (1) there is no gym, and the one to which guests have access in the Hotel Monaco is hardly worth the name as the equipment selection is so sparse; and (2) the karoke in the Morrison little bar at night completely overwhelms the ambiance; it seems planned and is very loud, and since the bar area is very intimate, it obliterates any opportunity for guests to have a nice time there - which is ok as it is very overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvorac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Hello islands4321,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location and that you found our service to be wonderful. It would be great if we could accommodate an on property gym at our hotel.
It looks like you did not enjoy our open mike night that much. Don’t forget that we only have live entertainment like that a couple of nights each week and only during particular hours. You should try our fantastic restaurant if you travels bring you back to our area!

Thanks again,

Tobias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews