We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Morrison House, Autograph Collection
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
1 review
“A Gem in Old Town”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Morrison House was amazing—wonderful room, lovely amenities, and pleasant, helpful staff. Great location right off the main street in Old Town Alexandria. Fabulous stay. Hope we can do it again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Coolcopygirl,

I’m excited that you had such a great time at the Morrison House.
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words! We hope to see you again very soon.

Yours,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    135
    42
    20
    15
See reviews for
90
333
61
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Greeted by friendly staff and attractive public rooms, the Morrison House is a great aspiration all hotel that provides comfortable accommodations. The Carlyle it is not, but for the price and location, is is very civilized. A smallish hotel / largish bed & breakfast with a private home feel. Thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello Jim S,

I’m thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience.

Sincerely,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Love, Love, Love the Morrison House and it's Location! As you arrive you feel like you are a house guest of this beautiful colonial home. A friendly doorman greets you and you don't need to lift a finger. All staff is very eager to assist you. Not your typical downtown hotel. The Morrison House is tucked away but, the location is perfect for experiencing Old Town on foot. Close to shops, restaurants and beautiful sites. Coffee in the morning and a glass of wine in the afternoon doesn't get better than that. The rooms are lovely, comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Sharon M,

You love the Morrison House and we love having you as our guest!
Thank you for the glowing review!

Please come back to see us again soon,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a lovely boutique hotel with a terrific location that has all of the charm of a colonial home and wonderful service, as befitting a Kimpton property. It is much nicer in every way than the much busier factory that they own down the street in the Hotel Monaco. The furnishings are nice, the bedding is very comfortable (with the exception of very hard pillows), the room is very clean and quiet, and the little restaurant & bar is lovely. The only downsides are: (1) there is no gym, and the one to which guests have access in the Hotel Monaco is hardly worth the name as the equipment selection is so sparse; and (2) the karoke in the Morrison little bar at night completely overwhelms the ambiance; it seems planned and is very loud, and since the bar area is very intimate, it obliterates any opportunity for guests to have a nice time there - which is ok as it is very overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvorac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello islands4321,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location and that you found our service to be wonderful. It would be great if we could accommodate an on property gym at our hotel.
It looks like you did not enjoy our open mike night that much. Don’t forget that we only have live entertainment like that a couple of nights each week and only during particular hours. You should try our fantastic restaurant if you travels bring you back to our area!

Thanks again,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We just spent 14 days at the Morrison House - from the minute you walk in you realize this is no ordinary hotel. The staff is amazing. They are extremely friendly and there to help you with every need. There is wonderful coffee served in the parlor every morning. You can drink it in the parlor or take it back to your room. Every evening they serve wine in the parlor from 5-6 pm. The rooms are very comfortable and the housekeeping staff does a great job keeping them clean - including a bed turn down and chocolates on the pillow every night. There are many wonderful restaurants within walking distance. We can honestly say we never had a bad meal in Alexandria. The hotel is located a half of block off King St where there is a free trolley that runs 11:30 am to 10:00 pm every day. The metro is eight blocks away and the waterfront is eight block in the opposite direction. It's an easy 10 minute walk to either location or you can take the trolley. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and we definately plan on staying there again.

Room Tip: AAA and AARP members get a discount.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally conscience. In addition to recycling, they really abide by your wishes regarding changing bed linens and towels.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary and Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Gary and Lynn K,

Thank you for your great feedback! We are excited that you chose the Morrison House for your home away from home.
It means a lot to our entire team that we were able to make your 14 days with us as comfortable as possible.
We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to Old Town Alexandria and to the Morrison House.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were delighted with the location--right on the self-guided walking tour recommended in the AAA Virginia guide book and close to the waterfront. We met friendly and interesting people at the manager's wine reception and also around the coffee urns in the morning. At check-in we were surprised to be told that we were being given an upgrade because a better room was available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello Gordon J,

It is great to hear that you were delighted with our central location and that you found the recommendation in the AAA Virginia guide book to be spot on. Isn’t it great if you end up being the lucky one that gets upgraded?
Thanks for staying with us and thank you for this kind review.

Sincerely,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

A great hotel with excellent service. Our deluxe suite was of a high standard with air conditioning, a comfortable high king size bed, en-suite bathroom and a lounge where my son slept on a comfortable roll away bed. A good size suite for 2 adults and a teenager. The breakfast, which was not included in the room rate, was exceptional (including the service of the staff) and our favourite was the buttermilk pancakes with maple syrup and a side of Canadian bacon. We would defiantly use this hotel again.
A lovely first stay in Alexandria within 20 minutes of DC. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Jo C,

I’m thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your recent experience with us and that our deluxe suite worked well for all of you.
I have to admit that I had the buttermilk pancakes myself and they are indeed extremely yummy!
We are looking forward to welcome you back to the Morrison House and our beautiful city in the near future.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,246 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrison House, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, Autograph Collection

Property: Morrison House, Autograph Collection
Address: 116 S Alfred St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3002 (Formerly Morrison House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#23 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, Morrison House, Autograph Collection is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named Morrison House, Autograph Collection one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation's capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. On-site restaurant, Ashlar, named as a nod to Alexandria's rich Masonic history, is a warm and timeless spot with polished, engaging hospitality and a well-appointed bar room. Under the helm of Chef Bobby Surdam the kitchen offers tavern classics rooted in the bounty of the Mid-Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morrison House, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing