We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Morrison House, Autograph Collection
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a lovely boutique hotel with a terrific location that has all of the charm of a colonial home and wonderful service, as befitting a Kimpton property. It is much nicer in every way than the much busier factory that they own down the street in the Hotel Monaco. The furnishings are nice, the bedding is very comfortable (with the exception of very hard pillows), the room is very clean and quiet, and the little restaurant & bar is lovely. The only downsides are: (1) there is no gym, and the one to which guests have access in the Hotel Monaco is hardly worth the name as the equipment selection is so sparse; and (2) the karoke in the Morrison little bar at night completely overwhelms the ambiance; it seems planned and is very loud, and since the bar area is very intimate, it obliterates any opportunity for guests to have a nice time there - which is ok as it is very overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvorac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Hello islands4321,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location and that you found our service to be wonderful. It would be great if we could accommodate an on property gym at our hotel.
It looks like you did not enjoy our open mike night that much. Don’t forget that we only have live entertainment like that a couple of nights each week and only during particular hours. You should try our fantastic restaurant if you travels bring you back to our area!

Thanks again,

Tobias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 741 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

We just spent 14 days at the Morrison House - from the minute you walk in you realize this is no ordinary hotel. The staff is amazing. They are extremely friendly and there to help you with every need. There is wonderful coffee served in the parlor every morning. You can drink it in the parlor or take it back to your room. Every evening they serve wine in the parlor from 5-6 pm. The rooms are very comfortable and the housekeeping staff does a great job keeping them clean - including a bed turn down and chocolates on the pillow every night. There are many wonderful restaurants within walking distance. We can honestly say we never had a bad meal in Alexandria. The hotel is located a half of block off King St where there is a free trolley that runs 11:30 am to 10:00 pm every day. The metro is eight blocks away and the waterfront is eight block in the opposite direction. It's an easy 10 minute walk to either location or you can take the trolley. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and we definately plan on staying there again.

Room Tip: AAA and AARP members get a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary and Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Gary and Lynn K,

Thank you for your great feedback! We are excited that you chose the Morrison House for your home away from home.
It means a lot to our entire team that we were able to make your 14 days with us as comfortable as possible.
We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to Old Town Alexandria and to the Morrison House.

Respectfully,

Tobias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were delighted with the location--right on the self-guided walking tour recommended in the AAA Virginia guide book and close to the waterfront. We met friendly and interesting people at the manager's wine reception and also around the coffee urns in the morning. At check-in we were surprised to be told that we were being given an upgrade because a better room was available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hello Gordon J,

It is great to hear that you were delighted with our central location and that you found the recommendation in the AAA Virginia guide book to be spot on. Isn’t it great if you end up being the lucky one that gets upgraded?
Thanks for staying with us and thank you for this kind review.

Sincerely,

Tobias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

A great hotel with excellent service. Our deluxe suite was of a high standard with air conditioning, a comfortable high king size bed, en-suite bathroom and a lounge where my son slept on a comfortable roll away bed. A good size suite for 2 adults and a teenager. The breakfast, which was not included in the room rate, was exceptional (including the service of the staff) and our favourite was the buttermilk pancakes with maple syrup and a side of Canadian bacon. We would defiantly use this hotel again.
A lovely first stay in Alexandria within 20 minutes of DC. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Jo C,

I’m thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your recent experience with us and that our deluxe suite worked well for all of you.
I have to admit that I had the buttermilk pancakes myself and they are indeed extremely yummy!
We are looking forward to welcome you back to the Morrison House and our beautiful city in the near future.

Respectfully,

Tobias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed one night, August 30, 2013. Hotel is extremely clean, convenient to Washington, DC and Old Alexandria, VA. Staff couldn't have been more nice and accommodating. We were greeted by a staff member who parked our vehicle in the underground garage. BTW, vehicles are very safe and secure. Only staff members can enter the garage. Primary purpose of trip was to bicycle ride around Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area. Hotel even locked our bikes for the night in a room in the underground garage. We were allowed to keep our vehicle parked until we return the next day from riding. We were also allowed to clean up and change clothes even though we had already checked out.

Room Tip: Hotel is pet-friendly, so beware that you may have some barking dogs. We booked this room from Trav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lastrayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hello lastrayer,

I wanted to take a moment to thank you for your recent stay with us. What an awesome idea to use the Morrison House and our central location as your home base for your bicycle trips around DC. I hope you made it to Mount Vernon as this is such a beautiful ride!
Don’t forget that we have a complementary bike program at our hotel if you don’t feel like bringing your own bikes next time.

Thanks for the great feedback!

Tobias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is more traditional than one would expect from the Kimpton brand, but you'll still find exceptional service and design. The room was charming with its four-poster bed and faux fireplace, and the antique feel was balanced with a few modern Kimpton touches. The staff went above and beyond to help us celebrate a birthday with style, and we enjoyed every minute of our long weekend. You'll feel like family every time the doorman greets you while coming and going. The location is perfect to explore Old Town Alexandria shops and restaurants, so bring your walking shoes and an empty stomach.

The only strange moment was visiting the hotel bar for a 10pm nightcap to find a group enthusiastically singing along to a small band playing "hits" from Barry Manilow and the Carpenters. Say what?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArlingtonTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear ArlingtonTravels,

Thank you for choosing the Morrison House for your birthday weekend. It means a lot to us to see that our team went above and beyond to make your birthday celebration a special one. I’m glad that you enjoyed the more traditional feel of our hotel combined with exceptional service and some modern touches.

Please come back to visit us again soon,

Tobias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a few days at the property. This is a charming boutique hotel in a great location..close to everything in the very walkable Old Town. The staff is extremely service oriented, professional and took the extra steps to insure our comfort. Room was well appointed and the Kimpton Style bed was what the doctor ordered for a great night's sleep. We're looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truepleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear truepleasure,

I like to take this opportunity to thank you and your wife for choosing the Morrison House and for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Yours,

Tobias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,309 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrison House, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, Autograph Collection

Address: 116 S Alfred St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3002 (Formerly Morrison House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#23 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $160 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, Morrison House, Autograph Collection is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named Morrison House, Autograph Collection one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation's capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. On-site restaurant, Ashlar, named as a nod to Alexandria's rich Masonic history, is a warm and timeless spot with polished, engaging hospitality and a well-appointed bar room. Under the helm of Chef Bobby Surdam the kitchen offers tavern classics rooted in the bounty of the Mid-Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morrison House, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing