We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Morrison House, Autograph Collection
Nearby Hotels
$112
$105
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$123
$116
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$100
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$89
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$119
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Alexandria Old Town(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$111
$98
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Old Colony Inn Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$89
$80
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (782)
Filter reviews
782 results
Traveler rating
540
150
52
21
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
540
150
52
21
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold town alexandriaking streetboutique hotelkimpton hotelssmall hotelhandwritten notewine receptioncorner roommini barfavorite hotelthe entire staffvalet parkingwonderful hoteleach eveningking roomstreet parkingshops and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
383 - 388 of 782 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Positive: The staff is amazing. I mean amazing. The entire team is friendly, efficient, thoughtful, and just all around great at their jobs. The location is super convenient and in the heart of Old Town. Complimentary airport shuttle as well.
Neutral: The building itself is charming. Do not expect modern and new, but rather well-preserved and quaint. Very nice Federal–style architecture.
Negative: None.

Sometimes you meet a hotel team that is so welcoming and professional that they make you feel at home. This is what happens at the Morrison House.

Room Tip: I was given a corner room on the top floor with a gorgeous view of the George Washington Masonic Memorial during sunset. Amazing.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFOPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear mirandajjl,

Thank you for the wonderful review and for choosing to stay at the Morrison House. I appreciate the nice comments about our staff, your guest rooms and our unique style. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I’m happy to read that we made you feel at home. I hope we have the opportunity to see you again soon.

Tobias Arff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a anniversary get-away for one night. The hotel staff went out of their way to make it a completely enjoyable from the moment we arrived at the door until the minute we drove away. They provided a beautiful room, provided a complementary bottle of wine, turned down the covers while we were out for dinner, and stowed our bags at the front desk while we stepped out for breakfast.

The hotel is right off King's St and the perfect location to stroll through Old Town. The hotel was easy to get to. If I have one critical comment, it would be that the parking fee ($25) was a bit much, but it was a wash when we looked at parking further away and then taking a taxi. If you can avoid the fee for a car you won't use while in Alexandria, do it.

The great surprise of the evening was in The Grille restaurant/bar after spending most of the night out. There was an informal group of folks singing songs with the jazz duo (piano and trumpet). The singing talent was truly impressive and the atmosphere made the night for us.

Room Tip: Room 512 (or other corner rooms, have two walls of windows and great views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garykramlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear garykramlich,

Happy Anniversary from everyone at the Morrison House and thank you for staying with us.
I’m happy to read that you enjoyed your room our service and our awesome piano bar. I’m glad that my team surprised you with a little amenity to celebrate your special occasion. Hopefully we'll see you for your next anniversary.

Tobias Arff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a small, intimate hotel/Inn in the heart of Old Towne Alexandria. It has a very historic, residential feel and they have done a great job of creating a peaceful environment - elegant sitting areas, classical music, friendly staff - you get the picture. The rooms are small, but comfortable and nicely appointed. There is a cozy bar with a friendly bar tender and they have an elegant restuarant with high quality food. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Basement rooms are a good value, and perfectly fine for 1-2 guests
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venturer2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear venturer2009,

I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took advantage of our great restaurant the Grill. I hope you also had the chance to check out our piano bar. I suggest that you treat yourself to one of our deluxe king rooms or even a suite to get some extra space the next time you are in town. Please don’t tell anybody but they are actually not that much more expensive.

Thanks for the great feedback,

Tobias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

From the minute we walked in we felt like we where not only welcome but also that they wanted us there. The general manager greeted us and everyone we encountered as far as the staff, we're wonderful.
We dined in the restaraunt the first night and that was very nice the food was great and the service was perfect. We will go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank innkeepercg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear innkeepercg,

Thank you for this great feedback. I’m glad that I had the opportunity to personally welcome you that you enjoyed your recent experience with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Thanks again,

Tobias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My beautiful bride and I were married at Morrison House on Feb 9th 2013. We wanted an elegant, intimate affair for 20 guests and we couldn't have chosen a better location. Sara and Anne in catering were fantastic from the very start and all the other staff we're detailed and responsive. We stayed in a suite Rm 509 and were greeted with freshly baked cookies and a card. The suite itself was well appointed and quite roomy with a seperate sitting area. If you're a foodie do consider The Grille, which is really quite good, preparing locally sourced ingredients with an obvious attention to detail. All in all Morrison House feels more like a grand manor house rather than a hotel. It's elegant, sophisticated and charming, befitting the character of Old Town.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Colin M,

Congratulations to a beautiful couple. Wishing you a wonderful journey as you build your new life together.
We hope to welcome you back to the Morrison House for your anniversary. It would be my pleasure to assist you in the planning.

Sincerely,

Tobias Arff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews