We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST place to stay in Alexandria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Morrison House, Autograph Collection
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Southern Shores, North Carolina
Level Contributor
179 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The BEST place to stay in Alexandria”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We always stay here when we are in town. This hotel has it all; valet parking, dining room, bar, up-dated rooms,and a fantastic staff. The Piano Bar is always a "hoot"; lots of very talented locals on scene (Washington Opera). We love the location, the staff and the attention to detail.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear john b,

I like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words and for your loyalty to the Morrison House.
Your friends at the Morrison House are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    132
    42
    19
    14
See reviews for
89
332
61
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
140 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The property

A purpose built block just off the busy King Street in Alexandria. The entrance is a pretty double staircase with a fountain. The block is about 20 years or more old, and beginning to look a little worn around the edges, but not unpleasantly so. Well located with lots of little restaurants and cafes within a few minutes walk.

The room

I had a corner queen. About 120 square feet. Carpets quite thin and worn. A biggish TV (obscure controls) well placed in front of the bed. The windows opened, but the background roar of neighbouring aircon plant made doing this unpleasant. The room had no kettle (housekeeping did not even know what a kettle was, but sent a sort of drip coffee making machine which made my tea taste of old coffee). Free internet, but you have to sign up to Kimpton’s mailing list which triggers a deluge of irritating mails.

The bed

A good quality true double, but a bit tired (squeaking springs). Good cotton linens. Sleep quality was OK, if a bit stuffy because it is too noisy to open the windows.

The bathroom

Decent sized bathroom with a larger than average bath and shower over.


Ambient noise

Medium to high. No traffic noise, but constant loud mechanical noise from neighbouring aircon units.

Overall

At $200 for a night this felt like an OK deal to me. I was given a $10 minibar voucher at checkin, but bottled water is $10 a litre, making the good feeling go away pretty quickly.

Room Tip: Room 512 is a corner room which looks out over half a dozen "always on" aircon units in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coltbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Coltbridge,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I have to admit that I’m a little bit disappointed that your experience was ok but not perfect.
It is very rare that we get feedback on the noise level at our hotel and I apologize for the inconvenience this might have caused you.
I’m very excited to share with you that we are in the process of replacing all windows in the hotel. Three out of our five floors have already been completed and this major project will continue to help us in our quest of providing the best night’s sleep in Old Town Alexandria.
The corner queen room you stayed in is 208 sq ft large while our King Deluxe rooms and deluxe suites are larger.
Please contact me directly if your travels bring you back into our area. I would like to personally assist you with your room assignment and I will ensure that your next stay with us will be perfect.

Thanks again for your important feedback and Happy Holidasys,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I spent Hurricane Sandy holed up in this hotel and it turned out to be my favorite hotel and experience of my entire trip, and not just because they never lost power!
I'd stayed at Westin and Renaissance before coming here and this one blew the others away. The front desk staff, the waiters, room service - all were top notch. It was honestly one of the classiest hotels I've ever stayed at. Location was great, in Old Town Alexandria, just off of King Street. I was really impressed how calm and courteous the employees were, though they must have been a little worried about their own homes and families with the storm approaching. I also know they were asked the same questions over & over, yet they always were patient and the most gracious hosts ever. They had taken all the precautions possible, they have a generator, they were out checking the storm drains and exterior. Prior to getting there I was worried about the storm and feeling really vulnerable, but they took all that worry away. I felt cared for.
The restaurant was great, especially the waiter at breakfast time! He must have been a British butler in a previous life!
The beds were great, the hotel was quiet. Amenities were top notch. They allow pets there and I never heard one nor did I encounter any tell-tale pet smells. They do everything well here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank why_pack_light?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear why_pack_light?,

Thank you very much for your awesome feedback. I’m glad that your enjoyed your recent experience with us. It means a lot to us that your stay at the Morrison House was your favorite of your entire trip.
It will be my pleasure to share your fantastic comments with my entire team and in particular with John our British breakfast server.

Happy Holidays,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for business. I really enjoyed it. The room was very clean and the air was fresh. The staff was friendly and helpful and efficient. There are a lot of restaurants and bars within walking distance and its about a 10-15 minute car ride from DCA airport. There is also some really nice stores close by. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetKamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hellos JanetKamil,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent experience with us and I like to thank you for your review. I’m glad that you enjoyed our convenient location and that you felt our team was friendly and helpful.

We hope to welcome you back soon,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed for business, and couldn't be happier. Location is within walking distance of everything in Old Town. Wine reception at night is low key and enjoyable, held is beautifully appointed front parlor and library. Piano bar is small and intimate, a wonderful way to spend the evening. Staff is best point about the hotel - extremely willing to please in every way. This is my new always-stay-here hotel for all business in Washington!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mfsylvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Mfsylvester,

We are thrilled to be you new “Always-stay-here hotel for all business in Washington”.
Thank you so much for the kind comments about our team. It means a lot to us.

Hope to welcome you back soon,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stay at the Morrison House about 3 times a year as a weekend getaway, and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else - the entire staff is welcoming and genuine, and truly goes out of their way to make certain you enjoy your stay. The location is perfect for a walking weekend in Old Town, and despite all of the restaurants and night spots in close proximity, we find we'd rather spend the evening in the hotel's bar. I actually hesitate even sharing this, I don't want to spoil our little secret! Kimpton, you have a primo staff at the Morrison House - whatever you're doing, don't change a thing!

Room Tip: Two-room suites are wonderful for winter/poor weather stays, plenty of space to enjoy in room dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padstow99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear padstow99,

Thank you for sharing your little secret with some other travelers. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if there is anything I can assist you with in the future.
Thank you for your loyalty!

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This quiet, beautiful building, in a quiet corner of old Alexandria, was the beginning of a warm, welcoming, and comfortable experience. Jose greeted us at the gate, the desk staff welcomed us by name and then Jose escorted us to our room. Once in the room, Jose checked to make sure everything was working, convenient, and fulfilled our needs. Our room was lovely, homey and well appointed with very comfortable furniture and large wonderful bed. Later, each time my husband and I appeared in the main hall, we were greeted by name and any service we required was delivered with ease and grace. We highly recommend this gem of a hotel and have already told our friends. What a find. P.S. We would not have known about your hotel without the recommendation of our friends, Harriet and Dick Larsen of 319 S. St. Asaph St. Alexandria. Sincerely, Margaret W. Plum, Boston

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Margaret P,

First of all thank you to your local friends for recommending our hotel. I’m extremely happy that you enjoyed your experience and that Jose had such a positive impact on your stay.
I really appreciate you taking the time to write this kind review and all of us at the Morrison House are looking forward to welcome you back.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrison House, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, Autograph Collection

Property: Morrison House, Autograph Collection
Address: 116 S Alfred St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3002 (Formerly Morrison House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#23 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, Morrison House, Autograph Collection is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named Morrison House, Autograph Collection one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation's capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. On-site restaurant, Ashlar, named as a nod to Alexandria's rich Masonic history, is a warm and timeless spot with polished, engaging hospitality and a well-appointed bar room. Under the helm of Chef Bobby Surdam the kitchen offers tavern classics rooted in the bounty of the Mid-Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Morrison House, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing