We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doubt there is a better hotel in Alexandria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
280 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Doubt there is a better hotel in Alexandria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

Trendy decor. Friendly staff. Great location. Clean rooms. Excellent facilities for on-site meetings. What else is there to say?

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adharris0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    431
    102
    33
    21
See reviews for
391
596
100
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Welove the Kimpton chain and always choose to stay in a Kimpton when we can. the design is always modern and the interiour decorater adds all the right touches. The wine reception is always grat, always good wines at the kimpton and nice to meet other guests and their dogs. The rooms are large amd beds very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theredcentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Dear theredcentre,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and our brand. I'm also very happy that you made it to our signature Wine Hour; we recently featured a beautiful Shiraz from Alice Springs, so we'll make sure we've got some ready for your next visit!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Alexandria - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We came to Alexandria for a long relaxing weekend and Hotel Monaco was a perfect addition to that. Hotel Monaco is located on King street, which is the main street of Alexandria. King street is lined with shops, restaruants, and services that will keep your days busy. The staff at Hotel Monaco was extremely accomodating and helpful. The rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable. Hotel Monaco upholds Kimpton standards and it was evident! I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeachMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Luxurious rooms in the center of Old Town, walking distance to great food/ shopping. The hotel restaurant is top notch. We had a little glitch with hot water the morning we were departing and they graciously waived the breakfast charge as a courtesy / apology. Wine reception is great people watching, some with pets. It's a dog friendly hotel but there is nothing to suggest that in the quality of the rooms.

I do resent paying $11 a day for internet access when it is free at the budget hotels. Why is this?

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed at the Monaco only for one night but had a great stay. The area around the hotel was full of restaurants and antique stores. The room faced the courtyard and had a table and chairs but the cold kept us inside. The bed was great and the room was large and clean. We always love the 5 pm wine tasting. We would like to go back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

I expect a lot from Kimpton Hotels. I started staying in them in Seattle 11 years ago and they were great. I really loved the Hotel Monaco- everything about it was awesome especially their pet policy. Something has been lost as they have expanded. About a year ago I stayed at a Kimpton Hotel in Arlington. The service was terrible. I decided to try Hotel Monaco with the hopes it would live up to my memories of the one in Seattle. It didn't. The rooms were dark (6th floor). The staff knows this so why not change it? The relaxing wine reception was a mob scene. They should require or accomodate large busniess groups use a separate room. It was like a tacky convention- complete with men wearing their animal print bathrobes. They ran out ofchilled wine because the convention was chugging it like water. They ran out of coffee in the morning. The lobby was filled with convention folks eating their box breakfasts in every available chair.

The stay was completed when a staff member nearly took my Mother out as she boarded the elevator. When I complained they did apologize. Thats when I realized the guy that apologized was the one that nearly knocked her over. He didn't admit this but the name tags seem to match - he was a MANAGER!!!!!!!!!!!

The positives were cleanliness, comfortable bed, and quiet hallways. But this should be expected. The negatives were too great to ignore. I am so sad that my favorite hotel chain is has fallen so far. Better comfort and service at the big chains lately- that is where I will stay in the DC area from now on.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Navyspouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria, responded to this review, January 23, 2011
Dear Navyspouse,

I was truly disappointed to read about your experience with us. All the more so that you had previous stays at other properties were disappointing. While what you experienced hasn't been the norm for our environment or service, it seems like we certainly let you down. I'd welcome to opportunity to work on restoring your trust in our property and the Kimpton brand. Please feel free in contacting me at the hotel at your convenience. Thanks again for your feedback and I hope to speak with you soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Alexandria - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

This is the 2nd time we've been to this hotel and we have loved it both times! The staff is just fabulous, from the doormen to the maids to the desk personnel, they were all very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is great---it's amongst a bunch of great shops, terrific restaurants, beautiful residential architecture and it's also very near the waterfront which has wonderful walking paths. I very highly recommend this hotel to everyone---especially to people with dogs, as this is a very dog-friendly hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cms27703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Kimpton Morrison House
#14 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Address: 480 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC's many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing