We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely fabulous experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 14, 2010

If staying in Old Alexandria isn't enough, the warm, friendly atmsophere was amplified by the staff at the Monaco. We reserved a terrace balcony room and the accomodations were wonderful. But again, all the comfort, space, and luxury is nothing if the service isn't there. My wife and i felt like royalty, the service was that good. We stayed over a weekend and as one might expect, there were weddings. While the band played into the late evening, my wife and I sat on our room balcony as "uninvited guests, enjoying the music and the night air, not to mention each other's company. I highly recommend this hotel, especially if you're particular about service, cleanliness and a cheerful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdj44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2010

Dear FDJ44,

Thank you for joining us! We're thrilled you had a good time and I agree that our Monte Carlo Room balconies offer some of the best people watching in Old Town. We recently celebrated our wonderful Housekeeping Team during International Housekeeping Appreciation Week and capped it off with our annual Housekeeping Olympics, featuring friendly competition between the local housekeeping staffs in our courtyard. All of our guests in the room that you stayed in sat on the balcony to watch, it was like being at a sports stadium! They truly enjoyed it and so did we. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Alexandria - a Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,809)
There are newer reviews for The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,568 - 1,574 of 1,809 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2010

This hotel offers comfortable rooms at a fair price. They have attendants at the front entry to welcome you and open the door. A classy touch. The wine hour in the lobby was a treat- they weren't necessarily serving top notch wines, but all the same it is also a nice touch. We needed to call the front desk for internet (free by the way) and the staff was friendly and helpful. Beautiful indoor pool (no jacuzzi) Small gym, but nobody else was there so it was fine. There were headphones available for use on the equipment, no charge for that either. It also had two large bathrooms with showers attached. Another extra touch to their workout room was a bowl of fresh fruit! Definitely something you won't find at your typical "H" type chain hotels. Nicely appointed rooms with cozy robes in the closet. We took the recommendations of other guest reviewers and requested the 3rd floor as we are not animal/pet travelers and it was perfect. We would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank happy-mama-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2010

Dear Happy-Mamma-H,

Thank you for joining us at the Hotel Monaco Alexandria. I truly appreciate your feedback, it sounds like you had a chance to really check us out. Our Wine Hour is a signature Kimpton amenity, it's served daily from 5pm - 6pm and is hosted by our managers. We really like it because it gives us a chance to interact with our guests in a comfortable setting. All of our wines are selected by Emily Wines, Kimpton's Master Sommelier. They are carefully chosen for a special quality; organic, small vintner, family owned, etc. We like having our partners share the same desire to offer our guests an interesting option. I also want to thank you for your feedback about our team; they're the engine of our success at the Monaco Alexandria. Thank you again for your feedback and for your next visit, please consider one of the following rooms - Mediterranean Suite, Loft Suite, King Premier Room. All of them feature our great Fuji soaking tubs.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Alexandria - a Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We lived in the area for many years and were making a return to experience one of our favorite areas (Old Town Alexandria). I knew there was a hotel right in the middle of the area so used my GPS to locate what I thought to be another hotel but could only find the Hotel Monaco – never heard of it. We took a chance and booked a room for three nights. We were delighted with the friendliness, cleanliness, service, décor, and more. The free one hour wine gathering for all was really a nice touch too. The chain is “Kimpton” and they market themselves as a “boutique” hotel chain. It’s our intent to search them out on future travels to other geographies. The price/value ratio is great. BTW don’t miss going to the Tiffany Tavern on Friday or Saturday night for great Blue Grass music.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaLeprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2010

Dear VirginiaLeprechaun,

Wonderful surprise indeed! We're thrilled that you joined us in such an unexpected fashion, please thank your GPS for us! We're all the more happy that you are a neighbor of ours, we love hosting our friends in the community. Keep looking for us in your travels, we now have 50 Kimpton Hotels (and growing) across the country, so hopefully you'll get a chance to check out some of our other great hotels.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Alexandria - a Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Our son's wedding was recently held at the Hotel Monaco and many of our family and friends stayed at the hotel. Our entire family can not say enough about this hotel. From the warm and friendly doormen to the professional staff and everything in between we were extremely impressed!!!! Our wedding was handled with the utmost professionalism. Everyone involved was wonderful. We will always have fond memories of our stay at the Hotel Monaco and would love to go back. We highly recommend this facility as a wonderful place to stay while visiting beautiful Alexandria or for hosting a wedding or special event.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olson75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2010

Dear Olson75,

Thank you for your comments about your recent experience at the Hotel Monaco Alexandria. We're thrilled you enjoyed yourself and extremely honored that you entrusted us with your son's wedding. We hope to see you and your family soon, perhaps for your son (and new Daughter In Law!) first anniversary. Loyal guests mean everything to us.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Alexandria - a Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Staying at the Hotel Monaco is a pleasure. I have enjoyed the multiple trips I have to make to this area becase I know when I am at this Hotel meets my needs and the staff takes the time and effort to make sure the stay is an enjoyable one.

From reservations through check-out there is no complaint! It is like visiting friends and family and not like just someone coming to stay at the hotel.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
Thank janewdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

My husband and I went here for a local getaway for our anniversary and loved it. The hotel decor was fun and vibrant, the rooms were comfy and elegant, and it was central to the whole Old Towne area. We found all the staff friendly - in fact, my husband called ahead (on a Sunday, the morning before our check-in) to get flowers in the room. They were not able to get the specific flower he requested on short notice and the hotel gave us complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries instead. Yum!! Jackson 20 was fun, the staff was very friendly, especially the bartender. They went out of their way to make our anniversary special. We had breakfast there, and the eggs benedict was awesome - perhaps the best ever.
The only minor negative things we experienced was being told our room would be ready at 3:00 and having to wait until 4:00 to check-in. They gave us some cocktail vouchers for the inconvenience which we were happy to accept. We also booked a room with a balcony, but just didn't end up using it. It was a nice feature, but we personally just didn't make use of it. The one memorable thing though was when we were, umm..."celebrating our anniversary".... soon after check in, and the maid walked into the room. Maybe it's our fault for not putting up the "do not disturb" sign. But overall, just a funny memory we will share. Just always remember to put up the privacy sign when you checkin - anywhere...
Bottom line - we loved our experience there, and we are already planning our next trip there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwh1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2010

Dear MWH1976,

On behalf of the Hotel Monaco Alexandria I wanted to write to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at our property. I'm thrilled that you had a good time and want to thank you for entrusting us with such a special night for you. I'd like to apologize for the issue of not having your room ready to go immediately, but am happy that our team acknowledged the delay in checking you in with a welcome cocktail. I'd also like to apologize for the unfortunate timing of our Turndown staff. While we're always happy to celebrate with special memories with our guests we certainly didn't intend it that way! We'll make sure to use your feedback as a training moment for our team on proper etiquette for entering a room. Thank you again for staying with us and from all of us Happy Anniversary.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Alexandria - a Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

I have stayed here many times when it was a Holiday Inn, and even then it was a nice hotel with an unbeatable location in Old Town Alexandria. If you haven't been to Old Town before, keep in mind that, unlike the Hotel Monaco, most hotels which advertise being in "Old Town" are a long way from the center of activity along the Potomac River. The facility has been totally re-done and re-branded and the results are impressive. It is very chic and comfortable and the staff, as before, is very helpful and responsive. Room service food is excellent. Price is very reasonable for this market at this quality level. Will continue to be my first choice when visiting the D.C. area. Only 10-15 minutes from Reagan Airport.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatorator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,290 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $155 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that our impeccable Alexandria, VA hotel provides. Stay with us and revel in our historically rich surroundings and contemporary comforts that provide for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC's many attractions. Conveniently adjacent to our hotel is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing