We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and a great hotel”
Reviewed December 12, 2009

We were made to feel welcome the moment we arrived - everyone, from the valets parking our car to the staff on reception, were friendly and helpful. The room was excellent and we loved the goldfish - a great quirky touch. The only thing that let the hotel down was the room service, which we found overpriced and not great quality.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Banjo459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimpton_DC, Operations Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 17, 2009
Hello Banjo,

Thank you for staying with us and I am glad that you felt welcome from the moment you arrived. I know the hotel staff try their best to be friendly and I know they will be pleased to hear about your stay. I see you had a pet goldfish for your stay. I apologize about room service. I will be sure to discuss this with the In-Room Dining team and also Jackson 20. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,104
    477
    122
    42
    22
See reviews for
419
638
106
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ILEPAD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2009

Hotel is located in a prime location on King street, not far from the harbor and not far from the king street metro. The room is pleasant along with the bathroom, nice large tub. Even the indoor pool was great plus opened until 10 pm. Now for the negative side, the restaurant Jackson 20, much needed improvement. The food was not bad but the size of the portion was way to small (Tuna) and the side choices were lousy. And the room service, ordered the prime rib and my wife ordered the hamburger, for the price, hmm Wendy's would have suited us better. Both items came cooked the other way around. I have stayed in many different hotels and decided to give this a try, recommend to a friend but it will be a cold day in hell for me to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILEPAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, Chef at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
Dear ILEPAD,

In response to your post I wanted to say that I am terribly sorry that you are not satisfied. I am the Executive Chef of Jackson 20 and these complaints aren’t the norm. We pride ourselves filling comfort food that warms the soul. Our Fried Chicken, Ribs and pork chops receive an abundance of accolades. Size has never been an issue when it comes to dinning in Jackson 20. I hope you can find it your heart to look past or misstep and visit us again.


Chef Dennis Marron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Best location of any hotel for walking around Alexandria, but hotel itself is disappointing. After my reservation they solicited for a room upgrade for nominal fee but they check-in clerk had no record of my upgrade request. Parking garage is probably the dirtiest I've ever been in. Room was nicely decorated but much smaller than pictures made it seem. Note that 6th floor rooms all have 1/2 windows only. The "breakfast for $1 more" promotion allows you to sit in the attached restaurant (Jackson 20) but only includes a bagel or small stack of pancakes. Better breakfast can be had for free at a Holiday Inn. Overall this is not a bad hotel at all, just not a great hotel and, as compared to its own advertising, is quite a bit over-rated. Pick this hotel if location is important to you and you're not looking for a great lodging experience. If the room matters to you, plan ahead and stay at the Morrison House.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Beautiful hotel - the "living room" aka lobby was very welcoming and inviting with its dark blue walls and fireplace. Wonderful location - very close to Chart House and waterfront parks (within 2 or 3 blocks). We loved the robes - leopard and zebra - that were available for you to wear while you were in their rooms. Very trendy decor in the room including black and white theme with mirrors and some wonderful lighting. Room service breakfast from Jackson 20 was the best room service I have had in a long time! There was wonderful sound proofing proven by the fact that there was a huge party about 3 doors down from us and we could hear nothing inside when we had the door closed to our balcony. I wish our balcony had overlooked the courtyard more instead of looking over a stone roof but then again, we'd be closer to the party :) I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an excellent location in Old Town Alexandria.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimpton_DC, Operations Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
Hello Niquolle330,

Thank you for your compliment about the hotel, I am glad that the lobby felt welcoming to you. We are in a great location in downtown Alexandria. I see you enjoyed your room service breakfast from Jackson 20. They do a great job! Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem Pa
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2009

My family's visit at the Monaco hotel was our first. Having stayed in hotels around the country and overseas, I would give this hotel the highest rating in all catagories. The staff and service and the room accomodations were as
good as one could expect of a top rated hotel. Added to our stay was the charm of Old Alexandria and wonderful restaurants all within walking distance.
We would return to this hotel in the future and would gladly recomend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amslorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimpton_DC, Operations Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
Hello amslorb,

Thank you for bringing your family to stay with us and for the first time too! Thank you for your high praise and ranking of the hotel. I know that the entire staff will be delighted that they made such a positive impression on you and your family. Thank you for staying and please come back with everyone again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Just back from a weeks stay at the Monaco and what a great place. My five old girl or should I say the princess of scotland as name bby BK & Karlim the door man made her trip and holiday.

Golden fish in the room, childrens bath robes, great pool, easy to find, this a great hotel for Washington...in a great town just a shame it rained for the first two daysa nd the redskins lost.

thanks guys for making her stay and holiday, all she talks about is her door men!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyfromScotland59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimpton_DC, Operations Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
Hello FamilyfromScotlan59,

I am glad that you and your family were able to stay with us for a week. I am glad the BK and Karlim treated your daughter like royalty and her stay special. I know they go out of their way to make a special stay for everyone who walks through their doors. Thank you for bringing your family and please come back again and visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
143 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Ratings always befuddle me. I don't think of this as a 5-star hotel, but my experience was exactly that--5-star.

If your visiting purpose is for Old Town tourism, this location can hardly be beat. It is very accessible and convenient, evenly spaced between the upper and lower blocks of King Street (the main tourist street). (Business travellers might prefer to be closer to King Street Metro and the companies in that area.)

Our room--243--was spacious, completely clean, with a comfortable balcony overlooking the courtyard. The weather was not conducive to sitting out, but I can imagine how delightful it could be.

I look for Kimpton weekend and AAA rates in the DC area and got this large room for US$132.05.

The staff was friendly and helpful at every turn, even though the front desk seemed just a tad distracted at time, preferring to stare at their computers rather than engaging me fully. And they seemed just a bit puzzled in my requests for biodegradable bags to take with my Dachshund on outside walks. (On a previous visit to Alexandria to the sister Morrison House, we found the staff incredibly good with my Dachshund, paying him as much attention as us! *lol* I think he was disappointed we didn't stay there again.)

My most pleasant suprise was dining in the connected restaurant "Jackson 20". Our evening meal--while again not a 5-star --was a very good experience, with expert attention from Danylo and some help too from Derek. This waiter and staff chef are wonderful! (I posted a review at yelp.com.)

We requested and received a goldfish in our room, so if you get "Ariel", please say hello. She made our stay even more delightful.

Hotel Monaco? Recommended with no hesitation whatsoever. But, that's how I feel about every Kimpton property I have visited.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,232 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection

Property: The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that our impeccable Alexandria, VA hotel provides. Stay with us and revel in our historically rich surroundings and contemporary comforts that provide for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC's many attractions. Conveniently adjacent to our hotel is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing