We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and fabulous staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at the Monaco during our recent visit to Washington DC. We loved the location of this hotel in Alexandria. Close to so many great shops and restaurants. Easy walk to the metro to get to DC. The staff was super-friendly from the moment we arrived until the time of our departure. The valet service staff was very helpful. Since the garage at the hotel was full, they would valet our car for $25 a day with in and out services. Since we didn't need our car during this visit, they told us about the garage on PItt Street located below the courthouse, directly across the street from the Monaco. The rate at the garage was $13 a day, so we were told. We parked in the courthouse garage. On Sunday when we pulled out of the garage, our total for Friday to Sunday morning was $18. Can't beat that.
Even though the hotel itself was very busy and full, we were able to check-in early. We used the free King St. Trolley to get to the Metro station and toured the Air and Space Museum. When we returned, the hotel staff surprised our son with a cupcakes, cold fruit juice and a stuffed turtle in celebration of his 7th birthday.
We enjoyed the pool and breakfast at Jackson 20. We used the "Breakfast for $1 more" promotion. The continental breakfast was adequate for us, since we don't eat much in the morning. But the waitstaff said that they could apply a $7 credit to our breakfast bill if we preferred something off the breakfast menu. Loved the evening wine reception and our son loved the Kids' Hour from 4-5pm. Nice way to meet other guests.
The neighborhood around the hotel offered many excellent dining choices and shops. We hope to be back to DC soon and we will probably stay here again. Very convenient location and so much better than driving around the District.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bowerstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 1,839 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

THe Monaco Alexandria is first class in every way. The front desk staff went out of their way to make sure we were satisfied with our room. Parking is a little pricey, but due to the snow and ice on the streets, it was the best option. The location is right in the center of the historic old town. Planning on returning the next time we visit Alexandria, Va.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToscanaRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very pleasant hotel, friendly staff, located right in the center of old town. The room was very comfortable and quiet. I liked how the décor reflected the historic nature of the area, and the striking use of color in the lobby was so refreshingly different! Lots of great restaurants and interesting shops within a few blocks, plus near the waterfront.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrOski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is a charming hotel in a great location. The lobby and the rooms have the extra personality and fun flavor of a Kimpton without scrimping on the amenities. The room was lovely, the cleaning staff excellent and the location is unbeatable. Be sure and join the in-touch loyalty program for the bennies like a $10 credit to the mini bar and free wi fi. The only thing keeping me from 5 stars was the staff was not able to figure out why the wifi wouldn't work on our iPad. Far from a crisis, but could have been inconvenient if we'd had work to do. Also love the pet-friendly atmosphere and free coffee (am) and wine (pm) in the lobby. You can even request a goldfish to keep you company.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I live in DC and my boyfriend and I chose to get out to Alexandria for a night staycation. When we first arrived and checked-in, Calvin at the front desk was super efficient, helpful, and friendly. Got upgraded from a queen to a king and got two free cocktail coupons. Awesome. The room was quite big for a hotel, but please note that throughout our stay it seemed that the walls and ceilings are pretty thin, because sounds kept waking me up. CO Bigelow bath products are wonderful. Late that night we went to Jackson 20 (the restaurant at the hotel) to use our drink coupons. We had the best experience there. Al was the bartender and was quite the showman and even made us drinks he thought we would like. Felt very taken care of. All the people at the bar were really fun to hang out with too. The next morning we went to order room service, but neither of our phones were working, so I had to call from my landline to the restaurant and then they called us back on the hotel phone. Far too many steps. Boyfriend had the granola (small portion) and I had the BELT (good, but cold). We also ordered coffee, but then realized that the mugs were dirty (see picture below). So those weren't used. Just go to the restaurant instead, will probably get cleaner dishware and warm food quikcer than room service. We wanted to watch House of Cards on Netflix with breakfast, so I called the front desk because we couldn't figure out the Wi-FI. Turns out you don't get free Wi-Fi unless you sign up as a Kimpton Rewards member (free, but takes a while). I don't remember who answered at the front desk, but he was pretty rude when I asked about this. Hung up frustrated but we still tried to sign up. However, the connection to put in e-mail, address, etc. was so slow we just gave up. Overall, we enjoyed our overnight, but it was more the people that made it and not the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very nice hotel, centrally located, close to downtown DC and major highways. Large, clean, modern rooms. Good restaurant and bar, with food and shopping nearby. Friendly, professional staff. Pet friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

One night stay for a family wedding. Very boutique place. Great shopping and food within walking distance. Super place to stay. Relaxing with all the right touches. Took care of all of our requests. Wine tasting at. Ugly and great coffee in the morning. Very personable place.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank MWS39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#5 of 54 in Alexandria
1,330 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria
The Westin Alexandria
#13 of 54 in Alexandria
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $117 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that our impeccable Alexandria, VA hotel provides. Stay with us and revel in our historically rich surroundings and contemporary comforts that provide for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC's many attractions. Conveniently adjacent to our hotel is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing