We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Kimpton Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Solana Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Location, Kimpton Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Located in old Alexandria, the hotel is walking distance from many attractions and (more importantly) restaurants.
Kimpton service is fantastic - friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable staff.
Room was very comfortable. I normally don't sleep well in hotels, but for some reason I got a great night sleep every one of the three nights I spent there.
Gym is small, but modern, and if you like to swim there is a large heated indoor swimming pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Naom Z,

Thanks for making us your hotel choice in Old Town Alexandria! We very much appreciate your business, and the wonderful comments here regarding your stay.

Glad that the location worked out great for your needs!

Safe Travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,096
    467
    113
    40
    21
See reviews for
412
632
102
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Last year, my husband and our children stayed at the Hotel Monaco during the Scottish Christmas Walk. The hotel fell short when we attempted to use the pool because it was unbearably cold. This year we stayed again for the same reason. Thankfully, the pool was well heated. Yes, the decor doesn't mesh well with Old Town charm, but it was nonetheless festive for the season. If you plan to stay here for any holiday, make reservations well in advance. Another thing to keep in mind, this is a dog friendly hotel. The biggest compliment I can give is that the staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the set of elevators for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Shawn M,

Thank you for coming back to give us a second try! I'm glad that the pool worked out well for you this year, and really appreciate the kind words about the staff - they truly are the best!

Have a great New Year's and we will save a spot for you next December!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
216 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I love Kimpton hotels. Seriously, I do. I stay in them whenever I can. Mainly because they tend to be a little funkier and they make you feel a little more special. Our party of three arrived to a fun and festive lobby and nicely decorated room. Not your standard décor and that's what we like. We requested fish in the room and that was fun. We had fun with our $10 raid the mini bar credit that you get by joining their loyalty program. Overall, a pleasant visit. The hotel is in a great location and is nice.

The front desk staff here were not very friendly. I'm not sure they even smiled at me. After spending 15 minutes trolling the parking lot for a spot, I ended up arriving in the lobby 3 minutes to late for the 5-6 pm complimentary wine happy hour. When I asked the front desk woman if I was too late for wine, she just sternly said yes and said nothing more. No "Yes, but I can get you a glass of wine if you like" or "Yes, I'm sorry you just missed it. Would you like some sent to your room?" Nothing. The front desk also insisted that I had called the night before to cancel my reservation which I certainly did NOT, but no apologies from them for what I know must have been the hotel's error. I ultimately asked for a glass of wine to be sent up to my room (which I was prepared to pay for) and they later in the evening sent a whole bottle, which I certainly appreciated, though it was too late for me to drink, as we had already gone to dinner. It is possible that the front desk staff were just feeling a little stressed out, as they were fully booked and it was a busy time. Still, a smile would have been nice.
BUT--- Housekeeping was the opposite. A very friendly woman from housekeeping delivered a special something to the two teenage girls in our party and she was the only one to apologize for the accidental cancellation of our reservation.

Dog hair. I know this hotel accepts pets, and I didn't think I minded, but it was kind of gross that the blankets draped at the end of the beds were covered with dog hair. (assorted colors) We removed these blankets and discovered that the white sheet underneath was also covered in dog hair that had rubbed off onto the sheet. I am talking HUNDREDS of hairs, not just a couple stray ones. Twice during our visit, I ended up with a pet hair in my mouth somehow. And while I didn't think I had allergies, I was congested during my visit, thanks to the dander in the room. Perhaps they should keep some rooms pet-free?

Room Tip: Some rooms are right across from the elevator in a large elevator waiting area. This might get loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GNR80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear GNR80,

Thank you very much for staying with us, and for providing your feedback here. It is great to hear that you are such a fan of Kimpton hotels and appreciate our unique style/decor.

I'm very sorry for the lack of service you were provided however by our Front Desk team. It is dissappointing to hear that we fell short of our standard on this occasion and we will certainly use your comments to help us be more consistent.

Please accept my apologies for the dog hair found in your room as well, our Housekeeping team is following up on where our breakdown was in preparing your room and working to avoid similar occurences in the future. We do have a Pet Free floor in the hotel, but certainly the other rooms are to be cleaned more thoroughly as well.

Thank you again, we really appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Once again we had a wonderful stay at the Monaco Hotel , in Alexandria, Va. We had the whole family in town . We were greeted like the staff had missed us and were happy we were back !!! We had an incredible brunch at the hotel's restaraunt. Bottomless mimosas were great !! We took pics in front of the fireplace which will probably be use for Xmas. I would like to give a shout out to Milena and Najoua, by way of GI-Gi !!! Thank you !! We will be back !

Room Tip: Any room !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bslawzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear bslawzy,

Well, we were happy to have you back!! Seriously though, thank you very much for continuing to chose us when you travel to Old Town Alexandria, we love being a part of your family trip!

Happy Holidays and we wish you the best for the New Year.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

perfect hotel, they have a free happy hour in the lobby, the hotel is dog friendly so kids and dog lovers will have a blast. the location could not be better. great restaurants and sights near by. the rooms were fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Jonathan W,

Thank you so much for choosing us for your little getaway! Glad to hear you enjoyed it so much, we hope that you will come back again soon!

Take care and safe travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I will say this is a very nice property right in the heart of Alexandria. The location made it easy for us to get around the area, and the only downside was that the property was more than just a walk to the Metro. Not a big deal, just something to keep in mind with little ones.

While my wife and I loved the room, and the setting in general, but it was not the idea location for a family with an infant or toddler. The property is not large and sprawling, so it made it challenging with a stroller and all the things that the parent of an infant or toddler need. Again, not a big deal, but something to be aware of. We adapt, so we were fine with it.

This hotel is a great location for the single mover, and it is a decent location for the family with little ones. All in all, it was a great stay that I probably would have enjoyed more when my wife and I were dating. Pretty pricey for a family, though. But it was a wedding, so sometimes that makes it all worth it. It is certainly a fun location, with lots to do around the hotel.

It is a dog hotel, so.......

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lammyleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear lammyleap,

Appreciate you staying with us while attending a wedding, and for taking the time to share you feedback here.

Thank you for the kind words regarding the hotel, and we do hope that you will come back whether it is for a getaway with your wife only, or you bring the little one again! Our Kid's hour each weekend, welcome amenities and dive-in movie night are some things that they could certainly enjoy next time!

Take care and Happy Holidays,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great location, excellent amenities, good service, welcoming lobby, dog friendly....easy valet parking....only negative was loud music in the dining room for breakfast...but then perhaps I'm getting old and crabby..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbsplaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear mbsplaine,

Don't be so hard on yourself! That music was way too loud, and I'm only a little bit old and crabby!

Thanks so much for this wonderful review, and for your business. We appreciate both!

Take care and Happy Holidays,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection

Property: The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that our impeccable Alexandria, VA hotel provides. Stay with us and revel in our historically rich surroundings and contemporary comforts that provide for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC's many attractions. Conveniently adjacent to our hotel is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing