We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Have stayed here twice and really enjoyed both trips. The location is great - just on the Alexandria 'High Street' with lovely bars and shops within the immediate vicinity, and you can take an enjoyable run down to the riverside area. The staff, the service and the food is of a consistently high standard - the crab cake breakfast was a memorable favourite for me. I would suggest it is suitable for all types of travellers and would use it for business or families.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Mark S,

What a great review and recommendation, thank you very much! Appreciate your business and we do hope to see you again soon.

Safe Travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    464
    109
    39
    21
See reviews for
409
629
102
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We loved this place-- a perfect location in Old Town Alexandria. The hotel suited our personalities with the fun bold colors and our room was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed doing our yoga poses in the room every morning using the yoga mats provided. The wine tasting and coffee were nice perks. .The value of this hotel was very reasonable and I would definitely stay here again when I visit DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kala28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear kala28,

Thanks for choossing us for the Girl's getaway weekend! I'm glad to hear that all went well, and that our fun/eccletic vibe was a perfect fit!

Great to hear you will be back, we look forward to it!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic! Very clean, modern, nicely decorated rooms. The staff were wonderful and highly accommodating. Located right in the heart of Alexandria with so much to do only a short walk away (only a few blocks to the water too!). Special kudos for the free wine happy hour and delicious morning coffee. Our only complaint would be the lack of counter space in the bathroom (but this is a small complaint).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Kristin P,

Thank you for this wondeful review! I will pass along the comments to the team, whom I'm sure will be very appreciative!

Thank you for staying with us, please do come back soon.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you are visiting the historic area of Alexandria. The whole area has an exciting vibe. There are many places within walking distance to eat, shop and on the week-end a great market in the plaza close by. I recommend the parking lot around the corner as it is much cheaper than the hotel parking. We were there for a family wedding and the food served for the reception was excellent. I don't know about the main dining rooms. I love dogs, but am not sure I love staying in a hotel that allows them in the rooms although our room on the 5th floor didn't show any sign of pet visitors. Perhaps they keep them on a separate floor. Our room didn't have a great view, but it was quiet and newspapers were delivered in the morning.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 5th floor. It was a long way from the elevator, but that kept down any h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear NoFo,

Thank you for staying with us! You're right, Old Town Alexandria has a great vibe to it and a ton to offer, we are fortunate to be so centrally located in this great little destination.

Thank you again and safe travels!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowestoft
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Having stayed in Washington before, we decided to stay outside this time and on checking review websites, this came out doing very well. To me this was the perfect hotel. Clean, unique in style, extremely friendly staff and a perfect location in Alexandria. We had a room on the top floor, which was large and quiet. If you join the Kimpton loyalty program you get free wifi and $10 off your bar bill as well. All in all, a great place to stay and I will be staying with Kimpton again. We ate in the Restaurent once in the evenig and it was also very good but we didn't have breakfast as there was a French cafe opposite that did very reasonably priced breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for a top floor room, away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbrifmLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear bigbrifmLT,

Thank you for trying us out, we are so glad you did! And now it seems we have another Kimpton fan! Old Town is really a great alternative to staying downtown, isn't it? With easy access and a ton of amenities right outside your door, it makes a lot of sense.

Thank you again and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Loved our recent stay at Hotel Monaco in Old Town in Alexandria. Perfect location and amenities, great for families. My only advice is to ask for a quiet room. Our room faced the side street and we were awakened by garbage trucks in the early morning and by revelers from nearby bars in the wee hours. Also the reason I rated service slightly lower is because our room was never serviced. But all other service encounters were extremely positive. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMEK450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
JMEK450,

Thank you for this review, and for choosing us for your stay in Old Town Alexandria! Glad you enjoyed your stay and the service overall was a hit!

I am sorry that the room was not serviced however, I will look into this with our Housekeeping team to avoid similar occurences in the future.

Thank you again and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
281 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was are second stay at this particular Kimpton. Have stayed at many others and belong to the In touch group. Undoubtedly the best hotel in Old Town. Everyone was so nice from the Valet to the front desk and the bar tender. We will rate the restaurant in a separate piece.
Left very early in the morning for a flight out of DCA. Our car was front and center and the check out was quick. No one else awake in the hotel expect for tow employees and my wife an I. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pierre20639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear pierre20639,

This is fantastic - thank you for coming back and for being a loyal inTouch member of Kimpton as well! Great feedback that I will make sure to share with the overnight staff, it will mean a lot to them as they take pride in their jobs and taking care of those guests who get up early or get in late.

Thanks again,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection

Property: The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Address: 480 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3102 (Formerly Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Autograph Collection Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC's many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing