We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MONACO is KING on KING ST”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“MONACO is KING on KING ST”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great experience once again keeps us Kimpton hotel members. Stayed weekend of Sept. 6 - '13.
Nice, clean, courteous the usual standard at Kimpton. At the Jackson 20 the bartender could have been more attentive to all the few customers, however there was a lovely tall brunette that was obviously his "friend" and captured all the attention. I had to set myself on fire to get enough attention to have a beer. Lovely Art street fair closed King street for Saturday. Nice location to stay this Monaco.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmacNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear cmacNYC,

Great title to your post! May have to borrow that for our advertising campaign!

Thanks for staying with us and glad to hear you enjoyed it so much. We will definitely talk to the bartender about giving equal attention to all the customers in the bar, sorry that you were left to ponder self-inflicted wounds while waiting for a drink!

Thanks again and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    491
    122
    44
    22
See reviews for
425
647
108
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
998 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We've been coming here for years and love the hotel and usually leave a good review, but this time around was different... this review is for this experience only and we hope it is back to normal again next year!

Unfortunately, this year we had a very bad experience with extremely noisy neighbors (seriously loud/noisy at 11:45pm - totally unacceptable) that did not get dealt with by the hotel staff...

We therefore asked to move rooms and were offered unacceptable options (other noisy rooms by maintenance etc.). Finally we were moved to room 653 which we accepted (as one of us needed to work during the day).... Over the next several hours it became obvious we had made a bad choice as started to smell musty (not noticed initially as AC was set very cold)... it was too late to move that night so we asked to be moved yet again the following day... no room has got like this overnight - there is obviously an ongoing damp/must problem with this room...

So - 3 nights in 3 different rooms - one of them which was uninhabitable.

Staff dealt with things in a very understanding and friendly way, but as regular visitors here we don't feel the options presented (until the last night) were good... We would rather they would have addressed the noisy party and left us where we were...

Room Tip: Do not go with 653!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff and Jenni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear floridabrits,

Please accept my apologies that this stay did not live up to the good experiences you have had here in the past. I really regret we were not able to find a good solution for you immediately, and that you ended up staying in three different rooms.

We will certainly investigate and address the concerns regarding room 653, thank you for your feedback.

Please reach out to me directly so that I may be of personal assistance in preperation for your next stay, we will make sure to provide you with an exceptional experience once again! My email address is matthew.hurlburt@hotelmonaco.com.

Thank you again and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here awhile ago but neglected to leave a review.
It was an excellent stay. The hotel is beautiful, as is usually the case with all Kimpton brand lodging. The service was excellent. Another brand standard, seemingly. One of the most comfortable bathtubs I've ever used as well! the on-site restaurant provided a great breakfast that I enjoyed very much. Also very centrally located at the end of King Street in Alexandria. I'd reccomend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainAwethume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear dgustavson,

Thank you for this wonderful review! We honestly don't mind that it took a while for you to post it!

Thanks for the kind words about the service you recieved from the staff, it is certainly a priority for us at Kimpton.

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchton, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

In the middle of sleepy, historic Old Town is a hip hotel with a very lively vibe. The lobby lets you know that you're in for a treat from the moment you walk in. It's very dog friendly; on a hot day, we always saw ice in the bowls of water set out for dogs on the street. The staff is lovely and as helpful as you'd expect at a Kimpton. The rooms are beautiful.

Room Tip: There's a lot of activity on the street at night, so if you're an early-to-bed type, don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear janebeard,

Thank you for staying with us, and for providing this great description of the property. In addition to the ice water for our furry friends, we also keep a small refrigerator stocked with bottled water and iced wash cloths at the Front Entrance for our guests as well!

Thanks again and have a great day,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent 3 lovely days here, again. The indoor pool is wonderful, the wine hour delightful and the puppy happy hour great fun. The dogs love the outdoor courtyard. The King Rooms (and above) have Fuji tubs which are their most outstanding feature. We stay here especially for the Fuji tub and the hotel's location in Old Town Alexandria. The Grape and Bean (across the street) is one of the finest pate and wine bars we have experienced.

Room Tip: The Fuji tub rooms are spectacular as is the Fuji tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Pattchase,

Thanks for coming back! We will make sure to keep a room with a Fuji Soaking tub waiting for you for your next trip!

Really appreciate the kind words, thanks again.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a great Kimpton location. Very close to restaurants and DC. The area gets a little sketch at night but there is a decent amount of police presence, I presume for the tourists. The hotel itself is adorable. Front desk staff left more to be desired and the food was overpriced, even by room service standards. They advertised this amazing fried chicken and homemade macaroni and cheese but both we mediocre. Overall, clean and trendy:) I would go back simply because I love Kimpton!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunflouer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear, Sunflouer,

Thank you! You know we love you too!

Honestly we apprecaite the feedback and will make sure to utilize it to motivate us in our efforts to continuously improve.

Safe travels!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Va.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A boutique hotel with lots of little extra touches that lift if above ordinary. Room and bath were clean and comfortable, staff was friendly and helpful. Fun decor. Location is perfect and the price is right. However, this is a dog-friendly hotel - very dog friendly. If you're not dog-friendly, then don't stay here. Also, they serve free coffee in the lobby in the morning (and wine in the evening) but there is no coffee maker in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear TFE,

Thank you for your business, and for sharing your comments here! We strive to be unique and better than your typical hotel experience, thanks very much for pointing that out!

We do have coffee makers available upon request to put into your room, next time you are here we will make sure to take care of that for you.

Thanks again,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,275 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,427 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection

Property: The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that our impeccable Alexandria, VA hotel provides. Stay with us and revel in our historically rich surroundings and contemporary comforts that provide for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC's many attractions. Conveniently adjacent to our hotel is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing