We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang in the centre of Old Town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bang in the centre of Old Town!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week last year and I'm sure glad that this is the place I picked! It couldn't be anymore central in Old Town and the Metro is a pleasant 15 minute walk up the street (or the free trolly stops outside). The room was really big with a spacious bathroom to match and a quirky decor without being OT and despite my room being on the King Street side it wasnt noisy. Staff and service were top notch as they tend to be in the States and the food is excellent though the pool is a little on the small side.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aleightonbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear aleightonbrown,

We're happy you picked us too!! Thanks very much for takign the time to write this review and share your great experience at the hotel!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    490
    122
    43
    22
See reviews for
425
646
108
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

They thought of everything at this hotel. Bright umbrellas (yes, I was excited about the umbrellas), cool towels and cucumber water as you walk in, a fun wine hour, a well-stocked mini-bar, and fun robes--this hotel was awesome! The rooms are well-appointed and decorated in a manner that is so much more exciting than your normal hotel. The staff was very friendly, and the only thing I wish I could have changed was my room location. Perhaps it was just the people staying near me, but my stay here was quite noisy. That being said, I would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room down the hall from the elevators, as these rooms are not exactly sound proof
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmeliaEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear AmeliaEnglish,

Glad you liked it! Thanks for choosing us, and for sharing your comments here. We try to be unique and stand out from the typical hotel experience through personal service, interesting decor, and fun ambiance - thank you for appreciating that approach!

Safe Travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I'm a loyal Kimpton Hotel customer and was pleased that the quality of the Monaco was as expected. The hotel is super cute and the rooms and bathrooms spacious and well appointed. Given the prime location of this hotel, I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone interested in staying in the Alexandria or greater DC area. Oh, and breakfast next door at Jackson 20 is great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonsuac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear bonsuac,

Thank you for your loyalty to Kimpton, and for staying with us this time! Glad you enjoyed the hotel!

Hope to see you again soon,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, PA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Spacious room, decorated with whimsy and great taste -- one of the cleanest rooms I have ever stayed in. A Mozart Rondo was piped in through the table top stereo when I entered my room - one of many a classy touch this hotel offers. Extremely comfortable bed but only gave sleep quality a three because noise from guests accessing the ice machine down the hall through the night interrupted my sleep more frequently than I would have liked. (Be sure to book a room as far from the ice machine as possible!) Attentive staff offered spot-on service. Wine tasting hour was a nice touch, really fun. What a great place in the heart of Old Town! Dog friendly, but because my dog didn't accompany me this trip, I booked a room on a dog-free floor. I will return again, and again!

Room Tip: Book a room as far from the ice machine as possible - it's very loud. You can book a room on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erieite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Erieite,

Thank you for this wonderful review! We apprecaite the comments about the decor of the hotel and most importantly the excellent service provided by the staff, that is our key to success for sure!

Great to hear you will be coming back as well.

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our second visit. Great room and the staff is very friendly, do not think we have missed a wine social since day one. If you were to come to Alexandria, you would be losing out by not staying here. It is all about the location, they are central to the pulse of the town. Would do over and over again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Mark K,

Thank you for making the point that guests would be missing out if they didn't stay here - couldn't have said it better myself!

Honestly thank you very much for the kind words and for coming back to see us again.

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The location is perfect, right in the center of King Street. The decor is colorful and lively. The service impeccable. Our check in staff were super nice and provided complimentary drink vouchers for the restaurant next door.

The room was spacious and elegant. The bathroom had marble floors and sink with black and white pin stripe wallpaper. There was a desk and a lounger sofa in the room along with a king size bed. The pool was nice, although a little more natural lighting would have been nice.

With there wine hour and unique feel, the Kimptons are a hard brand to beat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aviatoradair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear aviatoradair,

Thank you for this wonderful review! And for recognizing the staff for providing exceptional service!

I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay so much, please come back soon!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

“So colorful and lively, and the hotel’s King Street location really puts you in the thick of it, next to the Metro Station and an easy walk from area offices, local restaurant, and bar scene. My room was cute and comfortable - fun and bright decor, super comfortable bed, and wonderful bathtub (loved the jacuzzi jets after a long run!). Returning to the hotel everyday after meetings at my client’s office was a pleasure – truly one of the most warm and inviting hotel experiences in the metro DC area. The little touches like cocktail hour in the lobby every evening, that dogs are welcome here! The amenities one can request from the front desk, the complimentary very high speed wifi…it is clear management of this group understand the needs of the business traveler. I’ll always stay here when in the area!”

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Consigliera-S,

Thank you so much! We do place an emphasis on making you feel welcome, and appreciated, thanks for taking note of that and sharing your comments here!

We will see you soon,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,273 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,425 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection

Property: The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that our impeccable Alexandria, VA hotel provides. Stay with us and revel in our historically rich surroundings and contemporary comforts that provide for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC's many attractions. Conveniently adjacent to our hotel is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing