We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite Old Town Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Favorite Old Town Hotel”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent one night at the Monaco for a fun weekend away. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and helpful and we loved the free wine hour. Our dog loved it too! The location is definitely the best of the three Old Town Kimptons (we stayed at the Lorien over Christmas). There are lots of restaurants, bars and shops within walking distance. The gym is pretty small but bright and clean. The room service breakfast was nice. We also got a free upgrade to one of the rooms with the porch which was a lovely surprise! We ate our breakfast out there looking over the courtyard- I'd definitely recommend one of these rooms if they're in your budget. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Champagne512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    467
    112
    40
    21
See reviews for
411
632
102
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed for the holiday weekend, great location, the loft was nice space for two adults with two dogs. Service needs improvement, pregistered the two dogs using the online form website suggested so they could prepare, got in the room only one bed and one bowl was in it. Not a big deal, we just had to call front desk to request another set but kinda wonder what was the point of registering to start with?! Checking in and check out both disappointing, we understand it was a busy weekend, but seriously it's a good thing for the hotel so don't look so annoyed and flustered! Also we were charged $32 for the minibar we didn't use. When asked about it, the woman said well maybe it's somebody else's but got charged to your room. HA! Good answer, anyway I guess it's the guest's responsibility to take a before and after picture of the minibar to make sure you don't pay for other people's good time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hotel Monaco is a wonderful place to stay when visiting Old Town Alexandria. The staff is very helpful and friendly and we could even bring our dog. They furnish water/food bowls, beds and some treats for your four-legged child. The hotel is very convienent to the Metro, waterfront, restaurants and shops. There is a free trolley that goes up and down King Street. The hotel is very quite and the beds are very comfortable. Become a Kimpton In Touch member and get free WiFi and other goodies. Alexandria is very pet friendly. Many businesses have water and treats available for your dog. This was the second time we stayed at the Hotel Monaco and will stay again if ever in the area. One warning: at check out, we were told we had charges for 5 movies. After explaining to the manager we did not watch any movies, the charges were taken off so be sure to check all charges.

Room Tip: The King Terrace room was very nice.
See more room tips
Green Features: We noticed the housekeeping cards had separate bags for paper and cans.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel charged my credit card for $29 for snacks from the mini bar. I noticed this a month later on my credit card statement. We didn't even have a key for the mini bar. They removed the charges. However, I was pretty disappointed by this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zdarwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here at the end of April for the Alexandria Garden Week Tour. This was the perfect location for the tour--a very short walk to many of the historic homes. The decor is funky, but in a tasteful way. I think artistic would be a better description. Our room was good sized, and came with the pair of fish that we could enjoy during our stay.
The bathroom was very pretty--with black and white wallpaper and marble. Also very nice toiletries and animal-print robes.
We had a room facing the front of the hotel, but there were no noise issues. Also, we were directly accross from the elevator, but because the hallway is so large there, I didn't hear a thing. Also, no issues with animal smells or noises, but we're dog lovers so it wouldn't be a problem.
The complementary cocktail hour was interesting--lots of people were in the lobby. We arrived later, so there was nowhere to sit, but we did enjoy the wine. The servers were very friendly, and it appeared that multiple glassess were being served. It was a chilly weekend, so the fire was lit later that evening. There were lounge chairs available by that time, so we hung out for a while before turning in.
They also have complimentary coffee in the morning, and it was really good quality. We didn't get to have breakfast in the restaurant, but we did peek in, and it looked very pleasant. There are several bakery-bistro type places within a short walking distance. Also, lots of restaurants with numerous international cuisines, and interesting boutiques.
Only negative (and it's a small one) is that the parking garage is tight. Really enjoyed our stay and would like to return to explore further.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aggy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

By no means was this a bad experience, although it started out a bit challenging. For starters we wanted a room on a non-pet floor. None was available. We adjusted, but it took a while to get used to the smell of room deoderizer used to get the doggy smell out of the room. In the elevator, a dog licked my knee. Since my wife was not with me at this moment, no big deal was made out of this show of affection! The location is in the heart of Old Town. Coffee, Tea, and Wine is a cool bonus. A shuttle to the airport is great. The staff is very good. I feel, however, if there is a next time, we will try the Hilton.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TingJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a really nice old hotel with excellent customer service. Its in a great location, but you want an upper floor. The bar can be noisy for for some visitors. We looked into Jackson 20 but found it to be overpriced. That said, there are plenty of good restraunts within a couple of blocks.

Another good thing about the hotel/restraunt is that not only do they allow pets, they leave out water bowls for the pets on the sidewalk outside. This is truley a pet friendly hotel.

The haunting story. Yes if you Google the hotel, you will find plenty of stories of the hotel being haunted. I haven't read the stories but I did a quick search while writing this to verify things. So the ghost story is this: About 09:30 June 28, I and a couple got on the the elevator on the sixth floor. We were both headed for the first floor and I hit the button for both of us. The car stopped on the fourth floor and opened up. As the door opened, a light moved across the opposite wall. Now, there is the argument that it was just a reflection, but once you visit the hotel and see the halls, you will see that the halls are dark and that there is very little there to reflect bright light. Its a great place to visit. If you are one who can "feel" presences (I am not), you will feel them here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 53 in Alexandria
1,199 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection

Property: The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that our impeccable Alexandria, VA hotel provides. Stay with us and revel in our historically rich surroundings and contemporary comforts that provide for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC's many attractions. Conveniently adjacent to our hotel is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing