We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hotel was modern and the rooms updated. What is most important is the convenient location so you can just park your car and walk to all the Old Town Alexandria shops and restaurants. We were less impressed with Old Town Alexandria because we expected to see more historic sites. Another nice aspect to the location is that it is close to the beautiful parks on the south end of Washington Street that provide a lot of nice hiking/biking trails along the water front. Mount Vernon is a short 8-10 miles away.
We were less impressed with the service. We called down requesting our car (we had used valet service) and were told it would be 10-15 minutes. We arrived at the lobby 15 minutes later and they attendant hadn't even pulled our keys, let alone gotten our car, so it was another 10 minute wait. We also stopped at the outside seating service for a glass of wine and it took about 5-10 minutes to get waited on even after we had gone inside to make sure there was service to the outside.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NashuaRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

938 - 944 of 1,831 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

Exquisite hotel with modern, unconventional deco. Close to the main street of shops and restaurants. Love the balcony where you can sit and have a drink while enjoying the nice view of a little piazza. Definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Hotel was extremely noisy, thanks to malfunctioning doors, loud parties on the outdoor courtyard, and in-room air conditioning (i.e. no central air). And staff--most shockingly for a Kimpton property, most of which I've enjoyed--was indifferent to the point of rudeness. Not coming back here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidS98098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear DavidS98098,

Please accept my apologies for the perception you were left of our hotel, and most importantly our staff. That is not how we have come to be so succesful and it is not acceptable, I'm sorry that you left feeling this way.

Please contact me at matthew.hurlburt@hotelmonaco.com if you would like to provide more information and for me to help address your concerns to your satisfaction.

Thank you and take care,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay @ Hotel Monaco and I have absolutely nothing bad to say about. We were both extremely happy with every aspect of our stay. The staff that we dealt with were friendly and accommodating, even when there was a mix-up with the parking. Our room was made up beautifully every morning. Unfortunately, I did not get a chance to go swimming (or even look at the pool!) despite choosing the Monaco because of the pool!!

The only room available when I made the reservation was a handicap accessible king room, so our room had a large roll-in shower, which was very nice. The bathroom was much larger than the last Kimpton I stayed in, The Helix, which was located in DC. The C.O. Bigelow products were a nice touch! Our room overlooked King Street, but the noise was never an issue.

I would absolutely stay in Alexandria again. I had no idea there were so many little shops and good restaurants. The waterfront area is a must- see and it's only a few blocks away! The Monaco is located a 15-20 minute walk to the King Street Metro station and it's about a 15-20 minute trip into the heart of DC. I am from NYC, where we walk everywhere, so the walk was no problem for me. There is plenty to look at along the way and plenty of shops to stop in. There is a free trolley, but walking was faster than waiting for the trolley.

Overall, we had an extremely pleasant experience and I wouldn't think twice about booking another stay at the Monaco next time I am in Alexandria!

Room Tip: Become a Kimpton member. It's free and you get $10 to spend on the mini bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robynpuff1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Robynpuff1979,

So glad you found us and discovered how great Old Town Alexandria is! Thank you for this great review and for your business, we appreciate it!

Take care and hope to see you again soon,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This Hotel is marvelous. The rooms are very comfortable and the location is perfect. We loved the pillows.They serve complimentary wine each afternoon and free coffee in the morning. I would stay there again anytime. Also, the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Carolyn S,

Thank you for such a wondeful review! And everyone always enjoys a little free wine, right?!

Thanks again,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is kind of dark, rooms, hallways, lobby. VERY pet friendly...saw a large Russian wolfhound lounging in the lobby. A bit remiss in the housekeeping department as glasses from Happy Hour (5-6) were still all over the lobby at 8. Incredible location though, right in the heart of Old Alexandria. Rooms are nice, great pillows. Bathrooms are fine.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiteeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear CiteeGirl,

Thank you for staying with us - we appreciate your business!

And all of the feedback is great, both good and bad, because it helps us either way. So thank you for taking the time to share and we will make sure to address those items you have noted here!

Take care and hope to see you again soon,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I booked a last minute deal for a great price. I was going to reserve the larger terrace room but assumed they would ask me if I wanted to "E-Stand By". Since I have batted 1.000 with "E-Stand By", why not try it again?

Upon arrival, we were welcomed and thanked for being a Kimpton member which followed with apologies that they were fully booked with 3 weddings and the "E-Stand By" request could not be granted. Instead, she gave us a "Great" room (with a queen bed??) on the 3rd floor and also (2) free cocktails at the restaurant in the lobby. Fair compromise.

Decor was great, courtyard was nice and bathrooms were high class.

Everything else was fine except this morning. I virtually live on the road for work and never really was bothered by elevator noise or hallway traffic but today was a first!

We were right next to the elevator. I guess someone always will have to stay next to the elevator but we were getting a quiet room.

Anyways, after tossing and turning all morning, I figured it out. The pool and the gym are on floor 3. That would explain the kids yelling from one end to the other of the hallway, or the kids racing back forth. It's not like I had to get up this morning for a meeting and was bothered all through the night.

Just was hoping for a quieter experience on this mini staycation.

I absolutely love Kimpton and will return to this location again. Also, the bartenders at the restaurant were awesome. They were slammed but still managed to get drinks.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the elevator, Avoid the 3rd floor (traffic to pool and gym),
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YankeesBaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear YankeesBaseball,

Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your comments here. I apologize for the fact that you were inconvenienced by noise from outside of your room during this stay, obviously our team should have been better aware of what rooms can be expected to be quieter than others.

Please contact me directly at matthew.hurlburt@hotelmonaco.com and I would be happy to provide that upgrade you missed out on this time, complimentary for you on your next stay!

Thank you again,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,322 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $130 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that our impeccable Alexandria, VA hotel provides. Stay with us and revel in our historically rich surroundings and contemporary comforts that provide for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC's many attractions. Conveniently adjacent to our hotel is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing