We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The moment you walk into the lobby the color scheme jumps out at you. It is definitely different and nice. The room was spacious and clean. The hotel is located on King Street in Old Town which has a free trolley and is only a mile from the Metro with full access to Washington DC. The area is loaded with shops and restaurants. Great place to stay while visiting the nations capital.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgt_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear sgt_33,

Really glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and your visit to Washington, D.C.. You're right, the free trolley and the metro both help make it very easy to explore downtown while staying in Old Town!

Thanks so much,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

962 - 968 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is in a good location. Dog friendly. And nice for kids. Could be a bit better on service, but all in all a clean, vibrant kitchy place to stay. Emailed them a few days before and never heard back.

Room Tip: The corner room close to street level was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovetravel218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear ilovetravel218,

Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your comments here. I'm dissappointed that we didn't respond to your email prior to arrival, if you do come back down this way, please email me directly and I will assist with anything you need - matthew.hurlburt@hotelmonaco.com.

Safe travels,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

First time we stayed in Alexandria, loved it! What a dog friendly town (although we are cat people). Hotel was wonderful, quiet, extremely clean, best location in town. Even had a goldfish delivered to out room (Nemo). Emailed a few days before asking about a refrigerator and coffee maker, both were in the room when we arrived, a kuerig (my favorite). Would never know that dogs were present based on cleanliness and quiet. Go for the courtyard room, great outdoor balcony.

Room Tip: Courtyard room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb5564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Deb5564,

Thank you for choosing us on your first trip to Old Town Alexandria - we apprecaite your business! I'm glad to hear you really enjoyed your visit!

Hope you come back soon,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

booked at the last minute for a special occasion.,, we had an awesome stay, not a cookie cutter chain hotel, on a very active street with lots to do and see right down town ole Alexandria. It was a good choice, welcomed from the start to the end,,, with wine reception in a well appointed lobby, the staff were all on their "A" game it was perfect,,,

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear bigcreek,

Thank you! I will pass along the "A" game comment to the staff and congratulate them on a job well done.

Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay while visiting Old Town Alexandria.

Safe travels,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed 5 nights over Easter weekend while visiting family. Very pleasant staff especially the doormen. Vibrant lobby for socializing with guests. Fun daily free wine hour in afternoon. Hotel decor unique. Large room and bathroom beautiful, neat and very clean. Beds comfy with plenty of pillows. Lighting good and nice magnifying mirror. Quiet and no bad odors anywhere. Best location for walking Old Town. Great people and dog watching. Nice pool but did not have time to use it . Small but suitable workout room. Used treadmill daily but a small fan would have be helpful. Hope to visit often and will not bother to check out any other hotels.

Room Tip: 4th floor. Good view for people watching on King St. No noise and we were right across from elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Nina W,

Thank you for your business over the holiday weekend and we too hope to have you stay here and not bother with any other hotels! Sounds like a deal to me! Please feel free to email me directly if I can be of personal assistance - matthew.hurlburt@hotelmonaco.com

Thanks,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel had it all. Great staff, loved the rooms, a step away to the free trolley and much more.

First, check-in was fast and efficient. The room was adorable, the bathroom large and love when it includes the mounted magnifying mirror, and the beds clean and comfy. The closet had 2 robes to use while there, along with a safe, and an umbrella. The A/C worked wonderful and I loved the stemless wine glasses that they put out with the ice bucket on a silver tray. The decor is boutique and funky. Loved it!!!

This is an animal friendly hotel and they have happy hour for pets with their owners. They also have a nice happy hour for guests in the lobby and you can also take your wine to the courtyard or your room.

Right across the street is a 24 hr. CVS and yes they sell wine and beer. The streets are lovely with all the brick buildings and sidewalks. They are tree lined with all the white lights at night all up King Street. Just lovely.

The free trolley starts at 11:30 am and runs to 10:15 pm. It has stops from the beginning to the end of King Street. There are trolley signs every couple of blocks. There is one across from the hotel just after CVS. It is about a fifteen minute walk to the beginning of King where the metro is located. The walk is lovely with many nice shops and bakeries.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. It was just great.

Room Tip: Stayed facing King St. and after ten it was quiet. I enjoyed a sax player until then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freckles2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear momodjc,

This is wonderful - thank you so much! Especially for the kind words about our staff and the service they provided you. Glad you liked the decor as well!

Take care,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel offered wine and small snacks in the afternoon. ( Get there early or they do run out of snacks.) The rooms were new, clean, and well decorated. The surrounding area was great for walks. Close to the water. Staff was pleasant. Overall it is a go-to spot if you want something not too expensive that is well managed and pretty.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room so it would not be along the main road with traffic and people noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny2528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear sunny2528,

Thank you! Appreciate the kind words about the service, and we will make sure to load up on the snacks at our complimentary wine hour to ensure they last longer!

Thanks again and safe travels,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,322 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $129 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that our impeccable Alexandria, VA hotel provides. Stay with us and revel in our historically rich surroundings and contemporary comforts that provide for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC's many attractions. Conveniently adjacent to our hotel is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing