We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Room”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We normally stay in Shirlington when we go to the DC area. Got a great price on this for our one night stay, so changed up our usual. The room was obviously just redone and was great! Staff could not be nicer, and the location is perfect...never need to get in the car.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank costellery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear costellery,

Great to know that you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for giving us a try this time, do we have a shot at becoming your new 'go-to' hotel in Northern Virginia now?!... We hope so!

Safe Travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    480
    122
    43
    22
See reviews for
421
641
108
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very nice atmosphere, great location if you like Alexandria, hotel staff very helpful but not necessarily up to speed on how to get around Washington DC. Hospitality hour was great. Room we had was well appointed with some nice amenities i.e. bath robes. Down side is the HVAC (heating, ventilation and air conditioning) kept us awake it was so noisy. Keys had to be reprogrammed 4 times which was a real problem since we were on the top floor in the room furthest away from the front desk. Lighting in the bathroom is poor and on the yellowish side so it could be an issue for the ladies who are fastidious about applying makeup. Lighted magnifying mirror would be a huge improvement. May be back...not sure. FYI the rate we paid was $179 per night.

Room Tip: Rooms on the six floor have small windows, bordering on worthless. Rooms on the lower floors facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jax14fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear jax14fun,

We apprecaite your business! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments here as well.

We have since addressed the issue we had during your stay with our key card system, my apologies for the inconveniences this caused you.

Hope to see you again, looking forward to the opportunity to provide you with a great experience all around this time!

Thank you,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC,OK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed at the Monaco in Feb, 2013 and it was a wonderful Hotel. The rooms were very nice. It was my first Pet Friendly hotel and that was a bit odd for me but the service was great and the rooms were very nice. But be sure to ask for room with a view. Mine was of a brick wall about 4 feet away.

Room Tip: Request a street view unless you dont plan to look out the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_daggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear dr_daggs,

Glad you enjoyed your stay, and the company of some of our other guests' furry companions! I'm sorry about the poor view from your particular room, next time we will make sure to provide you with a room with a little more to enjoy outside the window!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville VA
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is one of the most delightful, whimsical, unique hotels I have seen. There is attention to details of guest comfort and enjoyment throughout the hotel. On short notice Meliana [sp?] was able to get reservations for Valentine’s Day at a delightful restaurant. We were in Alexandria for my husband’s surgery for a knee replacement, when we returned the bell staff were falling over themselves to be of assistance. Our room was quiet and relaxing, with a very comfortable bed Room service was prompt and delicious. From now on I will make it a point to find a Kimpton hotel. In fact, we are returning in a couple of weeks for another overnight stay. The animal print robes were a fun touch. In fact, we are returning here next week!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjd190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear pjd190,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for these wonderful comments about the hotel! It was a pleasure meeting you on your most recent stay during our complimentary wine hour, looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The rooms and amenities are the highlight of Kimptons, esp this property. I love the decor, robes, healthy snack options, easy-coffee bar in the morning. I'm a sucker for the fuzzy socks in the mini bar. Old Town is at your fingertips, but the hotel restaurant is worth a meal.
Definitely my first choice in Alexandria:)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britajulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear britajulia,

Thanks for staying with us while on business here in the D.C. area! Glad to also know that you like the big fuzzy socks we stock in the mini-bar, we'll keep those in there for you!

Safe travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We just spent one night here for a little pre-baby getaway, and wished we had the to stay longer. The hotel is impeccable, well-appointed and in such a great location. We loved it. Even though we travel often, we never use the lobbies of even the most opulent hotels, but the fireplace drew us in. We sat and talked for a while in the evening and it was very romantic. Our king delux room was clean and beautifully decorated. The room key didn't work at first, so we went back down to the desk and were given a free breakfast card for our trouble. Jackson 20, their restaurant, was delicious and the service was great. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We were toward the end of the hall on the fourth floor and didn't hear a peep all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear TravelingKey,

Congratulations on your pending addition to the family! An exciting time in your life for sure, and we are grateful that you came to spend a little getaway with us!

Thanks so much for the kind words and please do come back with the little one when you get a chance!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The welcome in the evening by a very friendly lady was very warm and helpful. The guy at the front-desk who handled our check-out the next day was way less friendly.
Maybe it were the shaggy clothes I was wearing?

The hotel is (apart from some noises by ventilators at the backside of the hotel) a very pleasant place to stay. The quality of the (not included) breakfast in next doors restaurant is of good quality .
As always I choose the hotel for it's location...and I have to say: Perfect!

Downside: The price
I am pretty sure that it is possible to find a similar hotel on a similar location for a better price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Da_BenDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Da_BenDan,

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to share your comments here! I'm glad that you like the hotel overall and prefer us for our location, but it sounds like we failed this time with our best attribute which is our service. I'm very sorry about that, if you would like to share any further comments with me, please feel free to write to matthew.hurlburt@hotelmonaco.com.

Perhaps I can even help in securing rates competitive with those that you found in the area!

Thanks again and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,247 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,395 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection

Property: The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that our impeccable Alexandria, VA hotel provides. Stay with us and revel in our historically rich surroundings and contemporary comforts that provide for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC's many attractions. Conveniently adjacent to our hotel is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing