We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Much more than I expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
cjsmithnj
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Much more than I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We were really pleased with the Monaco- the hotel we stay at often in Arlington had raised its room rates to a point where we decided to look elsewhere. I found the Kimpton hotels on tripadvisor and decided to give it a shot. The hotel, the food, and the service exceeded my expectations and we will be back without a doubt, and are planning to try other Kimpton hotels as well. Decor was well done in the public areas as well as the room. I saw some reviews that mentioned the quality of the room furnishings, I can't determine why they were talking about. Our room was very clean, well appointed and exactly what they said it would be. Linens were very good quality, and the furnishings were as well. Customer service in the hotel was excellent and every question or request we had was answered without hesitation and professionally. I would compare it with any 4 star anywhere, and some that I have stayed in that were rated 5.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cjsmithnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear cjsmithnj,

Thank you so much for trying us out! It is great to hear that we have helped introduce you to Kimpton as well!

Thank you for sharing these wonderful comments here about our hotel and most importantly our service, it makes us proud to hear that we rate high amongst the many hotels you have experienced and it is all do to our staff no doubt.

Safe Travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    431
    102
    34
    21
See reviews for
391
597
100
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is in a wonderful location with many shops, restaurants, bars, and nearby waterfront. The lobby is decorated beautifully. The only hiccup we had was slight and almost not worth mentioning. When I booked online, I had requested an early check in because we had an event to attend that evening. We tried to check in at 2pm and the receptionist said rooms were not available but took our number and said she would call when one was ready. 3pm (check in time) rolled around and no phone call as stated but my husband did get our room after that.
We thought the room was gorgeously decorated and it was definitely spacious. The balcony is really nice too but too cold to enjoy this month. Everything was clean, bed was super comfortable. The bathroom was enjoyable as well with a nice amount of space, good water pressure in the shower, and quality toiletries. We ordered room service for breakfast and it was timely and tasty. Sadly we did not get the chance to partake in the complimentary wine tasting. Love that the hotel is dog friendly!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlwags13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear rlwags13,

Thank you for staying with us! And thank you for noting our wonderful location here in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, we really are fortunate!

My apologies for the lack of follow up after your first encounter with the Front Desk, we should have followed through on that phone call as promised.

Thank you again and come back soon!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I will bring this up shortly with the manager, but the advertisement boasts a "heated pool" with Saturday movie night at 8 PM. My husband and I checked in with our two children on a Friday. Overall, the experience has been great....except for the pool. First night, we entered a dark pool area with a life guard sitting in a darkened corner. The pool water was freezing. Next night, Saturday, we arrived at 8 PM, same situation, no people, no movie. Called the front desk at 8:10 PM, and was told "um yes the movie will start in 10 minutes". Clearly, no intention that the advertised movie was going to start. If this issue with the pool can be corrected, we will return.

Shawn McKay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Shawn M,

Thank you for bringing these issues with our Saturday night Dive-in movie to our attention, and I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences it caused. We were obviously not on top of our game that evening and I regret that.

The pool heater is fixed and the staff are prepared to be more diligent on the start time of the movie as advertised.

Thanks for your business, we hope that you will come back again soon.

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Colorful lobby with vintage furnishings Quirky, yet classy decor. Very friendly staff. Complimentary wine tasting in the lobby at 5:00, a nice bonus. Centrally located in "Old Town", near all the action. Free parking in garage. Comfy bed and the rooms are delightful Modern furnishings and nice bath products. Lovely courtyard, great place to sit and enjoy your wine. Very clean and the service was top notch on a very busy weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mama57-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Mama57-10,

Thank you so much for your business, and for sharing your comments here, we appreciate both!

Glad you liked the look and feel of the hotel, even more so the service you received from our staff as that is the most important element.

Thanks again and safe travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Pet and people friendly - love it ! Great hotel experience from the moment we walked in to the moment we checked out. If you plan to be in Alexandria stay at the Hotel Monaco, every employee is pleasant and professional and the location could not be better.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMASanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear RMASanders,

Short and sweet - love it! Thanks for this great review and for staying with us! We appreciate your business!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
257 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Centrally located, this hotel rates very highly in customer satisfaction and location. Parking is expensive, but one is able to get free parking for at least 24 hours with a visitor pass. The hotel is ideally located to numerous restaurants and shops. Hotel is extremely dog-friendly!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PepperNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear PepperNewJersey,

Thank you for your business! Very kind of you to take the time to write such a great review of the hotel here as well!

Hope to see you again soon,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just got back from a four night stay at the Monaco in Alexandria. We stayed there last November as well and loved the hotel so much we decided to come back this Thanksgiving. First rate service at all times. The room was beautiful (Med Suite) with lots of windows and space. Huge bathroom. As usual, the wine evening was lots of fun. We met many great people (and their dogs!). The place is clean as a whistle at all times. They even open the door for you everytime you come or go. Can't say enough about our experience. You will not regret booking the Monaco Alexandria!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOakvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear TheOakvillain,

Thank you so much for coming back again this year and spending Thanksgiving with us once again! Wine hour was especially fun last week as so many folks were in town visiting family, and seeing everyone meet up in the lobby with a glass of wine was a blast!

Thank you for this great review and your continued support of our hotel!

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Kimpton Morrison House
#16 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Address: 480 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC's many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing