We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Absolutely Wonderful/Kimpton - Best Loyalty Program Ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful/Kimpton - Best Loyalty Program Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Hotel Monaco Alexandria lives up to all of the wonderful reviews! The hotel is spotlessly clean, uniquely decorated, well located, and has a kind and welcoming staff! We could not have enjoyed our room or our 4-night say any more -- they exceeded all expectations! In my opinion, Kimpton also has the best loyalty program ever! We booked our room at special In Touch rates, received free Wi Fi, were greeted with our snack and beverage favorites, our room was upgraded (an awesome upgrade!), and we earned free stay nights for our next Kimpton Hotel stay. It doesn't get better than this! Extras: we traveled with our dog who was not only accepted but welcomed, there is a 24-hour CVS across the street, an on site restaurant, valet or self parking, and easy walking distance to many other shops and restaurants. (And no, I do not work for Kimpton. Just wish there were more of them!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RGC_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear RGC_2011,

Well, we have the best guests, so it makes sense that we have the best loyalty program to thank them for their business!!

Thank you so much for this amazing review, it is great to hear the fantastic words about our staff and the high level of service they provide. We are very proud of them!

Come back soon!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    446
    107
    34
    20
See reviews for
403
614
101
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is very nice with eclectic and well-apponted rooms. There is a lovely wine hour offered in the lobby. The staff always seems to be polite and accomodating. The one minus of staying here is the restaurant attached to the hotel. The dinner was poor with few appealing options. The cusine was mainly southern with many fried and caloric choices. The focus of the menu seemed to be pork, although the breakfast the next day was fine. I would probably choose another place to stay in Alexandria based on the restaurant they offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear LouiseFB,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing this review! We really apprecaite the kind words about the hotel and especially our staff, they truly make us stand out!

I'm sorry that the restaurant was not to your liking, I have passed along your comments for them to review.

Please do consider staying with us again next time, as you know there are many options right out our door and our restaurant team is dedicated to making the experience one you would enjoy.

Thank you again,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed there over Veterans Day weekend....originally wanted something outside but close to DC just as a resting place. What a surprise to find Old Town and also such a nice hotel. We ended up coming back in early from DC on Saturday so we could hang out in Old Town. Hotel was amazing with everything perfect and comfortable. The coffee and hot tea in the morning was tasty and a great way to start the day. We are planning on coming back again soon!

Room Tip: Requested room away from elevators and it was very quiet. Sign up for Kimpton InTouch to get the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 851cathyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear kitcat38,

So glad you discovered us, and Old Town Alexandria! Thank you for choosing us and for posting this great review.

People are sometimes surprised to learn how quick and easy it is to get downtown from here, and how much is to offer just right out our front door in Old Town as well! Thanks for helping spread the word!

Looking forward to seeing you again soon,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Can't go wrong here. In the heart of Old Town, the location is walking distance to the waterfront. Great shopping and restaurants so close to the hotel. I love Kimpton Hotels and this one did not disappoint with its creatively designed decor and furnishings, comfortable amenities, even the food at Jackson 20 was great. Loved the convenience of the airport shuttle, the helpful and friendly staff. If you're an In-Touch member (free), you have free internet. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshinebound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Sunshinebound,

Please do comeback! They're opening more non-stop flights between L.A. and Reagan, so you really have no excuse!

Thanks very much for your business and for sharing your comments here, we really appreciate it!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were there for a wedding and could not have enjoyed more - customer service top, ambiance kind of bohemian chic, spotless all over and the food from their restaurant Jackson 20 amazing! The location is unbeatable too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chefdulce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear chefdulce,

Thank you so much! It's great to hear you enjoyed your time here, we host a number of weddings due to the great location and our courtyard of course, so we are always looking for feedback on the impression of the hotel and service from those guests!

'Bohemian Chic' is totally in right now....right?!

Thanks again,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

room was nice. only complaint was that we got charged $50 for some reason on my credit card plus another $4 for a red bull out of the mini bar. we didnt use mini bar. had to call and get these taken off my credit card. i didnt appreciate these charges being placed on my card...they were removed but if i didnt check my statement they would have gone through most likely. tarnished a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swampduckfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear swampduckfarm,

Thank you for staying with us, and I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. But I sincerely apologize for the billing errors you experienced. This certainly is an important aspect of your experience here and I regret that you had to take the time to have it fixed as well.

If I may be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at matthew.hurlburt@hotelmonaco.com

Thank you and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
Level Contributor
188 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The service and the staff of this hotel makes it a pleasure to stay in any time. The rooms are fresh and sparkling clean. A wine tasting between 5-6 in the afternoon was a wonderful surprise! All you want to do is at the steps of the front door!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank booksVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear booksVA,

The title of your review says it all, right?! Of course, I may be biased on that!

Thank you so much for staying with us, glad you had such a good time!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Kimpton Morrison House
#14 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Address: 480 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC's many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing