We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, clean, updated,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a nice hotel in the heart of old town Alexandria. It's a long walk to King Street Station (15-20mins) but it's worth doing at least a few times. You're a few blocks from the waterfront of the river and there are some great bars around the area. (also if you're into art, the torpedo factory is fairly close by and take at least a few hours to mosey around)

During the week things tend to close around 7-9ish and the restaurant in the hotel isn't that great, BUT, there is a CVS right across where you could stock up on whatever you need.

Overall, pretty good stay, would recommend. We walked around the area extensively and this seemed to be one of the nicer hotels in the area. The only negative would be the walk, but if you take the FREE trolly that comes around every 15 mins. it really cuts away at the walk.

If you do stay here, make sure you join Kimpton awards, they offer a bunch of free perks, there's also a airport shuttle that will pick you up and drop you off if you don't feel like taking the metro to king street station and complimentary wine hour around 5 or 6 and coffee in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask to be on a no pets room if you don't want to be woken up by pets; the shuttle will pick you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmedstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear travelmedstudent,

Thank you very much for staying with us! And that is good advice, signing up for Kimpton's In Touch program is free and allows you many perks such as complimentary wireless internet access in your guestroom.

Glad you enjoyed your stay!

Safe Travels,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,131 - 1,137 of 1,841 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a very nice hotel in Old Town, beautifully decorated, on King St., and four blocks from the waterfront. Location cannot be improved. Very comfortable bed. They have a wine reception at 5, which we missed. La Madeleine, Le Pain Quotidien, La Tasca, and many other fabulous restaurants are within blocks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisF2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear LuisF2010,

Thanks for the great review! Sounds like you did a good job of finding your way around the restaurants in Old Town Alexandria as well!

We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Take care,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I've been to Washington lots for business and have stayed in the centre. While interesting, I never found the environment to be what I needed in a vacation. That is somewhere that you can safely walk around at night, with lots of places to eat and a sense of local vibrancy.

So when I decided to take my daughter to Washington to see the great museums, I decided to stay in Old Alexandria. And I decided to stay in the Kimpton.

We loved this place. It was quirky and fun. The rooms, service, etc were great. We'd stay here again and will recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianTravelReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear HungryPeople,

We are so glad you decided to stay with us here in Old Town Alexandria! Thanks for your business and for the kind words here, and I'm glad that the stay went so well.

Isn't it fun to just walk around Old Town and explore a little?!

Come back soon!

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I was there for a short period of time for a business meeting, however their level of customer service fell a little short for me. They advertise all kinds of great amenities, and they didn't deliver on my first stay at a Kimpton property. In other words, why ask what my preferred paper is, if you aren't going to deliver it. I did like that they are pet friendly, something I will keep in mind for future stays, the bath products are also great. Upscale but they still need some fine tuning before I decide to make a second trip back as they didn't stand out to me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristyroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear kristyroot,

You are absolutely correct. We do ask about guests' preferences in order to help provide them a more enjoyable and comfortable stay, but we need to follow through on those requests! I'm embarrassed that we didn't this time, please accept my apologies.

Give us another chance. I think you will find that the genuine, personal service that Kimpton is known for truly is there, and the Hotel Monaco Alexandria will exceed those high standards.

Please reach out directly to me if I can help - matthew.hurlburt@hotelmonaco.com - and let us prove it to you!

Take care,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Everything about this hotel was fantastic! From the moment the bellman BK opened our car door with a huge smile to Jennifer who greeted us when we checked in, we knew we were in good hands. We stayed in the Monte Carlo Terrace room which was absolutely beautiful-gorgeous comfortable bedding, amazing decor and a great view of the courtyard.The wine reception was an added bonus which we thoroughly enjoyed both nights we were in Alexandria. We also enjoyed breakfast at Jackson 20 which was excellent. The staff is so friendly and accomodating-something you just don't find with a large hotel chain. The Hotel Monaco rates right up there as one of the top hotels we've ever stayed at. Keep up the great work and excellent customer service. We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Corner Monte Carlo Terrace room was spacious and luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Joanne S,

This is such a pleasure to here, thank you for sharing your comments!! We are truly proud of the team, they do such a good job of connecting with our guests and providing geniune customer service.

Thank you for choosing us and it is great to hear that you will be coming back!

Safe Travels,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We arrived mid week to celebrate our third anniversary with a three night stay at this wonderful hotel. (We had our honeymoon here and come back at lease once a year.) We arrived early so they got us all checked in, parked the car, and stowed our luggage while we went and had a great lunch. Just as we were finishing they called to tell us our room was ready. When we got back a wonderful bellman showed us to our room, which had been upgraded to a Monte Carlo King Balcony Room, chilled champagne and chocolate covered strawberries were waiting, and a note from the management congratulating us on our anniversary!

There are the 'regular' luxuries provided by the Monaco- animal print robes, decadent bedding, luxe decor, the free wine reception every night in the lobby, attentive staff (everyone is unfailingly friendly every time you see them in the elevator, hallway, etc.), and unbeatable location. Then there are the ways they go above and beyond- join their "In Touch" club online (free!) and you'll get a $10 minibar credit! Friend them on Facebook and you'll see their "secret password" to say at checkin- this time it got us a free in room movie!

I know I sound like a paid ad for this place, but trust me- it's just this nice! Thanks, Monaco, for making our third anniversary the best yet!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WVaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear WVaTravels,

Thank you for celebrating your third anniversary with us!! We are glad to be a part of your special occassion, and provide you with a few 'extras' that Kimpton is known for!

Thank you for taking time to post such a wonderful review as well (checks' in the mail :) ), and recognize the service from our staff.

Take care and let's do it again next year!

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was a great hotel. The rooms were beautiful, service was exceptional, and they are pet friendly!!! The indoor pool needed air conditioning, that’s my only complaint. The food was delicious. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Shawn C,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for sharing your great comments here! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

My apologies about the temp in the pool, we'll keep a closer eye on that.

Hope to see you again soon!

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#5 of 54 in Alexandria
1,331 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria
The Westin Alexandria
#13 of 54 in Alexandria
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $116 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that our impeccable Alexandria, VA hotel provides. Stay with us and revel in our historically rich surroundings and contemporary comforts that provide for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC's many attractions. Conveniently adjacent to our hotel is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing