We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and nicely appointed rooms, great location, a bit pricey like most others in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Unique and nicely appointed rooms, great location, a bit pricey like most others in the area”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Grest and friendly service from start to end. Nicely decorated rooms, comfortable be and bedding, wine reception in the evening.short walk to a variety of eateries and the waterfront.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear Photo999,

Thanks very much for your feedback, we really appreciate your kind words about our team! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Alexandria - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    480
    122
    43
    22
See reviews for
421
641
108
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2011

My wife and I had planned a long weekend away with another couple. We selected Alexandria because we enjoyed the Old Town and the other couple had never been there. The restaurants and shops continued to be outstanding. We selected the Monaco since the location was about mid-point on King Street between the water and the Metro. Our jaunt to D.C. was incredibly easy. The valet parking was painless. Upon check in, the staff accommodated our request to have near-by rooms. Upon going to our rooms, we saw a better arrangement at the end of the hallway where an exterior privacy door created a small vestibule for us. I went back down to the front desk and they readily switched our room for the three nights. The overall ambiance of the rooms and lobby was outstanding. The doormen were always pleasant. The four of us would like to go back!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Like2trvl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Dear Like2trvl123,

Thanks for your feedback about your stay with us, we're thrilled you had a good time in our area. Completely agree about the 'alcove' rooms as we call them. The exterior door creates a 2 room suite and it's perfect for families and groups. It's worked out very well for many of our guests and is now a regular request. Thanks again for staying with us and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Alexandria - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This Kimpton is as wonderful as the other Kimpton's I have stayed. It is right in downtown Alexandria and in walking distance to all the restaurants and shops as well as the waterfront. It is wonderfully decorated and rooms are well appointed! Love the free shuttle to the airport and the bellmen and front desk employees were fantastic! The wine hour between 5 and 6:00 p.m. is a nice touch. Only drawback is no coffee in the rooms -- you must go down to lobby for coffee, but that is a minor inconvenience given the luxury and amenities of the hotel! Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildivycreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear wildivycreations,

Thanks for your comments about your stay with us. I really appreciate your kind words about our team and agree they're a special part of our success. Good news, we do have coffee makers available in room on a complimentary basis. Simply let us know for your next visit and we'll have one waiting for you! Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Alexandria - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed for just a night and came back with some great home design ideas. The awesome colors and patterns, and spunky things this hotel offers sets them way above any other major hotel chain. Loved the free wine hour/hot chocolate in the evening and hot coffee/tea in the morning, not just b/c it was free but it felt like the hotel family just gathered around and chatted in the living room for a while... some even in their animal print robes! (the hotel should make this a morning requirement!) Pet friendly (or ask for a pet goldfish in your room!) and so close to everything Old Town has to offer.

Room Tip: didn't stay in one, but the courtyard facing rooms have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear ali28970,

Thanks for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I completely agree about our Wine Hour, it's a great place for guests (and us) to welcome each other and catch up each night. I love the idea about wearing robes, we'll definitely see what we can do about that!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Alexandria -a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

What a DELIGHTFUL stay! My husband and I stayed one night at the Monoco Alexandria and wished that it could have been more! Decor was beautiful, the bed was very comfortable, the staff remembered our name and the room was so quiet we thought we had the hotel to ourselves. The shuttle from and to the airport was free AND on-time both ways! Cap all of that off with one of the best locations in Old Town Alexandria and you have a WINNER!! Although we ate at another restaurant, the hotel bar poured fantastic drinks...and two of them were paid for with the hotel's $1 coupon you could use for two cocktails or Continental breakfasts. Then there's the free wine tasting from 5 to 6 and the free coffee and newspapers in the morning! When we returnd home I discovered that my husband had left three beautiful ties in the room. I made a quick call to the hotel's housekeeper. He got my name and tel. number and said he would check out the room. Five minutes later, he had the ties and advised that they would be sent to us without any problem. We'll DEFINITELY go back. It's like the Cheers bar...great service, friendly people and everybody knows your name!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear ChristineJ

Thank you for your comments, I'm thrilled you had a good time. I'm also very happy our team was able to save the day with your lost item. Come back and see us soon!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Alexandria - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I absolutely love the design of this hotel - in my mind, it is an excellent balance of classic elegance with a modern twist. I stayed here for a friend's wedding and they also did an excellent job with the reception. The hotel is located in the heart of Old Town so shopping, restaurants and water views are all right outside your door. I would definitely stay here again on a subsequent visit to Old Town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LT2379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear LT2379,

Thank you for your comments about your stay. It's always great to hear feedback from those that joined us for a wedding. It's an honor to host a milestone event in someone's life and one we take very seriously. Come back and see us soon, bring your friends for their Anniversary!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Alexandria - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We spent five nights at the Monaco during a visit to D.C. We wanted to stay in Alexandria and commute via Metro to D.C. The Monaco was the perfect place. The staff is amazing--always friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the nightly (free) wine service. Easy walking distance to dozens of restaurants and shops on King Street, and no D.C. noises and traffic. No problems whatsoever and would stay again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougDurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear DougDurango,

Thanks very much for joining us and it was great meeting you at Wine Hour! As I mentioned, your hometown is one of my favorite places to visit. Talking about it brought back a lot of happy memories. Thanks again and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Alexandria - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,250 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,398 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection

Property: The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that our impeccable Alexandria, VA hotel provides. Stay with us and revel in our historically rich surroundings and contemporary comforts that provide for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC's many attractions. Conveniently adjacent to our hotel is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing