We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Give this hotel a try” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Give this hotel a try”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2006

I spent 4 nights here and used AAA rate. I appreciated free parking and closeness to Metro which is a 4-5 minute walk down street. Area safe, restaurants and a Starbucks across the street. All staff pleasant; especially appreciated that front desk staff were efficient and helpful. As a member of Holiday Inn's Priority Club I got free breakfast buffet. Offer was only for me, did not include my companion. Buffet ok - I had cereal, eggs, juice - waitperson brought me toast when I requested it. You can join Priority Club online - worth it.
Room had refrigerator and a microwave. I did not see any supermarkets in area.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank muffin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    123
    55
    19
    17
See reviews for
98
53
21
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kentucky
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2006

I stayed at the Holiday Inn during a girl's weekend trip....the hotel was really easy to find, in a good location, right next to the metro. If you are traveling to DC and want to stay on the outskirts...this is the perfect hotel...however, since we were visiting Alexandria also, I would have rather stayed closer to old town Alexandria. The hotel was several blocks away. The lobby is nice and I was able to get discount tickets for breakfast because I made the reservation through the Holiday Inn website. The staff is friendly and helpful. We did have a problem with some drunk banging on the doors and walls for over an hour one night.

The room was nice and clean but the coke machine and ice machine on our floor were both broken. I did check the mattresses upon entering the room and they were clean. Had no problem at all with the cleanliness of the room/bathroom. We didnt get enough towels at first but requested more and received them.

Overall, the hotel is ok. I would recommend this hotel if you are sightseeing in DC....If you are mainly interested in old town Alexandria, you should find something a little closer.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — too far from old town alexandria
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mrw42164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2006

We spent 5 nights here for a vacation in DC with 2 kids. The location and price were great.
The metro train is right across the parking lot and very convenient. Took only 10-15 minutes by train to get into DC. There are also several restaurants across the street. Starbuck's, Ruby Tuesdays and Ted's Montana Grill (really enjoyed this restaurant). Old Town Alexandria is about 2 miles away and has great shopping and restaurants as well. The pool (good size) has a lifeguard on duty. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
I had read in another review that you can request a refrigerator and microwave. We requested a refrigerator and they brought one right up and we were not charged. (It is based on availability) We also liked that we had free parking considering most hotels have high parking fees around DC. It is an older hotel but was very clean, comfortable and convenient for DC. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cheryl4books
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2006

I was put in charge of planning a family vacation for my parents, my sister and her husband, and my own family of four. After many hours of searching the internet trying to find a hotel that met all of our criteria, I selected this HI. I figured that it would be "average to O.K.", at best. (Metro location was very important to us.) Boy was I surprised!

The building is older, but the rooms were well decorated and maintained. Our rooms were quiet and clean. We did have a microwave and refrigerator in each of our rooms -- we had a mixture of kings and doubles. The pool was great for the kids. Everyone got signed up for HI's Priority Club so we got free breadkfasts, free drinks, and coupons for restaurant orders. We did take advantage of the breakfast and drink coupons. The breakfast buffet was very good with a great assortment.

The location is great! The metro is less than a half block away. There are plenty of restaurants and shops in the area. We felt very safe there.

The biggest plus for this property is the staff. They were very professional and hospitable. They even sent the shuttle the half block to the Metro station to pick us up in the middle of a sever thunderstorm.

The only complaint we had was the size of the bathrooms. They are quite small.

The next time we go back to D.C. we will be staying at the HI at Telegraph Road.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2006

We enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and comfortable. Hotel was quiet. It's convenient to Interstate 95/495 and the metro station is right across the parking lot. The front desk staff was very friendly, professional, and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2006

I read the reviews on TripAdvisor prior to my stay at this hotel. So, I was sure to ask for a room on a floor as far away from school groups as possible.
The School group was on the 3rd floor. I was able to get the 10th floor. It is a smoking floor and I am not a smoker, but the staff allowed me to check the room and it did not smell.
The best part of this hotel is it's location right across from the Yellow Metro Line for a quick access in & out of DC. Plus there are a few restaurants within walking distance like 'Teds Montana Grill' that are quite good.
The Breakfast buffet for $7.50 could be better. It only had biscuits as breads i.e. no rolls, muffins or any other breakfast pastry, But you could always order from their AM menu instead.
The room was OK, Mattress a little too bouncy to my taste.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2006

Room was good, staff was helpful. Short walking distance to metro station, a plus. Movie theater and restaurants within walking distance. Cons: poor soundproofing. Could hear people on either side, above, below. If you come here during a busy time, use earplugs.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Property: Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Address: 2460 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle welcomes each guest to its convenient location off the Capital Beltway / I-95. Our charming, full-service hotel is just a block from the Metro for fast & easy travel to Old Town Alexandria, Reagan International Airport (DCA) & the Washington, DC area. This hotel's location in Alexandria, VA pleases travelers who want the excitement of a big-city vacation & a friendly neighborhood atmosphere. Alexandria is minutes from popular DC attractions like the Smithsonian Museums, the Lincoln Memorial & George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate and Gardens. Head to the historic waterfront in Old Town Alexandria to stroll cobblestone streets or dine in a historic tavern. This Alexandria hotel is ideal for corporate travelers. We're near Michael Baker Engineering, Hoffman Town Center, the US Patent &Trademark Office and other businesses in the DC area. We offer FREE local shuttle service and FREE parking to all guests to save money on travel costs. We offer ample meeting space, free high-speed, wireless Internet access & a 24-hour Business Center. Our quality amenities make us a standout among hotels in Alexandria, VA. After a day of sightseeing, slip into the heated, indoor pool to unwind or work out in the Fitness Center; then enjoy a cocktail & appetizers at Bistro Eighteen90. You'll be charmed by historic Alexandria & this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing