We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“does the job”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here sharing a room as a family of four with two teenage sons. The rooms was adequate, if on thew small side with two slightly shrunk queen-size beds. Traveling into D.C. is easy from a near-by (200 meters) Metro station; note however that using the Metro in D.C. is quite expensive. The hotel is ok, nothing to write home about (including the mediocre breakfast buffet). Yes, there is a pool -- but it's divided into a swimming and a non-swimming part so lane-swimmers, don't get your hopes up! On the positive side, there are a couple of restaurants in the Plaza just across the street -- with Delia's grill and pizza place (see www.deliasbrickovenpizza.com) particularly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwayGeographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear GalwayGeographer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the issues you had with most of our amenities particularly with the pool and the dissatisfaction you encountered with our service level. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    140
    68
    24
    19
See reviews for
122
62
25
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

stayed here over the weekend while visiting old towne and dc, I understand from staff its closing in just a few weeks so have to say I was surprised rooms were as cleaned as they were and things went smoother than I had expected after reading many of the reviews. everything in halls and such were kind of dated and a bit worn but room as good sized and well kept. was going to eat at the restaurant for breakfast one morning until I observed one of the servers eating something and spitting something into a cup while cleaning one of the tables so I guess not everyone is still giving it their all

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear d a m,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am happy to know that you found our rooms clean and well kept. However, I am very sorry for any dissatisfaction you may have encountered during your stay, particularly with the condition of the hallways and the level of service you received. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service.

Thank you for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I travel a lot on business, and this place didn't fit the bill. I didn't intend to write a review, but upon checkout my bill had a trip advisor card requesting that I share my opinion. Since they are trolling for reviews, here ya go....

I cancelled my rental car when I saw they had a shuttle for trips to DCA and old town Alexandria. When I arrived, I called for the shuttle, but the call was never answered, so I took a taxi. When I checked in, I asked about the shuttle to old town (good dining there) and was told that no shuttle drivers were working that day (Monday).

The room type I reserved wasn't available, so I was downgraded. They desk supervisor offered to comp my dinner, and to just come back to the from desk when I was ready. I returned a couple hours later and talked to the same desk clerks who now couldn't remember this offer. After much discussion, they remembered. The meal was fair (more focused on quantity than quality), though they got the order wrong.

Stuff happens when travelling, so I could take all this in stride. But the second day they crossed the line... no internet. The wireless stopped working so I was unable to work the next evening. I asked if there were nearby places, and they didn't have a clue. The hotel is out of the way, so after walking a mile or so, I gave up. This really set me back on my workload. Perhaps they take "Holiday" too literally.

The day before checkout, I asked to reserve the airport shuttle. It leaves on the hour, I had a meeting ending at 2 and they kindly agreed to reserve the shuttle for 2:15. Because so much had gone wrong, when I checked out the next morning I verify the reservation, and found out they had changed it to 2:00 (but without letting me know, somehow thinking it would OK for me to show up at 2:15 and be told I missed the shuttle).

I have another meeting in two weeks, and I know where I won't stay

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank UnoMasPorFavor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear UnoMasPorFavor,

First of all, thank you very much for staying with us. As hospitality professionals, we strive to be the best in the industry, but it seems we have failed to meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced, particularly with the shuttle, internet and level of service received. We value all the feedback we receive as this is our best resource for improvement.

Should your travel plans bring you back to the area, we look forward to serving you again, and hopefully you'll see the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Charisse V
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is situated in a great location. Just 100 meters from the train station and across the road from a group of restaurants. We took the metro train into the city every day to save driving. very easy to navigate the train lines once you know. we got a travel card and put money on it. this is the easiest and cheapest way to go.mask the station master for help,in getting one if you cant work it out. we did and he was more than happy to help.There is also a restaurant in the hotel where you can get breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very reasonable priced. We had a double bed room and it was quite adequate for our needs, we stayed here for 4 nights and the only thing is there is no guest laundry. It is easy to find as it is just off the highway. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

It's a Holiday Inn, not a Hilton, so it was pretty much what I expected. If you want a full service hotel for more than just sleeping or relaxing, not for you. It was clean. The restaurant was fine. When we arrived, there was a problem with our 4 day reservation, but the staff already had a resolution that was acceptable, and we aren't ones to get upset by little issues. Our AC was fine, unlike others' complaints. It was 99 outside during our stay, and that isn't usual DC weather. One of the elevators didn't work as well as the other two. Fitness center was ok. Machines were average. Indoor pool was ok. We would stay there again because the metro stop is right across the street. We didn't need a hotel to hang around in much so it was fine. There is a Ted's, Ruby Tuesday, Cold Stone, movie theater, a Chipotle style place, Quizno's, and Starbucks across the street. It's easy to cross, pedestrian friendly. Takes 20-25 minutes on metro to get to mall area and sites. Easy. Reagan is about 3 stops there.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlyssaS532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear AlyssaS532,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am pleased to hear that our location and amenities worked for your needs. It is always hugely motivating on our end to receive commendable feedback from our valued guests like you.

On the other hand, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the elevators may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were supposed to stay Tuesday through Friday night, but the AC was broken and it was in excess of 95 degrees each day. On the second night the front desk said the problem had been fixed, but it was not. Also, internet did not work first night. After talking with a manager on several occasions they did comp one night of the stay and let us check out a day early without being charged. Felt like the hotel should have done more to accommodate its customers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Ryan A,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed from Mon - Thurs. By Monday evening, the A/C went out. By Tuesday, there was no internet but I had an important paper to work on/research. The restaurant was out of fries but didn't inform me until after the rest of my meal was done and ready to be served. I called the front desk on Wed and was informed that the A/C was being worked on so it would be a few hours before I could feel it. Before the night was up, it must have stopped worked AGAIN. By the time I checked out on Thursday, the A/C didn't feel as if it was working. Government employees were entitled to free breakfast vouchers, but I had to go back to the front counter to ask for the vouchers. Had my colleague not asked if I received any, I wouldn't have known I was entitled to the government vouchers. The door to the room had to physically be pulled to close or my room would've been unsecured (I'm glad I just didn't walk away and checked my door).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Joyce J,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you have encountered particularly the room amenities, Internet service and the level of service you received. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay.

Again, thank you for your recent stay and I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

Property: Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Address: 2460 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314-4607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle welcomes each guest to its convenient location off the Capital Beltway / I-95. Our charming, full-service hotel is just a block from the Metro for fast & easy travel to Old Town Alexandria, Reagan International Airport (DCA) & the Washington, DC area. This hotel's location in Alexandria, VA pleases travelers who want the excitement of a big-city vacation & a friendly neighborhood atmosphere. Alexandria is minutes from popular DC attractions like the Smithsonian Museums, the Lincoln Memorial & George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate and Gardens. Head to the historic waterfront in Old Town Alexandria to stroll cobblestone streets or dine in a historic tavern. This Alexandria hotel is ideal for corporate travelers. We're near Michael Baker Engineering, Hoffman Town Center, the US Patent &Trademark Office and other businesses in the DC area. We offer FREE local shuttle service and FREE parking to all guests to save money on travel costs. We offer ample meeting space, free high-speed, wireless Internet access & a 24-hour Business Center. Our quality amenities make us a standout among hotels in Alexandria, VA. After a day of sightseeing, slip into the heated, indoor pool to unwind or work out in the Fitness Center; then enjoy a cocktail & appetizers at Bistro Eighteen90. You'll be charmed by historic Alexandria & this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing